We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere!”
Review of Blue Wind Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Wind Resort
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Chiang Mai
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The bungalow room was dirty, full of mosquitoes as not properly sealed off with mozzie nets.
The windows did not lock up safely which was a worry with our stuff in there.
Staff were very careless and unfriendly. They did nothing all day but sitting and eating - you had to literally get up and ask when you wanted a drink or food at the front pateo.Don't expect a smile or kindness...

Did have Wi-Fi.

Beware, monkeys run around in the evenings and may nick your stuff.
When the tide is in there's no beach here, and very little when out, so if you want to lounge on the beach and not on a patio this is not the place.

Rooms are relatively costly here and at all the main beach front diving resorts unless you're paying for a diving course.

BEWARE: MANY (!) DUBIOUS (!) diving schools. Cheap, but if you value your safety go elsewhere! The term "Sausage Factory" springs to mind.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fortheroad-co-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    40
    45
    27
    30
See reviews for
5
57
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in mid June 2012. The man at reception offered us a bungalow w/ fan for 700 bhat a night. He managed to offer us a nicer bungalow, very spacious, pretty big bathroom.

Pros: Good value, Good food onsight, good location (very close to the beach and the village), staff was OK, fan worked great
Cons: Lots of ants in the bathroom (really, i would be surprised if there wasn't.. but it's still unpleasant), Cockroaches in the frame (they didn't really come out but I saw a couple living in the crack and you can hear them moving at night).

Be careful of the mosquitos... if you are anything like me, you will be covered!

Room Tip: Try to get the bungalows with the light brown frames.. they seem a bit newer and much more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilov3ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a bungalow with fan. It was fine and right on beach (but can't really swim here)! Food is good at the restaurant and it's right where all the action happens... Bars, restaurants etc. Friends' bungalows was not that good,toilet broken etc, and they also encountered the infamous rude reception lady!

After the 3 nights moved across to other side of island and found amazing place (montalay resort) with infinity pool on beautiful beach for same price. But more isolated, so depends what you're looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 91LiviR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in a bungalow - basic at best..And for 500THB per night I was expecting a little more. The rooms were cramped and infested with ants, the bathrooms were very basic and not that clan.

On the plus side, the restaurant was good, the western food wasn't the best but the Thai food, excellent!

On the whole - you don't get what you pay for I would have thought 300would have been fair, definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We luckily did not stay at that place but made the mistake to go there for lunch lured by their sign of homemade bakery and pasta. Staff was rude, didn't even bother to come to our table, then took our order. The tagliatelle were a pile of overlooked tasteless noodles, hardly had anything like that for years, the Indian curry set only contained 2 tiny pieces of chicken which were hard as rock. Food must have been cooked ages ago and was microwaved. Really a place to avoid

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freakingcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here for about five days in April when I was travelling with a friend....We shared a double room in a fan bungalow that cost 800 THB per night. The bungalows are elevated wooden structures and our had a spacious bathroom.

Good points: The bungalow was clean and comfortable and within easy walking distance of Sairee Beach and the village amenities. From having looked around a little more, I got the impression that it was reasonably priced by Ko Tao guesthouse standards (other cheaper rooms I looked at were either v far out or not clean). Another nice touch is the tables and chairs outside the front door; pleaseant for sitting out and having a drink (but watch the mosquitos!).

Bad points: With the shutters closed the room could be very dark; also tended to get very sandy (its a sand pathway to access the bungalows) although they do give you a little sweeping brush

On the third night we had an extra bed put in (200 thb extra) and staff were pretty accommodating about it.

Not amazing overall but if you want a private room (as opposed to a bed in a dorm) then it's good for the price.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This had basic rooms which were clean and great value. It is located just by the beach and no distance from the centre of the nightlife. There were mosquito nets in the room and a fan which unfortunately wasn't great! The food in the bakery was only okay. It was good value for the price overall.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 139 in Koh Tao
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#43 of 139 in Koh Tao
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#41 of 49 in Koh Tao
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow Thong Resort
Bow Thong Resort
#103 of 139 in Koh Tao
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wind Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wind Resort

Property: Blue Wind Resort
Address: 14/2 Moo 1, Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Blue Wind Bakery Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing