We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, ideal location if seeking quieter side of Sairee Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, ideal location if seeking quieter side of Sairee Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights. Good value 2000b per night. No balcony in standard room, two chairs and a table in the public corridor between the floors. Not the end of the world though as hotel pool is great and leads onto the beach.

Montra is about 5mins walk from Maee Head pier/town and a 10 min walk from the main part of Sairee Beach. Food in the restaurant is good but there are better restaurants (and cheaper) located close by in Sairee.

Staff are very attentive and are alway available. Free wifi is everywhere, just about on the beach also. Pool as mentioned is a winner.

Definitely a good choice of hotel without staying in the noisy part of Sairee.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnstonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    150
    78
    47
    33
See reviews for
55
188
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights and I must say I was really satisfied. The staff was always helpful and smiling, the breakfast was good (but the same thing every morning) and the hotel was clean.

The location couldn't be better. You didn't hear any traffic at the hotel but there was only 1 min walk to the central parts of the town.

The pool was nice but the beach was crowded with boats and pretty close to the pier so I didn't swim there.

Room Tip: As long as you can see the pool the view is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this resort for 3 night in a standard room...

Montra positives:
1. Good location (if u want peace & quiet of Mae Haad rather then the party atmosphere of Sairee)
2. Standard rooms are good value, nicely decorated with a massive bed!
3. Lunch & dinner in restaurant were lovely

Montra Negatives:
1. Some of the staff are extremely helpful and welcoming but there were a few who made you feel like you were putting them out. The reception desk was not very approachable.
2. Breakfast was not the best and all the good stuff tended to be gone after 9am
3. The resort was very quiet with very little activity in the bar and the pool bar was not stocked

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noranne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights, the hotel was nice but we feel we payed more then we should of compared to what we got for our money at other hotels. The pool was really nice and had plenty of sunbeds. My partner told me that the men's toilets at the hotel were always dirty and he would avoid them. The location of the hotel is right next to the port which is prefect if you are leaving early the next day but other then that we felt it was a bit out of the way and we would have to get taxis. The staff were really friendly and the man on reception (sorry can't remember his bam) was very helpful ad polite. The hotel was nice and good for some people but we jut felt we could of got much more for our money else where.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollieh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Great room, perfect location, receptionist could be more helpful, breakfast was ok, nothing really special. In general we would say good value for money! Would we stay here again ? - Sure.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candidasa, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel overall was really nice and we were glad of the free upgrade which gave us a balcony overlooking the awesome pool. The rooms were massive with an enormous bed! The bathroom was impressive with a seperate bath, shower and toilet however, we were unable to make use of the bath as there was no hot water for our stay. Our room included breakfast and after seeing the room we had high hopes for the next morning yet disappointed is an understatement! Unless you get up when it is being put out i wouldnt hold out much hope for anything being left. On our second morning we even had to ask for bowls, plates and glasses. On a better note we did order room service for an evening meal and were pleasantly suprised when a lovely member of staff promptly brought us a menu and our food was with us quicker than we could have hoped for in a restaurant. The staff at this hotel were always really friendly and more than happy to help with our bags and when we moved on they arranged a reasonably priced taxi. Overall this hotel provides friendly service and with a better breakfast and more consistant wifi connection we would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a superior room and it was huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 1 night in October 2011.
It was one of the pricier hotels on the Island, but we thought we would splash out as it was just going to be one night.
The pool was nice, and the hotel itself is on the beach. The room was pretty good but heres the bit I cant get my head around.... When we checked in, the guy at the counter sold us breakfast for 1000 baht on top of the room. If you havent been to Thailand yet, thats a LOT for breakfast. We knew we could get breakfast less than 1 minutes walk away for a 5th of the price but after being told that there would be a large buffet, again we decided to splash out.
In the morning, it turned out that the guy had lied to us. The buffet was a 1 metre squared table with a basket of bread, a bowl of cornflakes and some juice. We complained and were told that we could order from the menu. Total [--], if we wanted to do that we could do it for a fraction of the price.
This has got to be some kind of comission based scam that the hotel staff are pulling.
Foolish really because I am now going to rate this hotel a lot lower than I would otherwise have done if their breakfast was a al carte or better yet, as described.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Property: Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing