We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of View Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Point Resort
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband loves to dive so Koh Tao was the place he wanted to be. I selected View Point Resort and I could not have been happier. The villa was superb with views to die for, aptly named resort. The service we could not fault and the food cheap but good. We stayed only 3 nights but wished we had stayed more. The only downside, if you are looking for action was location - away from hustle and bustle. This did not deter me as I found the Villa a sanctuary for a well deserved rest. The management were more than helpful even organising an in room or should I say by the pool massage. My husband even though the price for him was more than anywhere else on the island absolutely loved it too and could comprehend the value. At night we slept with the doors to the villa bedroom open with no need for airconditioning a pleasant change from most of Thailand. The ensuite bathroom was also magnificent but if you don't like the frogs or gekos beware but remember this is their habitat and they are harmless. We plan to return next year and enjoy the splendor once more. Highly recommend this resort for those who want to get away and indulge in Paradise!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon after being recommended it by a friend. Although maybe a little more expensive than the average Thai accommodation, it's FAR from average and definitely WELL worth it. Pool villas are just amazing - private infinity pool overlooking nothing but sparkling sea, heaps of room including separate lounge room, fabulous indoor/outdoor bathroom, great bed with amazing view - everything you could want.
Resort restaurant is the best food we ate in the whole of Thailand and fantastically priced - we tried to go elsewhere but kept coming back - 3 nights out of 6!
And the staff couldn't be more helpful. Every request is fulfilled with no hassle, you're met with a smile and a greeting every time you see any of the staff, they are just genuinely lovely and helpful.
For a relaxing, romantic, perfect getaway, look no further than Viewpoint, we can't wait for a good excuse to return!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_Nic83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Koh tao has a lot of choice and loads of beautiful places to stay, and i would really recommend this place - it is a little bit out of the way but the views and surroundings and stunning - our bungalow was on the edge of the cliff just past the view point , as the bungalows are in the hills there is a little walk to the restaurant but it takes a minute or two and then you are sat above the ocean eating amazing food - there are other resorts along the bay so you don't feel stranded - its worth getting a kayak to explore the other side of the bay or round the corner to shark bay - the staff are really sweet and friendly and are happy to take you back to the ferry or town after your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nixonnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stay at Cottage C2, View Point Cottage. Not all the rooms are equipped with air-con in Koh Tao because the electricity is produced locally and 10 times expensive than elsewhere Thailand. We choose this room without air-con and hot water due to eco-friendly and far cheaper. As mentioned in hotel’s website, it is remote from the center of the beach where takes you 10 minutes to get here and need another 5 minutes to ‘hike’ from hotel restaurant to our cottage. The room itself is value for money and with this rate, you can’t find similar standard in the center of the beach. Please remember to grab a torch to light your way back at night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed in one of the pool villas for two nights. The view is incredible and the pool is stunning. When we first arrived we thought it was all worth the money (it is pretty expensive). By the second day we were thinking it was a bit of a rip-off.

There is a mini fridge to keep your water etc cool. Unfortunately ours did not work from a couple of hours after we arrived. We did enquire two times but no action was taken. For me this was a bit of a problem as it was really hot and we had no cold water to drink for two days. When you are paying these kind of prices you do expect there to be cool water. Also another issue was the tap to the shower was broken. you had to hold it a certain way to turn it on otherwise it would fall off. the water pressure was no more than a trickle and my girlfriend said she couldn't even was her hair with the pressure the way it was. We did ask about this and the said they knew about these issues, and maybe in 3 or 4 days someone would try and fix it - no use to us as we were only there for two days! Again, we travelled alot through Thailand and stayed mostly in backpackers - this was our blow out couple of nights and really did expect more for the price.

Yes it is lovely- but walked away feeling like we should have got better value for money. Think you should have walked away feeling like it was 5 star, but we didn't.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasonwbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My partner and I stopped in pool villa 6 for two amazing nights in April. Whist the price 10000 baht per night isn't cheap when you arrive and see the accommodation you fully feel justified paying it. The staff were always on hand to help with any issue , room service was perfect and the food from the restraunt was great. A few ordering issues with the language barrier but nothing that could not be sorted out. The resort is hidden away up a 10 min jeep ride up a dirt track, was great fun being driven there. Highly reccomended place for pure luxury

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpdeprivation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We stayed for 3 nights after Christmas and felt like we were movie stars! The Villa's (we stayed in Villa 2) are stunning and everything is thought of - there's a DVD player and CD player in the rooms; complimentary beach bags; mozzie coyls etc. The outside bathrooms were glorious (when we build our house I want one of these!) and the sala was the perfect place for sundowners while playing a game of backgammon (they have a set in the rooms). The private pools are AWESOME, as are the views!

The staff were incredibly eager to help but possibly don't have the 5-star training to go with the 5-star digs.

There is a short (100 stairs) walk down to the beach which too is spectacular - little private beaches between massive boulders. We spent the mornings on the beach and then meandered up to our Villa. Evenings were spent down in the town which is very chilled and has a few good restaurant options as well as some bars, with fire dancers on the beach etc. The bay that View Point is in is very relaxed.

Definitely recommend as a honeymoon location!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotraveldotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,575 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
355 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Resort

Address: | Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £55 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View Point Resort believes that absolute privacy creates the perfect setting for a peaceful and restful environment from which our guests will benefit. View Point Resort is located at the pinnacle of Chalok Baan Kao, cut off from the towns & other resorts, but nonetheless at a pleasant walking distance to all amenities. Here you will find a spiritual kind of quiet. Join us in paying homage to Buddha Rock, who watches over our resort, blesses our days & offers us protection and comfort. This is a place to relax, unwind, contemplate, & re-connect with nature. Sometimes life requires you to break away from routine. View Point Resort is your shelter from the storm of everyday life. This is the place to celebrate what is truly important in life - Serenity and Joy. We believe that all of this makes us the most uniquely situated resort on Koh Tao. We hope that you can take pleasure in our efforts, but moreover that you can also share and embrace our concept. Relax, enjoy, & take pleasure in what has been meticulously crafted for your profound satisfaction and pure delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your View Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Point Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing