We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real good location and Bungalows but the staff were unfriendly”
Review of Blue Wind Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Wind Resort
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Real good location and Bungalows but the staff were unfriendly”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

the first night we stayed in a more expensive room as that was all they had. but when we saw someone check out from a cheaper room we asked if it was and they said no in an attempt to keep us in the more expensive room. but when we asked again and took them to the exact room it miraculously became free. despite this the rooms were very nice and right on the beach as well as right next to seven eleven and all the bars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherinehaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    40
    45
    27
    30
See reviews for
5
57
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The location is just great, right on Sairee beach, with plenty of restaurants in the area! The bungalows are basic but very affordable and exactly what you need. There is no cleaning service. The beach restaurant could do with some maintenance and revamp as it's looking a little tired and the service down there is not good. But all in all, a really great place. I would definitely return!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caoife D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkenstein, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed 5 nights in this hotel. One time 3 nights and one time 2 nights. When I came back the second time after 3 days the woman at the reception said to me "You change everytime". Very rude. The prices are ok and the bungalow is also ok. But theres is nothing to do at this place, just sleeping. The food at the restaurant I didn't like. When I came to Koh Samui, I realised, that I forgot 10.000 Baht in my room. I called them and she was saying there is no money. I think it was my fault as well. I will never go back to this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I went with a friend of mine to Koh Tao and we found this hostel, the room was very clean with clean bedsheets, pillows and a fan, and its on a perfect location near the beach 5'' walking. The prices range start from 450-800. We had the cheapest one for 450 a night. Overall good experience. The bungalow was nice and the price quite good for that. I would recommend it to anyone that wants to stay in a bungalow near the beach! Check it out!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinaida2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Blue Wind has an excellent location, right on the beach, and is great to have a beer watching the sunset. That is the only good thing I can say, unfortunately. The food is average and overpriced - I ordered a cheese sandwich, which consisted of two massive slices of bread with one cheese slice hidden away inside, and they charge you extra for a portion of butter, this is bad practice! But my main problem with Blue Wind is the attitude of the staff. Lazy, unfriendly and they clearly don't care about the customers or the restaurant - there's loads of them, all sat around on their mobile phones, if you want any service you have to call them, they are all so engrossed in their mobiles. They don't bother to clean the tables or make sure the customers are happy and have everything they need. The management here could do with banning the staff from using their mobiles, but unfortunately I'm not sure the management care that much either. Such a shame, as it's in a beautiful location and could be a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

EXCELLENT location on Sairee Beach. We were three bungalows in from beach, and although neighboring Cancun Bar could get pretty loud, ocean view was fabulous. Overall good experience. Nice, basic bungalow with fan--at excellent price for Thailand's south. Great porch space. Restaurant food VERY tasty and reasonably priced. Restaurant staff abundant, but not very friendly or attentive. If being pretty much ignored by staff in general sounds good (we enjoyed it), this is an excellent place to stay. Resident dogs are friendly and hilarious. WiFi frustratingly slow, especially if needing to accomplish important tasks.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katiecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Such a commercial place: the most unfriendly staff i have ever seen ( and i m not talking about receptiin only, fhe worse is the restaurant), average rooms, and the worse is that they probably dont care at all about this review cause they are always full. Seems like not many good option on the island and this place has a great location. And food is quite good in the restaurant. But my god, dont go there to make friends, u will regularly be reminded to pay ur room on time by a : YOU PAY NOW OR YOU GO, and dont ask if u can leave ur stuff for an extra hour (check out at 11 and most of diving trip finish around 12.30) cause the answer will be No, just a no, no looking at u, no trying to accomodate, just a big No. And if u want sthg in the restaurant, try not to disturb the sleeping staff cause they dont like it. But it s worth noting that it s one of only places where u can actually sleep well at night cause no party there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurelie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 139 in Koh Tao
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#51 of 139 in Koh Tao
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Leaf Resort
Palm Leaf Resort
#8 of 77 in Koh Tao
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#42 of 49 in Koh Tao
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow Thong Resort
Bow Thong Resort
#102 of 139 in Koh Tao
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Wind Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wind Resort

Property: Blue Wind Resort
Address: 14/2 Moo 1, Haad Sairee, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Blue Wind Bakery Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing