We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent place,”
Review of Blue Wind Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Wind Resort
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 15 February 2014

its a decent place for mature backpacker and couple alike....decent enf prices for private bungalow, right at the beach... food options r limited n a little pricy, but there r plenty of restaurants on the street and at the beach to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here December 2013, the prices were very over priced and the young lady receptionist (maybe owner not too sure) was vey rude, upon entering our room stunk... we discovered that the open air bin still had all the dirty toilet paper from the previous guests so our room stunk of poo and urine, we were polite in asking them to fix this... expecting them to be apologetic they were in fact very rude and acted like we were putting them so out of their way. For the price you pay here you expect to have wifi access in the rooms, but you are only able to access wifi down at the restaurant. We were budget travellers and very easy to please but we stayed in much nicer places for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerA8337BV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We booked blue wind through the recommendation of lonely planet and wouldn't stay there again. There are much nicer places to stay on Sairee beach!
The huts are very basic and dark. Beds are okay but always smelt a bit damp. Bathrooms are not nice, toilet is one that requires a bucket flush and no toilet paper to be put down it. This isn't an issue for us, but the hut wasn't cleaned the whole time we were there meaning the bathroom bin wasn't emptied.
The door lock is also just a padlock that i think could easily be picked or broken. Not very impressed!
Staff were also uninterested and a bit rude when we asked them any questions.
That being said, the bakery is a great spot to hang out! The food was always good and cheap and it has a lovely great chilled out atmosphere right on the beach.
The shambhala yoga class was also amazing, really chilled and great instructors who can cater the class to any level. If we were in Koh Tao, we'd definitely come to another yoga class and spend time at the bakery, but we'll be staying elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nayohmyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I didn't stay at the resort I attended a yoga class with my boyfriend and our friend we were all pretty much beginners. The studio was big, clean, modern and fully stocked with mats, straps and blocks and anything you will require. Large fans keep the room cool. The instructor ensured to ask everyone what they wanted to get out of the class and made sure everyone's needs were met. The class is very doable for us beginners but she also gives a more advanced option for people to want to push themselves a bit Harder. We felt both relaxed and stretched after. A great relief to our bodies after a few moths if carrying a heavy backpack through Asia! We only had time for one class but would reccomend everyone to try while in Koh Tao!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Blue wind is on the northern end of sairee beach, which is the end that has better beaches. They have quaint bungalows that work their way down to the beach where the restaurant is located. The restaurant has incredible views and a great beach, especially at night when the tide is low. It must be mentioned again how nice the seating area at the restaurant is. Very beautiful. Great place to kick back and lounge.

Service at restaurant is ok, and I thought the Thai food was terrific. The pad Thai and the curry'a were all very tasty. I enjoyed the seafood curry's. They had a great light taste.

The bungalows, in my opinion, were great. We stayed in one of the mid price range ones. 3 of us in a room came to 300 baht. Decent enough bathrooms and a cold shower ( I like cold showers in Thailand since it is so hot). We had a fan room, but the place also has Ac rooms. No wi fi in rooms but there is wi fi at restaurant.

Our bungalow was about 100 yards from the beach and 30 yards from the road. Great access to both. This resort is not in the heart of sairee town but is maybe a 2 minute walk from busy bars on the street and busy beach bars with fire shows.

Definitely a great place if you want a nice location, easy beach access and aren't as worried about the amenities in your room.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The staff was friendly and laid back. The hut had only cold water, but it's quite warm weather anyway. The hut was simple, the bed comfy, and even came with a mosquito net. Prices weren't ridiculous either. We stayed for 3 nights. Ate at the Bakery for 2 mornings. No complaints there. During the day however, we spent our time doing activities or sunbathing on the Blue Wind section of the beach. So, we had little contact with staff outside of checking in and out. Overall, it was a pleasant stay if you don't mind going without a few luxuries.

Room Tip: Spend one night as close to the beach as possible. It's worth it. Then retreat back from the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marck_Ernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is my third year visiting Koh Tao and I always stay at Blue Wind. Looking at other reviews I'm appalled. I always stay in the smaller bungalows near the beach. They are cheap and exactly what I want. Front row to the water. The accommodation is simple, bed, bathroom, fan. I always take cold showers because it is so hot in thailand. The fan is perfect because air conditioning is too cold for the climate and the drastic change often makes me sick. But they have rooms/bungalows to fit any travelers needs. The restaurant is right on the beach perfect for dining or just sitting for hours reading, working on the computer, people watching. The staff is friendly and approaching any of them for a menu or to order is effortless. There is sometimes a language barrier, that is easily fixed with a smile and patience. There is drop in yoga on site that rivals any I have attended in the US and costs half the price. There are hundreds of places to stay on Koh Tao. This is the one that feels like home to me.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.2 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#44 of 50 in Koh Tao
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#8 of 148 in Koh Tao
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wind Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wind Resort

Address: 14/2 Moo 1, Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Blue Wind Bakery Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing