We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 13 March 2009

My husband and I and my niece and her husband spent 4 nights here and had an incredible time. We thought the staff went out of their way to help everyone.

My neice and my husband took dive lessons in the pool and thought they were excellent. The hotel arranged for a snorkel trip around the island that was truly amazing. We stopped at 4 places for snorkeling, a lovely lunch was included, and the boat was great - a speed boat and only 8 of us on it! Extremely reasonable cost.
The next day the other 3 went on a dive and I snorkeled and, again, everything went well - the transport, equipment, etc.
The only negative was when my husband was bit by a dog at the resort next door - Crystal resort. He was surrounded by four or five dog while out for a walk in the morning and one of them bit his leg. The staff at our hotel couldn't have been more helpful and were very concerned. They took him to the clinic (where he had to get rabies vaccine) and every day asked how he was. They tried to have Crystal resort do something about their dogs but had no luck - so be careful when you walk past!
The restaurant was quite basic but there are lots of places nearby to eat.
Rooms were spotlessly clean.
We'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
There are newer reviews for Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 423 reviews

An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 1 March 2009

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 January 2009

I'm quite surprised by the negative reviews for this hotel. I'm just back from a month in Thailand and I really enjoyed the 8 days we spent in the Montra. We got a very warm welcome on our arrival to the hotel and immediately felt at home. I thought the staff were really lovely and we had no issues with transfers to ferry or dive centre in Coral Grand, their sister hotel. I'd have to agree about printing the menus in the restaurant but I think thats quite a small thing and the food we ordered was delicious so I would say thats the most important thing really. I thought the breakfast was really good too and set us up nicely for our dives. The girls in the restaurant were just lovely as well, great fun. The rooms were lovely and cleaned to a high standard every morning. The pools were really nice and very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

Location wise this is the nearest hotel to the ferry. Still you need the transfer to the jetty if you have a big bag. If its a busy time dont wait on the transfer because you will get killed in the rush for the ferry. A notice at reception said transfer was at 8.30 yet on several days they did not leave until 9.05 and with a.9.30 departure thats too late.
Even though the hotel is rated at a four star it has a long way to go. Faulty Towers. While I would agree with other reviewers the staff and pleasent, but if they don't understand don't say yes. Everything has to be asked for at least three times. The rooms are good but no DVD player. The electricity is hit and miss and this should not happen at this level. Also the hot water, three minutes hot, wait three minutes then hot again.

The restaurant will work, the best of everything has been put into it but people don't like having to look at menus stuck up over the cooking area. Why can't they print them.

They have a long way to go before they get this one right, staff training is an issue.

Please remove the "TIP BOX" from the counter in the bar. If good service is provided most people will tip without it being put in their face.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bubblegummergalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 10 January 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 January 2009

A new hotel opened in Summer 2008.
Brother of Koh Tao Coral

Weaknesses
Rooms vasts but without charm.
Junior Suite to avoid absolutely.
Building shape in U with no style and no charm. So is the restaurant.
Sad breakfast.
Remote dive club.
Frendly Staff but not really professional.

Strenghs
Location is ok but not the best on the island.
2 Villas on the beach front are Great.
Big Pool.

Conclusion
Feeling the hotel is not well borned and definetely not well constructed and terminated.
A better choice is easy to find on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jBigoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

The hotel look beautifull on the first look. Then you realise that you dont get clean towels, soap, water etc because the cleaning lady keeps forgetting every day( as well as to take away the dead cochroaches in the corridor ) . Than your lock breaks...if you go to the toilet at the pool area there in no tolet paper and the door is not possible to close just as our front door the fist day.
Around the pool are only one stairs to the pool - so I could see an old men trying to get out of the pool - this was not funny. The area around the pool is very slipery so you must pay attention when walking.
The pool is very nice. And there is Happy our from 16,00!!! :-)
So reconsider if you wish to pay 5000 - 11 000 baht for hotel which looks fabulous but is not yet running really.
If they get good manager it will be place to stay if you are not focused on great beach though.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank Smity07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £36 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing