We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Recently spent 4 nights here. Montra is located 5 minutes from pier, I was under the impression we would be unable to swim outside the front of the hotel but the water was absolutely beautiful, a bit cooler and more refreshing than the pool and very clean.The hotel is nice, a bit different than anything else on Koh Tao but lovely views and the pool is enormous and clean with a swim up bar.We had a room on the third floor with nice views over the pool and out to sea.The rooms are very big but unfortunately the beds were rock hard almost like sleeping on bricks so was disappointed we could not really get a good nights sleep. i mentioned this to Jonas the manager when we checked out and he said he often hears that! So maybe offer some mattress toppers or softer beds in some rooms? The staff were really lovely, especially in the restaurant, we had breakfast and it was adequate lots to choose from. A few minutes walk into the action and about 10 minutes into Sairee beach. Was a lot quieter here than Sairee at night so if they can offer me a softer bed I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kezza621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Though we only stayed one night (we wanted two but it was booked), it was a great experience and I would stay here again. The room was spacious and cool thanks to a powerful air con unit, but the one problem, which is big if you're a mosquito magnet like me, is the bathroom windows are not completely sealed which allows mosquitoes to get in. We killed at least 5 upon arriving in our room. But that's my only complaint. Everything else was great. The hotel pool was stunning and you can even see the ocean while lounging next to the pool. We bought our ferry tickets to get to Koh Samui from the front desk and they provided us a free ride to the ferry which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The pro's definitely out way the cons here - for the price:
The rooms are enormous with beautiful bathrooms and balconies (see my photos).
The location is 10 minute walk to Sairee beach and village (vibrant and fun!!) and 3 minutes to the pier.
The pool is amaaaazing.

Here are the con's:
Staff both at reception and in the resturaunt had bad English, It was really difficult to ask questions.
The biggest thing was we found the resturaunt really disappointing. Breakfast had a good selection however we got there about 9am (finishes at 10) and most things had run out. We tried to find out if we could have anything replenished but were either not understood or not able. We then tried the resturaunt for dinner, I only fancied something light and the picture and description of the Nachos looked great (some would say it's my fault for choosing this!). I tried to ask if they had sour cream which I was told they did not after 3 people came to try and understand my request. The nachos came out as a pile of smashed pita bread and a sprinkle of melted cheese, the 'salsa' was sweet chilli sauce and when I asked where the avacado was I was only then informed they were all out.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilymay_burns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Good:
- Beautiful room
- Big bed
- Helpful staff
- Massive pool
- Well priced food and drink
- Fantastic location

Bad:
- The bed was two mattresses pushed together and therefore uncomfortable to lay in the middle
- The room bathroom needs renovation and is not 4 star
- Average breakfast

Tip:
- The Montra is about a 3 minutes walk to the ferry dock so don't bother paying for a taxi. Just turn left at Cafe de Sol and keep going straight.

Would recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The check in was fine.
The room spacious but it was not cleaned properly and the bed smelled like urine.
Breakfast was standard and the pool was good.
The staff need some proper language course. They can't use thai or english. Sure they were helpful but for the price we paid the staff should at least have some language skills.

Koh Tao montra did not live up to the price we paid.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dirty_j88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Rooms very big with everything needed. Comfortable bed, clean linen. Friendliest staff encountered in Thailand so far. Typical thai breakfast but tasty and eggs cooked fresh as you want them. Prices in hotel same as outside, easy to walk to bars and restaurants. Would definately recommend this hotel. Koh Tao is the place for divers lots of sea life and a third of the price of Koh Samui !!!!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room over looking the pool, I would say this is a better location than upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParamaliJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A really cosy homely atmosphere, greatly enhanced by a very attentive manger - Jonas. Everything was so close and convenient - fabulous private beach and great swimming pool. Staff helpful and friendly. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and yes, perhaps it could do with a little up grading.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KohTaoManager, Manager at Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Sue

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay with us and thank you for the personal note. It means a lot to me.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will have the pleasure of your visit again in the near future.

I do accept what you have mentioned about the need of an "up-grade" and we are in the process of doing so, but it is a slow process to make sure we are not causing any inconvenience to our guest during their stay.

Again, Thank you very much and I wish you and yours all the best for the future.

Kind regards,

Jonas Majvig

Assistant General Manager

Koh Tao Montra resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £37 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing