We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Blue Wind Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Wind Resort
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 25 December 2012

I've stayed at Blue Wind for 3 nights in december with a friend. We had one of the new (fan) bungalows with hot shower and paid 800 baht per night for the two of us.

Location was perfect, at te beach, with nightlife, restaurants and shops within walking distance (2 min). Yet far away enough not to be bothered by it.

Bungalow was very spacious and clean, no comments there.

Reception, and therefore acces to safety lockers, closes at six so you have to keep that in mind but that wasn't really a problem for us.

If I would ever return to koh Tao I would definitely go back to Blue Wind

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elze138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
There are newer reviews for Blue Wind Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

Almost all bungalows are different size, price and quality. We just wanted the cheapest price. We paid 700 baht/night for a very basic fan room (during high season, this was all that was left and cheapest), with mosquito net, cold water, and manual toilet (not western). We had a balcony with a bench and hung our clothes to dry (most bungalows do). Location wise, it's pretty good. It is a 5-10 minute walk to all the nightlife, bars and restaurants in Sairee Village and the beach out front is pretty good too. Service/staff pretty non-existent, but it didn't bother us.

Pro: good value and location, also there is a yoga class there if you're into that!
Con: wifi in restaurant only, fan in room is not strong enough if you are also using mosquito net
Overall: recommend
Tip: The restaurant is superb. The fish burger is to die for. The rest of the menu is also quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlotte_darling84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We, (Me my son and Fiance) stayed in one of the 800Baht Fan bungalow's which we found to be average not good not bad. i will say that with the mosquito net on the 4 poster the fan did nearly nothing. if you don't mind a few creepy crawlies like we don't it's fine. we stayed 2 nights and slept comfortably. Staff in the restaurant and reception we're not the politest of people although we found this to be the case in much of Koh Tao (maybe because of high tourism) the restaurant is nice and sells good food nice place to watch the sunset and catch up on emails. The coconut and mango lassi's were delicious!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isobel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I stayed here for more than a week, at bungalow 18, which came with a queen size four poster bed with mosquito netting, hot water and a fan. I paid 800 bht per night. It was about 20 m from the beach, and was one of the rather "modern" looking bungalows. I was pretty satisfied with the accommodation. Having said this, I'm not so sure about some of the other cheaper bungalows.. they looked really worn and uncomfortable. There was not much in terms of service, the rooms were not cleaned at all unless you request it. The restaurant was not too bad, the curries were decent, and it was a good place to watch the sunset. The location is excellent, right next to Big Blue Diving, where I was learning how to dive.

Room Tip: Bungalow 16, 17, 18 are newer and much nicer than the others.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I booked a fan bungalow for just one night for 450B. The worst of all was: as I was preparing to shower, I saw a parasitic worm "swimming" on the water on the floor. But there was more. Toilet doesn't flush -- you have to throw water in it from a bucket. I suppose it has never been cleaned -- spider webs everywhere. A cockroach was on my bed as I got back in the evening. It was also scorching hot, not enough ventilation in the room. Windows and door don't lock safely -- and there is a sign alerting to "recent break ins in Koh Tao". Staff careless and unfriendly.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaracolBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights after attending full moon party in Ko Phangan.

Ideal place for to just chill out. Located right on Siaree Beach, but far enough along not to be disturbed by Ko Tao's main pier.

The food was excellent in the restaurant and very reasonably priced. Rooms are all individual bungalows so plenty of privacy and peaceful.

You can definitely stay elsewhere for cheaper (£6 a night for fan room for 3 people) on Sairee beach, but this place is perfect for staying to chill out and not have everything based around diving.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campbell285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The bungalow room was dirty, full of mosquitoes as not properly sealed off with mozzie nets.
The windows did not lock up safely which was a worry with our stuff in there.
Staff were very careless and unfriendly. They did nothing all day but sitting and eating - you had to literally get up and ask when you wanted a drink or food at the front pateo.Don't expect a smile or kindness...

Did have Wi-Fi.

Beware, monkeys run around in the evenings and may nick your stuff.
When the tide is in there's no beach here, and very little when out, so if you want to lounge on the beach and not on a patio this is not the place.

Rooms are relatively costly here and at all the main beach front diving resorts unless you're paying for a diving course.

BEWARE: MANY (!) DUBIOUS (!) diving schools. Cheap, but if you value your safety go elsewhere! The term "Sausage Factory" springs to mind.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2fortheroad-co-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#71 of 142 in Koh Tao
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#6 of 142 in Koh Tao
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#43 of 49 in Koh Tao
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Leaf Resort
Palm Leaf Resort
#8 of 77 in Koh Tao
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow Thong Resort
Bow Thong Resort
#104 of 142 in Koh Tao
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wind Beach Resort
Wind Beach Resort
#58 of 77 in Koh Tao
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wind Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wind Resort

Address: 14/2 Moo 1, Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Blue Wind Bakery Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing