We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanish, basic and cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed here for a week with my 10yr old daughter whilst we did our padi next door at buddhaview. Bungalows were basic, but pretty clean. Had to ask for a linen and towel change midway through. Nice relaxing balcony. The walls are paper thin and the guys next door were pretty noisy, so i wore earplugs (my daughter can sleep on a washing line during a riot so was unaffected!). Unfortunately, during our stay there was a dengue outbreak, so definitely recommend taking deet/burning mozzie coils if staying during wet or shoulder seasons.
The rooms were convenient for the diving otherwiwe we would have stayed nearer sairee, as it was a bit out of the way. That said, we hired a ped and got out n about.

Room Tip: Hire a ped so you can get into town without forking out on taxis.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank planetwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed in Tropicana Resort actually recommended by the staff from another -most expensive- resort. Once there, we realised they have a partnership with a scuba-diving school and that's how we contacted and hired a diving course.

The room was perfect for a couple (i.e., clean, bathroon ensuite, quite) and the food there was average but convenient when you just want to eat after a long day or charge your batteries before starting it.

There were bars nearby but the sound didn't reach our bungalow. The beach was just... there in front of the place. Amazing.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the seaside since the buzz from the nearby bars may be too much.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

When I got here I was so excited about my room. It was in the newest building and looked really nice. Only got one sheet to sleep with, and the towel looked a bit dirty. The room has a DVD player in it and they have tons of movies to pick from! The restaurants food is so-so, and the staff aren't overly helpful. Luckily it's around the corner to a 7-11 so I could pick up my own bed bug spray after they told me 7pm was "too late" to ask for them to spray my room. I wasn't very impressed. The wifi doesn't reach very far, but most of all the location is fairly crappy. It's far to walk to the main part of ko tao, and when I was here the road was almost washed out anyways. The beach wasn't even nice, and I was glad to leave!! 
Oh yeah, and the shower pumps out water that smells so strongly of sewage. I didn't even ask about this one. I didn't want to know. 

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccall25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We really enjoy this hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was not the cleaness but it was spacious and quiet. We took the room without AC and we slept with the balcony door open. It was perfect!! It's not located "downtown" Koh Tao but it was near New Heaven dive shop, wich was perfect for our diving lesson. The food at the hotel was a little expensive, but it was excellent. You have to try the coco soup and fish,and of course the fried rice and pad thai.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I gather that there's a wide range of room types available at the Tropicana, so your mileage may vary. My room was a two bed, no a/c and no hot water for a very reasonable price for Koh Tao (I think it was about 750 baht/night). It was the only room on the third floor and had a view at the back overlooking the neighbouring dive shop and out to the sea. The view from the balcony overlooked the rest of the resort, which was also nice. Because it was on the third floor we had a good cross breeze, so we didn't really miss the a/c.

The on-site restaurant is decent, the servers are eager and friendly. There's a good selection of other dining options within walking distance as well. The bbq red snapper at the Buddha Bar on the beach two doors down is fantastic! Cappuccino Cafe is also quite excellent for a little taste of Western food options. There's a 7/11 just off site and taxis are usually available there to take you to Mae Haad or Sairee.

The beach is narrow, but clean and very scenic. No loungers here. I spent my two weeks diving with Carabao next door, it was very convenient.

Cleaning service is about once a week. You can get free toilet paper from the front desk if you run out. They can arrange tours and travel from there as well for rates comparative to elsewhere. They arranged my taxi, ferry, transfer and train right back to Bangkok in about 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach can get a bit noisy some evenings from the beachfront bars, but earplugs b...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraF1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed 5 nights at Tropicana Resort in September 2011. It cost us 400 Baht for a double room with a fan and an en-suite (cold shower).

The room was large and clean, with a comfortable bed and nice balcony. The balcony included clothes lines, which is handy after a day in the sea.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great - right on the beach and fantastic for diving - next to many dive companies.

We recommend hiring a motorbike to explore the island.

The restaurant was okay, but not exceptional. Unfortunately there was no wi-fi.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have mixed reviews about Tropicana.

The perks: great location, close to the beach and surrounding nightlife on the beach is wonderful. Breakfast area was very nice along the water.

The downside: the standard A/C room had an unfortunate bathroom situation. With traditional Thai toilets in the middle of the bathroom it made it challenging for both toileting and showering. They also did not clean the rooms at all during our multiple night stay (to change garbage etc). There was also no toilet paper which caught us in an unfortunate situation. Upon arrival, we found out we mixed up our booking on Agoda. The staff made it difficult to fix this mix up, and we found ourselves apologizing profusely for a simple mix up (we had 3 people instead of the 2).

Overall we enjoyed ourselves, however it was a mixed review!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotterr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
467 reviews
2.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
2.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#29 of 49 in Koh Tao
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#30 of 49 in Koh Tao
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#34 of 49 in Koh Tao
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Beach Resort
Sunshine Beach Resort
#41 of 49 in Koh Tao
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Tropicana Resort

Address: 22/9 Moo 3, Chalok Bankao Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £18 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koh Tao Tropicana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort is located on the south part of the island at Chalok Bann Kao Bay with private and peaceful atmosphere. We offer a friendly service and reasonable price of accommodations both air-conditioned and fan rooms with private bathroom and balcony near by the beach and at our lovely and quiet garden. A very relax beach front Restaurant offer reasonable prices for all dishes with cushion and table area. Free Wi-Fi access in restaurant and at the garden. Front desk staffs can assist you all tickets to travel around Thailand. Let make a lovely stay at Tropicana Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Koh Tao Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Tropicana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing