We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheaply priced for standard of accom & sound of frogs at night!”
Review of AC Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AC Resort
Ranked #49 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here on a deal which was 4 for 3 nights at 1,200 baht for a double bungalow. The bungalow we were in was not very spacious due to a third bed being in there and the toilet had lots of mosquitos every day. The bungalows themselves are a bit run down not worth 1,200 baht a night. There is a swimming pook which was always cleen and its a decent size however the same cleanlisness cannot be said for the surroundings and grounds as it too is very run down. The bungalows are all in pairs on stilts and underneath there are pools of water which are dirty. Not only that but at night there are horrific sounds of frogs which actually sounds more like cows. Sometimes it can get so loud its impossible to sleep as your surrounded by the sound. The actual resort is in a good position as its right on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingsophs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2011

We got a great deal with ac resort. If u do the open water course at phoenix divers, you pay 8500 baht, and you get a basic fan room for free, including breakfast. ( if you are two ppl, you get the aircon room for free)
That was a great value for our money, especially since we are a couple so we got the aircon room + the free breakfast.

There was one problem which was handled very professionally and with no problem : at the middle of the night, my wife went to the toilet and there was a MOUSE !!! Needless to say she got panicked and we wanted to switch rooms, so the next morning we told reception and we got an upgrade to a much better room , with better facilities ! For free!

So it's a good place to stay, great location, great food, the rooms are basic, and if u have a problem with the rooms they would probably help u with it. I recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We waited for ages to be served, despite their being loads of staff and an empty restaurant. The staff waled around the restaurant aimlessly and span bottles of tomato ketchup around!!
We were a total inconveinience to ALL staff - we had to ask to be served, when the food eventually arrived it came at seperate times and random courses came out (something not uncommon in Thailand and not the problem here). My food was cold and when I asked a waiter if he could warm it up for me he shouted at me in Thai, grabbed my plate and walked away. He came back and threw his tray down next to me! I asked why he was being so rude and he proceeded to shout again. Despite the bill coming to 1500 BHT for 4 people it was really NOT worth it! There are far, far better places to eat on the island!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Ilovetravelling14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We wanted to do some fundives on Koh Tao and saw a good offer. So we decided to stay on the AC Resort. The bungalows are not nice and not well kept. The bungalow is really tiny and the mosquitonet was already full with holes. It was not a pleasant stay there and we definitely can't recommend that place. There would be a pool as well, but the pool was everywhere broken and the water was dirty. We didn't liked that place

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicoleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

They have very basic rooms. Our bathroom was loaded with ants. The veranda was nice though and there is a possibility to hang you wet clothes on the veranda. the bed was very uncomfortable. the only thing that was good was ther restaurant. very delicious food, and the cocconut shake is heaven. Plus they did not clean our rooms!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SmokedPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Stayed here for three nights on Beautiful Ko Tao, Very basic stand alone bungalows, bit of a ant problem in the bathroom and we think there was a lizard living in there. Overall however if you are a budget you can't beat the loaction and the price, pretty green living too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowmansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I stayed here a part of the diving package. When I first when in my heart dropped. Mattresses on the floor,very poor fan over head and the toilet was very damp. HOWEVER....it was fine, I got used to it. Theyu could have moved me on the second night but I was not bothered at that stage. I was sleeping well. I got mney off the diving package because of the room though. 500bhat. The diving was amazing and I wpould highly reccommend it. Eat in the AC resort restaurant 2 was nicer then the main one.
Lots of other people had grand rooms so I was just unlucky. It was the last room available.
I would recommend but I would STRONGLY advise to check room first

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
186 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
697 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.6 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Resort

Address: 1 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £30 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your AC Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing