We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are lucky to get room without bedbugs, you will have nice stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“If you are lucky to get room without bedbugs, you will have nice stay!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

I came to Koh Tao for dive trip to stay for one week, the hotel is just next door to the Islands major dive centre (Buddah View) and almost on the beach.
The hotel is is very nice place. if you are here to dive. but a bit far from main pier and where all major bars and parties are.

By the way, problem with hotel is Bedbugs!! I had almost my whole body bitten by bedbugs in 4 nights and have asked to change my room. by the way it costed me for two extra night to see Dr.
You can have option of having room with A/C or Fan, with hot water or not.
They do not clean the rooms everyday, (every 3-4 days)!

They do not have WiFi! :(

Room Tip: Minimum standard, surely better places are around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HesamSaroukhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    117
    78
    39
    32
See reviews for
24
117
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zhanjiang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

My wife and I have stayed at Tropicana many times over the past 5 years. The resort caters to all travelling budgets, the food is sensational and cheap, and the staff are the friendliest on the island. I definately recommend the Tropicana to everyone travelling to Koh Tao.

Room Tip: Book in advance. Everyone wants to stay at Tropicana so it is very popular. Always telephone ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhanjiang, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is my eleventh visit to Koh Tao Tropicana Resort. The staff are friendly and polite. The food is fabulous and the resort environment is lovely. The buget bungalows with cold water and fan are basic but comfortable. There is also a range of accommodation for non-budget visitors which have a/c, hot water and TV.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room before deciding which one is appropriate for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnelarmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayong, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here one night, and barely got any sleep. It was too close to the road/party animals/motorcycles. The resort is gorgeous, and I'd stay again if I could have a quieter room. Staff were wonderful. Lovely, serene landscape!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meghangw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

fab location, great food, friendly service. we will be back, 4 a 5th time

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank si-daily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

I have been staying at the Tropicana 3 times for the last 6 years, and I have been enjoying my stays. Tropicana has a fantastic location and I love staying there. The staff is very nice (especially the boys at the restaurant) and helpful, and the food is great.

There's nothing fancy about the bungalows; a bathroom, two beds and a fan - Just what I'm expecting for 400 bath. The only room for improvement at this moment is to get rid of the bed bugs. I know they are not dangerous, but it's annoying and itchy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SollenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

I stayed at the Tropicana for my first two weeks on Koh Tao. The location is great, right by the beach and next to the New Heaven Dive School. The staff there was the friendliest of any place I have stayed, period. I felt at home on the first night, and was a bit sad to leave after 2 weeks, but had to find something cheaper and more long term. Now I live on Koh Tao, but I regularly go back to the restaurant at the Tropicana for great meals and to say hello to the people there. I book this resort for all my customers that come to Koh Tao becasue I know they will be treated well and feel at home.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmscott187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#24 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.3 mi away
Asia Divers Resort
Asia Divers Resort
#23 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#34 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Tropicana Resort

Property: Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Address: 22/9 Moo 3, Chalok Bankao Beach | Suratthani, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koh Tao Tropicana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Tropicana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing