We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant setting”
Review of Sunset Buri Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Buri Resort
Ranked #49 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant setting”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had a brilliant stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was of a good standard. The rooms are basic but clean and it was good value for money. With its own beach, its ideal for some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCop2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    21
    24
    44
See reviews for
8
38
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel is not for flash packers. Rooms are basic but cheap. We paid 900 Baht for a fan room but the super helpful and friendly girl who worked there actually turned on the A/C we had in our room anyway for no extra charge. The hotel is dated but in a super location right on Sairee Beach and in the thick of the action. Any back packers on a budget this hotel is great. Anyone looking for a luxurious stay in Koh Tao there are much more suitable resorts on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamindt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Only visited Sunset's restaurant passing through on a day-trip. We ordered four different dishes. Two tasted terrible, while two were simply sickening. After one bite I could taste that the meat was rotten and immediately felt like throwing up. Never go there!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Knivsta, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We booked Sunset Buri Resort after reading about in Lonely Planet - big mistake. It was not so charming as the book stated, probably was a couple of years ago. One of the staff members were really helpful, almost to helpful - but the rest was not to been seen. Cockroaches in the room and non-working water and electricity at first but it was fixed later on. Also the pool was not working - it felt like a lot of thing had to be renovated and fixed.

Party every night at the resort beach - the sound traveled all the way back to the bungalows and it continued until about 3am.

Not recommended for families...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dohgren78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We had a horrendous experience at this hotel

As we were closing the window in the evening the entire window frame fell out onto the ground below and smashed. The hotel manager came into the room, said nothing and left

We then slept with no window as were not offered a new room

The next morning the manager came to our room and tried to make us pay 1000 baht for "breaking the glass" and used our passports as blackmail and threatened to call the police

They were extremely rude and aggressive and refused to listen to us or understand that it was their faulty window rather than any reckless behaviour on our part that caused the breakage

Furthermore, in the 24 hours we were in the hotel (we left after 1 night and moved to the Baan Wantawee just down the road which I would thoroughly recommend) we experienced 2 power cuts each lasting several hours, meaning we had to shower in the dark, the fan couldn't work and the wifi would also not work

Location wise it's good but for the amount we paid per night (450baht = £9) you can definitely find somewhere else nicer and cheaper

Definitely would never stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

There is no reason to book a room here unless you plan on getting so drunk on the beach party nearby that you are not able to walk home. Loud techno and trance music until 5 AM, and got interrupted by drunk people looking for a nachspiel place several times during the night. The rooms were dirty, were not washed during our 2 night stay, and we had to pick up toilet paper and towels for ourselves, even though the staff promised to deliver it to our room.
The price is not low compared to other Koh Tao hotels, so avoid Sunset Buri if you can!

Room Tip: Far away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toneaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yesod Hamaala, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was inexpensive for a room with 2 double beds with a/c and seemed quiet and close to the beach.... Until the crazy fire show with dj started. It was very smelly from smoke and there was unbearably loud music until 2 am. Ruined my day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevoraNuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.0 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Buri Resort

Property: Sunset Buri Resort
Address: 14/3 Moo 1Sairee Rd, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Sunset Buri Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing