We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
View Point Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$442
US$353
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$71
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$208
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$59
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Woodlawn Villas(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$61
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
336
142
39
24
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
142
39
24
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool villasea view cottageslemongrass teaour honeymoonchalok bayalvaro divingoutdoor showerburmese staffsurrounded by naturehigh tidemosquito coilsstayed here for nightssmall beachwalk along the beachthai massagemy girlfriendthe hotel offers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Previous review sums our stay up perfectly!
Wish we had of read trip advisor prior to making our booking.
We honeymooned at View Point and were blown away with the well thought out Pool Villa 1. Overall the staff were reasonably helfpul when we were staying in the villa - although it took a ridiculous amount of time for room service.
The very moment we moved from the villa to the 'cottage', we were completely ignored and left with a substandard room. It really was like the 'family' that run the place are just sick of it/tourists and could give a toss really.
The cottage in which we stayed for 4 nights included a dark, dingey bathroom with broken windows and a toilet that leaked onto the shower floor. There was no air-conditioning or other facilities to help stay cool (fridge, etc) and the mosquito net and pedestal fans were next to useless.
The linen was of extremely poor quality (inclusive of holes and stains) and the absolute worst thing of all was that there as no hot water!!!
In all honesty though, a hotel with poor facilities can be overcome by good service and unfortunately View Point failed to offer either of these things.
Have never left a bad review but want to warn other potential honeymooners! Save the effort getting to the islands and stay at Lebua in Bangkok - plush place with impecable service!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melhelany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We staid 5 days in a normal cottage. It was really lovely. It's great quality for the price. The restaurant is really good and has terrific view. Only downside was that the staff was not really friendly and not helpful enough. It seemed a bit like they got bored of running the place. We moved to the luxury villa with private pool for the last two days. That was just perfect. Suddenly the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We treated ourselves really well (and still quite affordable for a few days).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomasFlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Viewpoint
Loved it.
please note this is a review for the villas not the standard huts.

Wasn't sure about the place due to the lack of reviews. so we took a chance.
we stayed 10 night and wished it was longer.
You know how sometimes your impressed with a place when you arrive but after a few days you notice faults with the room? Well, we didnt get that with this place... at all, even after a week we were still loving it.

Ferry ride across from koh samui was rough, was met at the mae head harbour by viewpoint staff. transported on the back of a truck which was a suprise but then you notice that just how it is on the island.
had to walk 10 mins along the beach front to get to the resort because roads were washed away due to the very heavy recent rain. a problem all over the isand, not just here.
If you like peace and quiet youll love it here,
Wildlife, you may wake up thinking you have an intruder but it willonly be a squirrel stealing the fruit from the bowl, ants - there are lots but only in the outside areas , if you drop food then they come in force. but hey, your in the hillside surrounded by greenery so its expected.
we had to Turn pool lights and pump off at night as the pool was right next tothe bedroom.
it is a 5 min walk up steps to get to the villa. Tireing but worth it Very private, once your up there and the view is worth it.
Food
We found the food at the resort the cheap but very tasty. its worth going down to the restaurant for breakfast if you want hot food and coffee, they will bring it to the room but it takes a while for them to get to the villa so the food wasnt hot anymore.
The restaurant it a bit run down but it has character, family run with new born kids being tended to by mum dad and the whole family, staff are freindly but thier English is limited.
would we go back? definatly

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddiepiehands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Most of the other reviews sum this place up well, but I thought I would just add one, as I left View point "resort" after a 3 night stay feeling completely and utterly taken for a ride.

As the other reviews state, you have a 300m trek from the beach along a pier, through another restaurant, along 2 other small beaches and up 70 steps to the 'V Cottages' There is no hot water ,no air con, very little light, not even a chair to sit on and ZERO service!
After 2 nights we had to walk down and request some clean towels and toilet paper. When I enquired about hot water I was dismissed with a snort! We left laundry in and after 3 days it was finally returned to us still not done, with the excuse that there was no electricity!
It was the most frustrating place I have ever stayed, granted the views are amazing and the lay out of the accommodation is nice, but the unbelievably bad service and lack of amenities left me feeling completely ripped off.
Our final night in Koh Tao we stayed down near the pier in a clean air con, hot water bungalow in for a fraction of the price.

Don't waste your energy or time going to this "resort"

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flashpacker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

One of the worst value place I’ve ever slept in my three years in Thailand, this erroneously self-styled “resort” is bare bones. We stayed in their $45 bungalow and discovered only after check-in (and paying the obligatory non-refundable 50% down payment online) that our bungalow consisted of a broken fan and a bed with a mosquito net (which won’t prevent you from becoming a mosquito pin cushion thanks to the many decorative stagnant pools strewn about the grounds). No hot water, no A/C, no fridge, tv, internet or even a chair. The 40 watt lights are so dim at night you need a flashlight to read, which beside swatting at insects is the only thing you can do here for entertainment. The “resort” itself consists only of a restaurant area and most of the staff appeared to be Burmese immigrants speaking neither English nor Thai. We should have saved our money and camped on the beach in a tent for the same amenities (although the rooms were nicely decorated). Accessing the place was a nightmare as well, as it can only be reached by walking 300 m down an uneven unimproved rocky sandy coastline through ramshackle construction sites - if you are bringing a suitcase, as we were, it was like dragging a kitchen appliance a quarter mile up a mountain. And that was after having to pay 200 baht for a 5 min songtew ride from the main town. For the privilege of trying to shorten our stay by three days to see Samui Island, they wanted to charge us a another $75 fee! It ended up making more economic (and common) sense to remain checked in, leave our suitcase behind, and check into a second cheaper place on Samui (with hot water and A/C!) for the last two nights. The one and only bright spot was that they served very tasty food at the restaurant. Unless you are traveling in a large group carrying backpacks and can afford the $220 pool villa, take my advice and give this pretentious overpriced place a pass, or just here for dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaleid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews