We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in perfect location”
Review of Saireehut Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saireehut Resort
Ranked #82 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel in perfect location”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a lovely location. At one end, the pool and restaurant are right on the beach. At the other end, you are very close to both the main road and the "yellow brick road", with their huge choice of restaurants. There is also a place to get laundry done, just across the main road from the hotel. The only drawback about the location is that it is the furthest end of Sairee beach, half an hour's walk from the ferries. This is a pain when you arrive, but the hotel runs a free shuttle service for when you check out. However, if you are doing scuba with a diving school at the other end of the beach (see my review of Master Divers), you may prefer to stay somewhere nearer.

We stayed in (if I remember correctly), one of the second cheapest rooms available. I was worried that we would regret picking the budget option, but -especially after reading reviews of some of the pricier rooms - I'm happy that we did. The room was pretty much in the middle of the complex, so not too close to either the restaurant or the main road, which meant that it was nice and peaceful.

As a couple travelling with our daughter, we booked a triple room. The room was a decent size, very clean and we were happy with the bathroom. The cheaper rooms are definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1066cariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    84
    87
    46
    51
See reviews for
52
112
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I think Ko Tao is one of the more expensive islands but I found Sairee Hut Resort terribly over priced! We stayed in one of their villas as we wanted a little luxury for a few days. The villa itself was so so nice but wasnt exceptionally clean which I felt for the price it should have been and also the cleaning staff were quite lazy!! The lad at reception however was so so nice & the breakfast buffet was lovely and pool was kept spotless! Nice spot to stay maybe in one of their standard rooms but certainly not the villa's as waaaayyyy too expensive!!

Room Tip: Get the standard room as cheaper but crap showers in the standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I was really worried about our stay here after reading the reviews. However, we've had a wonderful stay at Sairee Hut Resort.

We had a poolside room with a balcony over the pool and a beach view. The room is immaculate and was beautifully presented when we arrived. The 2 pools are clean and the grounds of the resort are lovely.

Cancan bar is a stone's throw from our room and although the music is loud and goes on late, we weren't kept awake by it.

The location is nothing other than stunning - right on the beautiful beach and close to several restaurants and bars.

The reception and office staff were friendly, polite and very helpful. Staff in the restaurant were also very nice, though service is a little slow at times. Breakfast is nothing to write home about, but that's pretty much the norm for Thailand!

All in all, a fabulous hotel that I would gladly return to if we ever come back to Koh Tao.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annaj_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beach391, Manager at Saireehut Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
thanks for your review for our slow service in restaurant I will check with them but for noise from CANCUN bar next to us I can't do anything but I understand you anyway I try to do the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hotel was right next to a nightclub which stayed open until 4am. As other reviewers have said, really does feel like you're sleeping in the middle of a club! So loud!! Don't expect relaxation. Although on the beach location, this is far from tranquil. And breakfast was horrendous! For the price, absolutely not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HannahR20137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights. It's next to the beach, which is very nice. The pool looks also really nice.
But the staff is very lazy. The wastebin in the restrooms weren't emptied in three days (everybody has to put the toiletpaper in it), so I assumed the toilet wasn't cleaned also.
If you want a coke or something you have to search for the staff. They are just joking to their friends, flirting to the female staff, but didn't work. Only the staff at reception is friendly.
It is very loud at night. The beachclub next to the hotel played music the hole night, it is impossible to sleep, especially at the rooms near the beach or pool.
The beachchairs are rediculous, broken and very old.

It is to much money for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdmrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We booked to stay for 5 nights and ended up leaving after 3. We had a delux garden villa (costing over £90 per night) which we assumed would be luxurious. Sadly our stay was far from it.

The rooms are clean albeit tired, but the huts are poorly maintained and building work is continuing. The breakfast was extremely basic and the staff unhelpful; we were kept awake each of our 3 nights by music from the Cancun bar which continued until well after 4.30am. It literally felt like the speakers were in the room with us - the properties have no soundproofing whatsoever. Our hut was several back from the pool and would certainly not have suffered the worst with noise - in fact when we complained people in nearby huts were too.

The website describes the location as tranquil, also stating that it's far enough from Sairee town and the partying to get a good night's sleep. It's not!!!

We managed to get a refund for the two nights we refused to stay but were offered nothing to compensate for three night's of little sleep. Had a far nicer time once we moved to a hotel costing a third of the price.


Spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights which was enough time. The rooms are lovely and clean. You get new towels and a bottle of water everyday. The beach is beautiful and the bar they have is really friendly and good value for money. The swimming pool is a good size and clean. The reception staff aren't the friendliest but they helped us get ferry tickets to Ko Samui. The location is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Beach Resort
#48 of 139 in Koh Tao
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Wind Beach Resort
#48 of 77 in Koh Tao
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#41 of 49 in Koh Tao
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Bow Thong Resort
#103 of 139 in Koh Tao
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Palm Leaf Resort
#8 of 77 in Koh Tao
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saireehut Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saireehut Resort

Property: Saireehut Resort
Address: 14/45 Moo.1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saireehut Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sairee Hut Resort is one of the best choice for spending vacation with the elegance local and boutique architecture in the tranquil setting of Sai Ree Beach Koh Tao, ThailandSairee Beach, Koh Tao, Suratthani ThailandThe Sairee Hut Resort is one of the best choice for spending vacation with the elegance local and boutique architecture in the tranquil setting of Sai Ree Beach. Lots of activities, learning PADI dive courses with our experienced PADI instructors, enjoying the tour to exploring surrounding the Island where is the most famous in Thailand.Some suggestion to make your stay at Sairee Hut Resort enjoyable, Visit our open air restaurant in the most romantic dinner with the best beautiful sunset of Koh Tao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Saireehut Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sairee Hut Dive Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing