We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced”
Review of Blue Wind Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Wind Resort
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over-priced”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in a bungalow - basic at best..And for 500THB per night I was expecting a little more. The rooms were cramped and infested with ants, the bathrooms were very basic and not that clan.

On the plus side, the restaurant was good, the western food wasn't the best but the Thai food, excellent!

On the whole - you don't get what you pay for I would have thought 300would have been fair, definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    40
    45
    27
    30
See reviews for
5
57
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We luckily did not stay at that place but made the mistake to go there for lunch lured by their sign of homemade bakery and pasta. Staff was rude, didn't even bother to come to our table, then took our order. The tagliatelle were a pile of overlooked tasteless noodles, hardly had anything like that for years, the Indian curry set only contained 2 tiny pieces of chicken which were hard as rock. Food must have been cooked ages ago and was microwaved. Really a place to avoid

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freakingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for about five days in April when I was travelling with a friend....We shared a double room in a fan bungalow that cost 800 THB per night. The bungalows are elevated wooden structures and our had a spacious bathroom.

Good points: The bungalow was clean and comfortable and within easy walking distance of Sairee Beach and the village amenities. From having looked around a little more, I got the impression that it was reasonably priced by Ko Tao guesthouse standards (other cheaper rooms I looked at were either v far out or not clean). Another nice touch is the tables and chairs outside the front door; pleaseant for sitting out and having a drink (but watch the mosquitos!).

Bad points: With the shutters closed the room could be very dark; also tended to get very sandy (its a sand pathway to access the bungalows) although they do give you a little sweeping brush

On the third night we had an extra bed put in (200 thb extra) and staff were pretty accommodating about it.

Not amazing overall but if you want a private room (as opposed to a bed in a dorm) then it's good for the price.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This had basic rooms which were clean and great value. It is located just by the beach and no distance from the centre of the nightlife. There were mosquito nets in the room and a fan which unfortunately wasn't great! The food in the bakery was only okay. It was good value for the price overall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Basic accommodation in the middle of Sariee beach. Nothing special or particularly good or bad about this place. Lots of mosquitoes - possible due to poor drainage around bungalows. Neither cheap nor expensive for this part of the island. A bit dirty with a mouldy hammock out the front of the room. No fly screens in the bathroom - so lots of mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Look for one with good drainage around it (i.e not in a waterlogged area)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm_obrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed here one night, planning on staying longer but a few things ruined it.

Pros: Our bungalow (800b a night) was nice, basic but looked newly built and clean. Location is v good. Didn't eat a lot but what food we had was nice.

Cons: a huge spider took residence in the bathroom and both of us having a phobia meant we had a struggle to remove it and forget it!! Biggest downfall of this place - the rude rude rude staff.. Especially the guy at the desk who you have to deal with. Was actually amusing how horrible he was, but not amusing enough that we wanted to stay!! Shame.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Good location. But at these prices we got what we paid for - cheap. The bed was hard, the rooms dirty and they fans barely worked. Sure, it was an adventure and we could write about it...but if you actually want to sleep, hang out during the day and such...this was pretty lame.

The staff were not so good. In fact they were pretty terrible. the food was good - but the
service was not and made it unbearable.

Ended up looking for new place down the beach at twice the cost - but we slept weel, ate well and had a good few days on the patio. so it was worth paying more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincentchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 139 in Koh Tao
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#51 of 139 in Koh Tao
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Leaf Resort
Palm Leaf Resort
#8 of 77 in Koh Tao
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#42 of 49 in Koh Tao
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow Thong Resort
Bow Thong Resort
#102 of 139 in Koh Tao
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wind Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wind Resort

Property: Blue Wind Resort
Address: 14/2 Moo 1, Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Blue Wind Bakery Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing