We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for fantastic holiday and wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of View Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Point Resort
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Wurselen, Germany
1 review
“Perfect place for fantastic holiday and wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have married at View Point Resort in January 2014 and stayed with a couple of friends at the pool villas for some days. There is just one word to explain how we experienced the stay and the wedding itself: perfect.

Ali and her team did everything to make us feel comfortable.
The team was flexible, fast in service and lovely in contact.

We recommend the resort to everybody who is visiting Koh Tao, and certainly to any couple looking for a perfect location for their wedding.

Room Tip: Any pool villa, our favorites were 5 and 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melandben2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    117
    33
    21
    14
See reviews for
47
320
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I wanted to have our wedding ceremony somewhere beautiful in Thailand. We both met in Thailand, so it was very important to us that we find the perfect place to solidify our promise to each other. We were nearing the end of our trip and were getting worried we would never find that perfect place, until we stumbled upon the Viewpoint Resort on Koh Tao. The pictures online were stunning, so we emailed Alison for more info about wedding packages.
First let me say that Alison was AMAZING when it came to planning this special day for us. We were on a budget and were worried that we would have to choose a set wedding package that most places offer, missing some things we really wanted, and paying for things that we didn’t necessarily care for. What we got was simply better than what we ever imagined possible, and we have the pictures to prove it :)
Our ceremony was an intimate Buddhist ceremony, and we chose to have it in Pool Villa #2, a private oasis nestled on the cliffside overlooking the ocean. We were under the gazebo out of the sun, which was beautifully decorated with traditional Thai flowers, beautiful orchids and frangipanis. The sun was out and the infinity pool made the gazebo look like a decorated island paradise made just for the occasion. Anyways, there is this perfect moment I remember that pretty well sums up our ceremony that I will never forget. Three monks were chanting their blessings to us, while the smell of the incense we lit together filled the air. Beneath the sound of the chanting I could hear the gentle ocean waves sliding into shore, and a calm breeze rolled through the villa. All, while we were surrounded by flowers in an island paradise. It was breathtaking at the time and is still a breathtaking memory.
After the ceremony, we had lunch at the scenic viewpoint, and spent the rest of the day in our infinity pool. The lunch was delicious, traditional thai food with the biggest shrimp I have ever had! After the sunset, we spent the rest of the night in out villa and ordered room service for dinner. Try the duck fat French fries if they’re still on the menu! My wife loved the lemongrass tea, hot and cold!
I guess if I had to summarize the Viewpoint resort, I would say the people are amazing, the food is first-class, and the pool villas are absolute luxury. The pictures, nor this review do it justice and if you are wondering whether you should make the trip there, you’ll be sorry if you don’t!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ovglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in the cheaper seaview bungalows. For 1500 baht, the quality was excellent! The resort itself is lovely, a nice quiet beach nearby. The only downside was a cold shower. Would recommend this as a splurge for backpackers. Accommodation on this part of Koh Tao has become more expensive and the quality is really poor in many of the bungalows. We really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed one night in one of the villas!
We enjoyed it that much we have booked our wedding there for 2015!
Staff were friendly food was great and its in a fantastic remote part of Koh Tao which with high climbing roads the only way to find this paradise added to our adventure.
Beautiful open planned restaurant and bar with a private beach added that extra surprise to our stay.
There are a hand full of bars and restaurants not far away further down on the beach 'Babaloo bar" being one of the coolest we visited while travelling thailand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

What can I say about this place? It was definitely even better than the pictures shown on the website! The Villa's are just wonderful.. clean, comfortable and have everything you may need to fill in the lazy days around your private pool. The room service and food was fantastic and more like something from a 5 star restaurant than a hotel. If you are thinking of spoiling yourself on the island then GO HERE!! The only thing you may need to keep in mind is that the location of the hotel is quite far from the main town. And you will need to use either taxis (which the staff are happy to arrange) or hire a bike to get around. Be aware that there are some very steep hills on the road to the hotel - so keep that in mind when considering how to get around. And be sure to arrange a pick up from the main Pier - to avoid any problems finding View Point.. One last thing was that at the end of our trip - 'The drivers' stayed with our bags and helped us with booking our ferry tickets to depart the island. This was not payed for nor expected. But such a lovely and considerate thing to do. We absolutely adored our stay here - and I am sure that you will too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 7 - which is the last Villa.. Very Private, with a great view all the way along t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for around a week over the Christmas period and had an amazing time. We loved the location - it was incredibly scenic, secluded, private and at the same time provides easy access to a local beach and a local t village, Chalock Baan Kao. The standard of the accommodation in our villa was first class, stylish and functional. The staff were all very helpful and friendly allowing us to get by without any Thai.

The restaurant is similarly excellent Thai fusion fare (local fresh crab tacos and lobster pad Thai were memorable) and I would say fairly priced for the standard, albeit being at the upper end of the market in Thailand. We ate there roughly half the time, and in Chalok Baan Koa for the remainder (which has plenty of options for all budgets). The restaurant is down close to sea level, most of the accommodation is elevated on the hill side so restaurant access is via a couple of flights of steps through pleasant jungle foliage. The path is illuminated at night but we found a torch (provided in our room) was also sensible.

The local village, is a 10 min stroll along the coast. Part of the walk is across a beach which (like a lot of beaches) is tidal. At high tide it has a fairly idyllic toes-in-the-water aspect but it was always easily passable in my experience.

We will very likely be heading back.

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing as the pictures show .. And we had the best time !! Staff were so nice !!
Only a few bad commits :
For $350 US dollars in Thailand I expected perfection
AC was noisy in the middle of the night
DVD didn't work so they brought a new one
Wi fi didn't work for a few days but they got it in the end ..
The restaurant is beautiful but supper expensive ( $20 mains )

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuval A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
3.1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Resort

Property: View Point Resort
Address: Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#1 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View Point Resort believes that absolute privacy creates the perfect setting for a peaceful and restful environment from which our guests will benefit. View Point Resort is located at the pinnacle of Chalok Baan Kao, cut off from the towns & other resorts, but nonetheless at a pleasant walking distance to all amenities. Here you will find a spiritual kind of quiet. Join us in paying homage to Buddha Rock, who watches over our resort, blesses our days & offers us protection and comfort. This is a place to relax, unwind, contemplate, & re-connect with nature. Sometimes life requires you to break away from routine. View Point Resort is your shelter from the storm of everyday life. This is the place to celebrate what is truly important in life - Serenity and Joy. We believe that all of this makes us the most uniquely situated resort on Koh Tao. We hope that you can take pleasure in our efforts, but moreover that you can also share and embrace our concept. Relax, enjoy, & take pleasure in what has been meticulously crafted for your profound satisfaction and pure delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
View Point Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing