We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Comfortable accommodation located next to the Chalok Bay beach and near several dive centres. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant offers a good range of traditional Thai food at a reasonable price, however, some of the serving staff have limited English. Free wifi is available and can be reached in the rooms. I stayed for a week and had a very relaxing time and would go back again.

Room Tip: I opted for the superior suite with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feuerfisch66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We had a good experience at this hotel and found the beach huts were good value for money. The location of this hotel is perfect if you want to get away from the main Sairee beach, but still had decent bars and restaurants. Perfect place to stay and complete a PADI course.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiRhiMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

+ Clean room, nice deco, fridge, big balcony, modern toilet, location, good beds.
- Very noisy, first floor right at the 711 junction, hot shower didn't work; had to ask repeatedly and wait til the next day to get it fixed, some of the staff if not all were rude, very high extra cost for aircon (600b, dlx room without 900b).

So, ok for the price but don't take a room next door to 7/11 unless you like noise at night.

Room Tip: don't take a room next door to 7/11 junction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villes751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Me and my partner spent two nights at the Tropicana Resort at the end of August. We didn't have a booking and as it was a bit late in the day we were in a bit of a rush looking for accommodation. There were only two type of room available, basic - cold shower, small fan and non flushing toilet, or deluxe - hot water, a flushing toilet and a ceiling fan. We chose the later, for which we were asked to pay in advance. The room was ok, very basic but clean. What we didn't notice until we had already paid is that the resort is located next to a road and most of the rooms have either the door or the balcony facing on that direction. The road has traffic all day and night long and the noise bounces of the hill on the other side you could as well be sleeping next to a truck garage. We asked to be moved but we were told they didn't have any other room available. If I had to go back I would definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolavulkano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

The rooms are little bit old fashioned but ok. The cheapest rooms do not include warm water shower an toilet flush. The deluxe double room was bigger and included warm water shower and a working toilet. There was also a TV and DVD player in the room. You can borrow DVDs foe free. The location on koh tao is in my opionion great. You can reach all you need within a few steps including a beach. The value you get for the price is good!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Clean but very basic for what you pay for. Staff was nice but a few were rude. Pregnant staff member threw a fit about us using their USB connector. Then the staff of the restaurant accused us of not paying for a beer, when we never ordered one. If the island wasn't super booked we would have stayed somewhere else. Unfortunately we didn't get what we paid for. Lesson learned.

Room Tip: Check reviews before booking. Other places are cheaper and nicer depending on how far you book in ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Very well located, right on the beach at Chalok Baan Kaow, a calm place with fun restaurants and bars at nights. Not very party place though. The bungalows are clean and cozy, as well as the restaurant. People at reception does not make justice to thai people... they are not very friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunoscolari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
1.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
184 reviews
2.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
541 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Tropicana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Tropicana Resort

Address: 22/9 Moo 3, Chalok Bankao Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £19 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koh Tao Tropicana Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort is located on the south part of the island at Chalok Bann Kao Bay with private and peaceful atmosphere. We offer a friendly service and reasonable price of accommodations both air-conditioned and fan rooms with private bathroom and balcony near by the beach and at our lovely and quiet garden. A very relax beach front Restaurant offer reasonable prices for all dishes with cushion and table area. Free Wi-Fi access in restaurant and at the garden. Front desk staffs can assist you all tickets to travel around Thailand. Let make a lovely stay at Tropicana Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Koh Tao Tropicana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Tropicana Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing