We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, lounge style”
Review of Whitening

Whitening
Ranked #19 of 186 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Perk, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location, lounge style”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just great food with your feet in the sand. Lovely setting and great service. Different from other restaurants with a nice mix of thai and western food. Would go back on my next visits

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Inge d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    524
    349
    105
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for a romantic dinner”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I was in koh Tao for 3 nights and I went to Whitening 2 times. It says a lot! It is the best place, in my opinion, for a romantic dinner (ask for a front side table) or a group dinner (ask for the long sofa). The dishes are simply amazing and also the cocktails. They have a large menu specializing in Thai dishes and grilled meats and seafood.
Favorite dishes: T-bone (400 baht) and seafood with coconut (390 baht - don't remember the name)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MafaldaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, incredible location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a lovely meal here, sat on the waterfront which was lovely. The food was superb and reasonably priced. Would definitely visit again, highly recommend you give them a visit and book ahead!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

So this was our Thai meal splurge and for our family of 4 it came to around 1406 bht including drinks and desserts. The food was incredible, I went for one of the recommended fish dishes and it came with amazing herbs and vegetables I'd never encountered before. Sublime. Gorgeous setting on the beach, like rustic fine dining.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Food and Service are excellent.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I went to visit this restaurant this May. I know this place from Triadvisor. When I was there, I fallen in love with this restaurant. Food is very great. Service is excellent. I love this place very much.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitening also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Whitening? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing