We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The room was cheap,clean,rather small, with fan and a balcony. The location was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geiahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

i travelled for about 3 month through south east asia and stopped twice in koh tao... i loved this place. the tropicana is located in chalok baan a little bit out side of the crowded places.. but there are still some cool bars around the corner.. or at the beach. take a motorbike to travel from chalok to sairee beach and back.. mae haad, go to the bakery.. love it!

i had a bungalow directly in front of the reception.. it wasn't that loud, the bungalows are well sound-proofed.. the 7-11 store is right arround the corner. in total.. i recommend that place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Koh Tao Tropicana is a good choice for the area. The price seemed a bit high but it's typical of the area. The rooms & bathrooms are a good size, with fan and balcony...great for drying clothes after a day of diving or swimming. Even with the fan, the room can be quite stuffy. They provide a towel and toilet paper and clean the room every four days. Not bad if you're a neat freak, but being near the beach and a spot for divers, the frequency could be raised a bit.
'

Room Tip: if you can afford one of the bungalows near the beach there might be more breeze to cool the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdetata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Tropicana resort offers excellent value accommodation and food. The resort is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The food is tasty and well priced. The staff are extremely friendly and they clean your room every few days for free

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shar0n1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Ten of us arrived in Koh Tao after the full moon with no accommodation in the torrential rain! We sat in the Koh Tao cafe calling around every resort, we had visited everywhere nearby but EVERY single place was full. We had strangers helping us, but there was nothing available, at all. Luckily, MR Wan (but likes to called no.1) came to our rescue allowing all ten of us to sleep in the outside massage gazebo. Obviously we had massages and bought lots of food as a thank you for his kindness. It is meeting people who put themselves out for you without knowing who you are which makes you want to go travelling even more. If you go, and you should, stay at Tropicana resort. The beautiful view of Chalok bay and budget bungalows - couldn't be better for a traveller. Stay at Tropicana resort for a real Thailand experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KoutneyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Close to Buddha Dive school, so that was good. On the other hand apparently not all that clean since my dust allergy flared up pretty badly. I asked to change the room, which made the manager extremely unhappy ("How do I know you're not going to change rooms every day now?"), but eventually she agreed. I'd definitely give this one a miss next time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I came to Koh Tao for dive trip to stay for one week, the hotel is just next door to the Islands major dive centre (Buddah View) and almost on the beach.
The hotel is is very nice place. if you are here to dive. but a bit far from main pier and where all major bars and parties are.

By the way, problem with hotel is Bedbugs!! I had almost my whole body bitten by bedbugs in 4 nights and have asked to change my room. by the way it costed me for two extra night to see Dr.
You can have option of having room with A/C or Fan, with hot water or not.
They do not clean the rooms everyday, (every 3-4 days)!

They do not have WiFi! :(

Room Tip: Minimum standard, surely better places are around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HesamSaroukhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
697 reviews
1 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
2.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
0 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#28 of 50 in Koh Tao
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Tropicana Resort

Address: 22/9 Moo 3, Chalok Bankao Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £19 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koh Tao Tropicana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort is located on the south part of the island at Chalok Bann Kao Bay with private and peaceful atmosphere. We offer a friendly service and reasonable price of accommodations both air-conditioned and fan rooms with private bathroom and balcony near by the beach and at our lovely and quiet garden. A very relax beach front Restaurant offer reasonable prices for all dishes with cushion and table area. Free Wi-Fi access in restaurant and at the garden. Front desk staffs can assist you all tickets to travel around Thailand. Let make a lovely stay at Tropicana Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Koh Tao Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Tropicana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing