We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, clean and comfortable rooms.”
Review of Sunset Buri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunset Buri Resort
Ranked #50 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at Sunset Buri resort for almost a week and were pretty happy with it. We stayed in the main building above reception and were happy to have a clean, spacious and quiet room.

The staff were friendly (if not very talkative) and the rooms were cleaned when we asked for them to be so all in all it was a good stay.

The location was a couple of minutes walk from the beach but not actually on the beach itself. I'd recommend this place for people looking for clean but simple, no-frills accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

Tried both the air con and fan rooms (we weren't too bothered by the heat) and both were basic but clean and had everything we expect of reasonably priced accommodation. The rooms had fridges- really helpful for drinks etc, and the huts were in a nice garden setting, with little balcony areas.The location was fantastic, right on Sairee beach and only a couple of minute walk from the bars and restaurants of Sairee village. The staff were lovely and arranged for us to be taken to Nang Yuan and back on the resort's own boat when we asked advice on how to get there. One negative however, the pool was dirty during our stay and only cleaned on the day we left- so we didn't use it. Being right by the sea, however, it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. Can't comment on the restaurant as we only had drinks there, but there are loads of nice restaurants within a few minutes walk. For the price, it was definitely fine and in a faultless location, but if you expect luxury, pay a little more and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: We visited in August and found we didn't really need to pay the extra money for air con, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Do NOT stay here. The staff are horrible and whilst we stayed three different rooms were broken into, including ours. The staff just brushed it off with a truly unbelievable act of arrogance and threatened us with "problems" if we told people not to stay there, as we mentioned that we would do that if they didn't help us solve the robbery situation. I have met some reallly horrible people in Thailand before, as well as many lovely ones, but never have I stayed anywhere with such awful staff. In addition the pool area gets overrun with people who are not staying at the hotel leaving no sun loungers for guests. Stay away.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here ONLY because there was NOTHING left on the island. Unfortunately we were stupid enough to go to Koh Tao without booking accommodations, after a full moon party at Koh Phangan, and the island was booked solid.

The room was smelly (not totally unacceptable given this is a common problem in humid countries), but also our air conditioning did not work, we had a GIANT hole in our ceiling, there were cockroaches and to top it all off, our balcony door did not close. Not only did it not lock, but it actually wouldn't even close. The girl at the front desk was completely unhelpful and I would have likely had more success talking to a wall. I told her the door was broken, she came to shut it for us, because we hadn't already tried just simply shutting it (heavy sarcasm), and then just shrugged her shoulders and told us it wasn't a problem. Um....it kind of is. Not only will our room not lock, but in case you hadn't noticed, it is very hot outside and we are paying for air conditioning, not to mention we would rather not have a room full of bugs. She just kept shrugging and then suddenly no longer understood english. We asked if they could send a maintenance guy or something....maybe give us another room (which fair enough they did not have one) but it was all lost on her, and unfortunately we were stuck there. We had to jimmy up a lock system by tying the door to our sink...it was ridiculous.

Oh, and the room was not clean, the towels smelled and the bedding was stained. Def. used my sleep sheet here.

One good thing, the shower had good water pressure. And hot water.

Room Tip: Get a good room by going somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrownieCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in the hotel, which is near the main street rather than one of the beach hut. This cost 1000 bht a night as we stayed for two nights, which was very reasonable especially as we were given a discount by the receptionist (who also appeared to be the cleaner).
The rooms were fine, not particularly nicely decorated but for £20 a night i'm not really bothered. The layout of the room was a little odd, lots of wasted space (the TV nearly in the bed) and the sink outside of the bathroom even though there was more than enough space in the bathroom. The room also featured a door to a communial balcony, we thought this was great and sat outside for a cig. The problem came when we re-entered the room and tried to lock the door, the lock broke and we couldn't even shut the door let alone lock it! Our friends had the room next door and they couldn't even open their door to the balcony. We went to reception and nobody was there, it had closed at about 6pm. The next morning we asked at reception and were told that there was nothing they could do about it, they said there was no-one who could look at the lock and we could move rooms if we needed to but it would have to be to one of the ground foor, next to reception.
We then asked a member of staff in the reception near the beach, pool and restaurant, we were then assured that a handy man would look at the room - this never happened.
Thankfully we were lucky and nobody took advantage of the open door.
The staff at the restuarant were also just generally rude and stroppy!
The pool was great and the food was ok but there seemed to be no atmosphere at the bar/restaurant in the evening.
Absolutely loved Koh Tao and would definitely go again but would maybe stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If staying in the hotel go for a room not on the ground floor, as the others have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Stayed here for 1 week. On the outside the place looks quite appealing, pool, restaurant nice looking rooms etc. On closer inspection however, it's a sad, depressingly drab place which I'm glad to see the back of. We moved rooms twice due to dodgy fans and cockroach infested bathrooms. We eventually decided to stay in an air-conditioned room which barely worked but had no roaches. There was a constant stagnant smell from the bathroom due to the water pooling behind the toilet and the sink and not flowing into the drains. At one point the ventilation fan dropped from the wall. Towards the end of our stay me and my wife booked a snorkeling trip and decided to get our room cleaned. Upon our return we noticed that our laptop we had stupidly left charging (although hidden in a case under a pile of clothes) had also been 'cleaned'. The door had not been tampered with and there were no obvious signs of a break-in so the only way the thieves could have entered was with a key.We reported this to the police who kindly came out to inspect the room themselves and they confirmed this. The keys at reception are not kept very securely, in a box on the desk, and I observed many residents walking through and simply taking their key from the box. When we returned from dinner one evening, our key had simply been left on the unattended desk for us (or anybody) to pick up.
A very average resort in a beautiful place, I cannot understand why it is listed in the Lonely Planet guide. One to avoid. Unless you want your possessions to go walkabout. Well dodgy.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noisemercant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We stayed here for three nights in March, 2010. These cabanas are right on a beautiful beach and located on a quiet part of the beach so you get the best of all that Koh Tao has to offer without the noise. A row of small cabanas stretch back quite a ways from the beach. There are no cabanas right on the beach. They start about 50 feet back two a side separately by a paved walk and gardens. The price (about $25 US a night) was really fantastic for the location. I don't think you could beat that for Koh Tao or anywhere else in Thailand for that matter! But it is not luxury by any means. We put our 3 daughters in one cabana and we stayed in another. Rooms are average but good size and have a fan and aircon. Fridge is nice for your own beverages. Their restaurant is 4 or 5 steps up above the beach and is pretty good value for decent food but there are some open air restaurants in the town that are fantastic and really, really inexpensive. We ate breakfast there but no dinners. What we liked about the hotel restaurant is that it is right on the beach (covered, so shady), big comfy wooden armchairs with a fabulous view of sunsets. All they need is a happy hour to make it perfect but you can get that down the beach... and it wouldn't be as laid back as it is now. We would do an early happy hour down the beach and then head back for a couple of beverages in the restaurant before heading into town for dinner. Long tail boat owners are sitting on the steps waiting to take you snorkelling. If you have 4 or 5 of you it is way cheaper, a full day, and way more fun than the packed out snorkelling tours!! And they are right there waiting for you in the morning. Two minute walk to town for restaurants, shopping, etc.

The only downside was the bathrooms and the pool. For some reason, my wife and kids would not shower in the bathroom. But in fairness, that is partly because there wasn't a separate shower stall (Thai style bathroom!) and the ceilings were low. However, there is an outdoor shower by the pool where you can rinse off after swimming in the ocean. Also the pool, which is nice but small, was often full of scuba divers taking lessons so it was a little awkward to use the pool when the lessons were going on. Having said that, the beach is so nice, and the water so warm, you don't really need the pool.

We loved the beach scene at night just down from the hotel. Beanbag chairs, music, and restaurants set up on the beach. It is a fun place. Our kids loved their cabana and the whole Koh Tao scene.

For me, the price and the location and the covered restaurant right on the beach trumped the bathrooms and the divers in the pool. We would definitely stay here again if we ever get back to Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drgonzo_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 50 in Koh Tao
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#31 of 50 in Koh Tao
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#28 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Buri Resort

Address: 14/3 Moo 1Sairee Rd, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £11 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Buri Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Buri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Buri Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing