We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of View Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Point Resort
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spent 5 nights in the sea view chalet and loved it! It was a little bit out of the way but the walk through the bars and restaurants was always interesting and made for a topic of conversation along the way. We had friends who stayed in the garden chalets which they really didn't enjoy. They found it dark and a little "unfinished". We are from Africa so certainly didn't mind the extra visits by the larger lizards, geckos and squirrels - these all added to the jungle vibe.
The staff were very helpful and any need was obligingly and happily attended to. Our only real suggestion was that their restaurant add a more casual menu which is more realistically priced as we found the fare offered a little fancy and expensive for everyday meal requirements.

Room Tip: Would definitely choose the sea view chalets rather than the garden view chalets- worth the slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    122
    36
    21
    14
See reviews for
49
340
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at View Point for 4 nights. We arrived at the pier and got a taxi (note you need to explain where you are going as they need a 4x4 drive to take you to the resort). The taxi will cost no more then 100 Baht per person.

Arrival was simple and we were quickly taken to our bungalow. Here are the pros & cons:

PROS
** Being on the south part of the island was lovely, relaxing and beautiful. I am not sure I could stay in Sairee
** It is a 10 min walk around the coast to the little town with bars, restaurants, yoga classes, diving schools and shops
** The bugalow was clean, amazing view and, even though the hotel staff were reluctant, there was enough space for 3 girls
** The bar is lovely for an end of the day drink

CONS
** No hot water (you get over this very quickly as it is hot and you don't really want a hot shower)
** The bathroom is super super dark and the water smells really weird
** They don't change the towels and only make up the room if you give them your keys and request it
** The restaurant is delicious but overpriced (for Thailand)
** The costal pathway from the resort to the town goes under at high tide
** There is no beach! When they say Ocean views that is what you get, an ocean view but not a sandy beach
** Beds at horrible, super uncomfortable
** You get visitors! We had a small tree snake on our balcony and a giant gecko in the bedroom.

OTHER
- Nice place to eat is Yin Yang
- Eat the pancakes with Nutella and Coconut from the man out the front of the 7/11
- Go and visit Haadtien for a drink at the bar
- Walk the coast the other direction towards The Pinnacle Dive Resort and you find lots of lovely little places that remind you of Robinson Crusoe

Room Tip: Go for an Ocean View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohannaWhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at View Poitn Resort in early December for 8 nights. We were greeted at the pier by a hotel staff member and paid a discounted price for the trip to our hotel (100 bhat pp from memory). It is definately out of the main town but worth heading to this location. Hotel staff gave us a wet flannel for our faces on arrival which was magnificent as we were so hot, as well as a nice tea. After being directed to our room, we were in awe of our bungalow and the view of Chalok Bay! We were in the first row of bungalows from the sea - high enough to be amongst the forest, but also not too far from the water or restaurant (1 min walk). The view was incredible! It felt private as there was bush between the bungalows. The room had a bed which was quite hard and you could feel the springs, but we slept fairly well. We had a fan - which was definately needed - it got hot, so it cooled us down well! The bathroom was modern with a shower that looked out to the sea - great indoor/outdoor feel. Loved the complimentary shampoo/conditioner and body moisturiser - smelled delciious! The restaurant was amazing! Food was delicious everytime! Such great quality food for decent Western prices (but expensive compared to the cheap Thai restaurants surrounding). But for that quality - it would be wrong to make it cheaper! Chalok Bay is lovely. The resort had its own private beach, which was the best spot by far - but you could walk along to other parts of the bay/restaurants easily. '711' and other shops/mini marts were within a 5-10min walk from hotel. Did get a little noisy from a couple of bars in the bay - but with windows shut you couldn't hear it. It is a little isolated from the rest of the town - need to get a taxi out - but we were happy to be in a not so crowded area. Overall had a great time and loved every minute. Allie (the owner) was lovely - helping us out with restaurant choices and other options. We will be back Allie! Your place was paradise! Very lovely restaurant staff also!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie_3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potsdam
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights in advance for a garden view bungalow via their homepage, which was very easy and with a quick reply. The bungalow C02 for 1200 THB was worth the money: very big, awesome bathroom, nice terrace. Things that can be improved: More light especially in the bathroom (shaving was impossible), a hammock at the terrace, even more silent fan. Also the welcoming was great: wet towel, baggage was carried and cold lemon tea. The breakfast for the next two days was awesome and made with love and also worth every Baht. The waiters were very attentive and friendly - especially the young lady from Myanmar! We also had dinner, which was fantastic.

We wanted to stay for two more nights and needed to change to bungalow C06 for the forth night. Up to that point we would have given 5 points. But we were very disappointed: the bungalow we got was half as big as the other one, the bathroom didn`t have a open air shower and was not half as nice as the other one. Everthing seemed to be built not with care - the towel holder fell down twice e.g.. The matrace was very used and had a U-form-shape. The fan was rusty and old. That bungalow was not worth 1200THB at all. As we kindly complained at the reception and asked if this bungalow has the same price as bungalow C02, the receptionist only smiled at us and did nothing! No sorry, nothing and his English was very bad. After that we met the owner of the resort and told her the same: She just smiled and told us that she was sorry, that we had to change the bungalow and went away.

For a resort like that with such high standards, this was really inappropriate. The breakfast on check-out day made it even worse. We had to wait 45 minutes for two baguettes and two boiled eggs. Plus there was a misunderstanding caused by the bad English spoken by half of the waiters. They charged us 100 THB for two simple slices of butter cheese. In one of the dishes we found three hairs.

To put it in a nutshell, our stay started very great and developed into a disappointed feeling in the end.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were quite shocked by the positive reviews for view point. Normally, myself and my boyfriend are easy going but unfortunately, we were very disappointed with our stay at view point resort. I'll start with the good points, sadly though, these were hugely outweighed by the negatives.

Positives-
The staff were very welcoming and helpful with all questions that we had.

The restaurant is fantastic and although it's a little on the pricey side, we felt like the food and service made the cost worth it.

Negatives-
The resort is very dark, outdated and full of rubbish piles.

Much of the resort is under construction which also means that it is very noisy and at times feels more like a builders site than a hotel. It looks like there is still plenty more to finish so I'd expect this to be ongoing for a while good while.

We stayed in a sea view cottage which had no air con, extremely dim lighting and no hot water.

The rooms smell badly of drains and feel very unhygienic and dirty.

The paths were terribly lit which sounds like a petty mention but when walking down numerous stairs in the pitch black, it was actually very dangerous.

The resort is located on the far side of the island which is difficult to access. The road is bumpy and long and taxis either charge a fortune to take you there or refuse to take you at all.

I could go on to further points but I'll leave it there.

Overall, I would advise to avoid this resort. The owner should feel ashamed of the poor conditions that guests are expected to stay in. Fortunately we did not let it ruin our holiday and loved Koh Tao but we'll certainly non be returning to this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScarlettC257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Wow! Our villa was amazing. I like my accommodation to be unique and special, and this really was. When we arrived on the Island of Koh Tao by boat, there was a man waiting to collect us with a 4x4 and he took us to the resort which seemed to be in the middle of nowhere! We had booked to stay in Villa 1, it was absolutely stunning, the design was brilliant, the shower was open air, the living area was completely open to the sea, you could open all the doors and windows from the bedroom so the whole place is completely flowing. If you’re into nature then stay here. I had a frog jump from the ceiling and land on my shoulder (yes I screamed), and there were quite a few bugs but that would not put me off staying again. We had breakfast delivered to our room and sat and ate overlooking the sea, the food was really good quality (although we over-ordered and felt really guilty when we couldn’t eat it all!). If you stay here then take a short walk down to the beach and visit Babaloo Bar, it’s got a really good atmosphere and relaxed hippy feel. If you’re looking for a resort that is different, rustic and natural, and you don’t mind a few creepy crawlies then I highly recommend Koh Tao Viewpoint Resort! And really good value for money as well!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laila213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in villa one for 4 nights. The view is just unbelievable. We had our own pool, outside lounge room and outdoor shower. So releasing and EPIC. Something that really needs to be experienced. Staff where friendly and always willing to help. Food was fantastic also.

If you go for a walk along the beach you will come across this fantastic little cafe where you can just lay and relax, make sure you check it out.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,462 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Resort

Property: View Point Resort
Address: Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View Point Resort believes that absolute privacy creates the perfect setting for a peaceful and restful environment from which our guests will benefit. View Point Resort is located at the pinnacle of Chalok Baan Kao, cut off from the towns & other resorts, but nonetheless at a pleasant walking distance to all amenities. Here you will find a spiritual kind of quiet. Join us in paying homage to Buddha Rock, who watches over our resort, blesses our days & offers us protection and comfort. This is a place to relax, unwind, contemplate, & re-connect with nature. Sometimes life requires you to break away from routine. View Point Resort is your shelter from the storm of everyday life. This is the place to celebrate what is truly important in life - Serenity and Joy. We believe that all of this makes us the most uniquely situated resort on Koh Tao. We hope that you can take pleasure in our efforts, but moreover that you can also share and embrace our concept. Relax, enjoy, & take pleasure in what has been meticulously crafted for your profound satisfaction and pure delight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your View Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Point Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing