We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I'm quite surprised by the negative reviews for this hotel. I'm just back from a month in Thailand and I really enjoyed the 8 days we spent in the Montra. We got a very warm welcome on our arrival to the hotel and immediately felt at home. I thought the staff were really lovely and we had no issues with transfers to ferry or dive centre in Coral Grand, their sister hotel. I'd have to agree about printing the menus in the restaurant but I think thats quite a small thing and the food we ordered was delicious so I would say thats the most important thing really. I thought the breakfast was really good too and set us up nicely for our dives. The girls in the restaurant were just lovely as well, great fun. The rooms were lovely and cleaned to a high standard every morning. The pools were really nice and very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — Staff, cleanliness, view, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    166
    83
    55
    34
See reviews for
63
205
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Location wise this is the nearest hotel to the ferry. Still you need the transfer to the jetty if you have a big bag. If its a busy time dont wait on the transfer because you will get killed in the rush for the ferry. A notice at reception said transfer was at 8.30 yet on several days they did not leave until 9.05 and with a.9.30 departure thats too late.
Even though the hotel is rated at a four star it has a long way to go. Faulty Towers. While I would agree with other reviewers the staff and pleasent, but if they don't understand don't say yes. Everything has to be asked for at least three times. The rooms are good but no DVD player. The electricity is hit and miss and this should not happen at this level. Also the hot water, three minutes hot, wait three minutes then hot again.

The restaurant will work, the best of everything has been put into it but people don't like having to look at menus stuck up over the cooking area. Why can't they print them.

They have a long way to go before they get this one right, staff training is an issue.

Please remove the "TIP BOX" from the counter in the bar. If good service is provided most people will tip without it being put in their face.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — inexperienced staff
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubblegummergalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Pauillac, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

A new hotel opened in Summer 2008.
Brother of Koh Tao Coral

Weaknesses
Rooms vasts but without charm.
Junior Suite to avoid absolutely.
Building shape in U with no style and no charm. So is the restaurant.
Sad breakfast.
Remote dive club.
Frendly Staff but not really professional.

Strenghs
Location is ok but not the best on the island.
2 Villas on the beach front are Great.
Big Pool.

Conclusion
Feeling the hotel is not well borned and definetely not well constructed and terminated.
A better choice is easy to find on Koh Tao.

  • Liked — Beach Front Villas
  • Disliked — See comments
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jBigoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

The hotel look beautifull on the first look. Then you realise that you dont get clean towels, soap, water etc because the cleaning lady keeps forgetting every day( as well as to take away the dead cochroaches in the corridor ) . Than your lock breaks...if you go to the toilet at the pool area there in no tolet paper and the door is not possible to close just as our front door the fist day.
Around the pool are only one stairs to the pool - so I could see an old men trying to get out of the pool - this was not funny. The area around the pool is very slipery so you must pay attention when walking.
The pool is very nice. And there is Happy our from 16,00!!! :-)
So reconsider if you wish to pay 5000 - 11 000 baht for hotel which looks fabulous but is not yet running really.
If they get good manager it will be place to stay if you are not focused on great beach though.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Smity07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

The woman I emailed back and forth with to book the room at the low season special price was super friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, that was the last time we felt that level of hospitality and customer service. Not to say anything was bad, the staff just didn't seem that interested in us which was totally fine.

Because it was low season, there were only about three couples there when we first arrived. Construction was only finished on the hotel a few months ago but because there weren't that many people staying there, it was a bit creepy having everything so empty. The breakfast was decent, nothing to write home about. The beds were comfortable and the rooms all had tvs. I don't understand why the hotel doesn't offer wifi in all of the rooms, especially since it's brand new. Instead they turn it on in the communal areas at 8am and no sooner. Why, I have no idea.

The location is fine- near the ferry pier but if I was going back, I would stay a bit further north in the more populated area. Koh Tao is definitely cheaper than Koh Samui so that made for more affordable and more authentic eating which was great.

The diving operation was fantastic but again, it's in the northern part of the island (10 min truck ride which they provide) so you have to plan the extra time to get to/fro. Diving in Koh Tao wasn't all that spectacular in my opinion unless you are coming to get certified. I've heard from other divers throughout the country that the Phi Phi islands and Similan islands are better but I haven't tried them yet.

All in all, the hotel was fine. I just think it was overpriced for what and where it was.

  • Liked — comfy bed and central location
  • Disliked — only natural light in rooms comes from the pool area so if you close them for privacy, you have no light
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ciaoamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

"A brand new hotel in Koh tao opened last june 2008. We spent 4 days in this hotel. Location is close to the main Pier. It is ideally situated close to Koh Tao main street and also close to SAIDEE Beach with its lively evening cool atmosphere. Bedrooms are hudge. 2 swimming pools, its own restaurant. It offers one of the best accodomation for whom searching to avoid cheap guesthouses, poor standard hotels and Expensive Luxury hotels with "only the view to offer". (We tried Paradise View resort). We took PADI OPEN WATER scuba diving course. No doubt this is going to be a reference on Koh Tao. We had a great stay. Many thanks. Mikael (36) & Coralie (30), French, August'08"

  • Liked — Not yet in Lonely Planet or other guides ; good value for money
  • Disliked — Long lasting check out
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Coramika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
519 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Property: Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing