We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First place we stayed in Koh Tao!”
Review of Blue Wind Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Wind Resort
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First place we stayed in Koh Tao!”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We, (Me my son and Fiance) stayed in one of the 800Baht Fan bungalow's which we found to be average not good not bad. i will say that with the mosquito net on the 4 poster the fan did nearly nothing. if you don't mind a few creepy crawlies like we don't it's fine. we stayed 2 nights and slept comfortably. Staff in the restaurant and reception we're not the politest of people although we found this to be the case in much of Koh Tao (maybe because of high tourism) the restaurant is nice and sells good food nice place to watch the sunset and catch up on emails. The coconut and mango lassi's were delicious!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    40
    45
    27
    30
See reviews for
5
57
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
K_Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed here for more than a week, at bungalow 18, which came with a queen size four poster bed with mosquito netting, hot water and a fan. I paid 800 bht per night. It was about 20 m from the beach, and was one of the rather "modern" looking bungalows. I was pretty satisfied with the accommodation. Having said this, I'm not so sure about some of the other cheaper bungalows.. they looked really worn and uncomfortable. There was not much in terms of service, the rooms were not cleaned at all unless you request it. The restaurant was not too bad, the curries were decent, and it was a good place to watch the sunset. The location is excellent, right next to Big Blue Diving, where I was learning how to dive.

Room Tip: Bungalow 16, 17, 18 are newer and much nicer than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I booked a fan bungalow for just one night for 450B. The worst of all was: as I was preparing to shower, I saw a parasitic worm "swimming" on the water on the floor. But there was more. Toilet doesn't flush -- you have to throw water in it from a bucket. I suppose it has never been cleaned -- spider webs everywhere. A cockroach was on my bed as I got back in the evening. It was also scorching hot, not enough ventilation in the room. Windows and door don't lock safely -- and there is a sign alerting to "recent break ins in Koh Tao". Staff careless and unfriendly.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaracolBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights after attending full moon party in Ko Phangan.

Ideal place for to just chill out. Located right on Siaree Beach, but far enough along not to be disturbed by Ko Tao's main pier.

The food was excellent in the restaurant and very reasonably priced. Rooms are all individual bungalows so plenty of privacy and peaceful.

You can definitely stay elsewhere for cheaper (£6 a night for fan room for 3 people) on Sairee beach, but this place is perfect for staying to chill out and not have everything based around diving.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The bungalow room was dirty, full of mosquitoes as not properly sealed off with mozzie nets.
The windows did not lock up safely which was a worry with our stuff in there.
Staff were very careless and unfriendly. They did nothing all day but sitting and eating - you had to literally get up and ask when you wanted a drink or food at the front pateo.Don't expect a smile or kindness...

Did have Wi-Fi.

Beware, monkeys run around in the evenings and may nick your stuff.
When the tide is in there's no beach here, and very little when out, so if you want to lounge on the beach and not on a patio this is not the place.

Rooms are relatively costly here and at all the main beach front diving resorts unless you're paying for a diving course.

BEWARE: MANY (!) DUBIOUS (!) diving schools. Cheap, but if you value your safety go elsewhere! The term "Sausage Factory" springs to mind.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fortheroad-co-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in mid June 2012. The man at reception offered us a bungalow w/ fan for 700 bhat a night. He managed to offer us a nicer bungalow, very spacious, pretty big bathroom.

Pros: Good value, Good food onsight, good location (very close to the beach and the village), staff was OK, fan worked great
Cons: Lots of ants in the bathroom (really, i would be surprised if there wasn't.. but it's still unpleasant), Cockroaches in the frame (they didn't really come out but I saw a couple living in the crack and you can hear them moving at night).

Be careful of the mosquitos... if you are anything like me, you will be covered!

Room Tip: Try to get the bungalows with the light brown frames.. they seem a bit newer and much more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilov3ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a bungalow with fan. It was fine and right on beach (but can't really swim here)! Food is good at the restaurant and it's right where all the action happens... Bars, restaurants etc. Friends' bungalows was not that good,toilet broken etc, and they also encountered the infamous rude reception lady!

After the 3 nights moved across to other side of island and found amazing place (montalay resort) with infinity pool on beautiful beach for same price. But more isolated, so depends what you're looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 91LiviR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#54 of 140 in Koh Tao
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 140 in Koh Tao
620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Leaf Resort
Palm Leaf Resort
#8 of 77 in Koh Tao
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow Thong Resort
Bow Thong Resort
#107 of 140 in Koh Tao
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wind Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wind Resort

Property: Blue Wind Resort
Address: 14/2 Moo 1, Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Blue Wind Bakery Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing