We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GREATPICTURES
Sydney, Australia

Hidden Gem close to the pier

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Nice pools and swim up bar. Staff are friendly. The room was very big which was great. There were a few maintenance issues but expected as this is an older hotel. The hand held wand in the shower did not work properly as you had to continue to hold the knob out to keep it running, the door to the bathroom did not open properly, and as there were twin beds, individual covers would have been better than one whole cover than barely reached to the edges of the two beds. We have a saying, "as useless as a glass door in a toilet" ...there was actually a glass door in the toilet which means there is no privacy and no-one else can be in the bathroom. Even frosting on the glass would have been better. USB outlets would have helped. I would recommend a ground floor as there aren't any lifts. Aside from this, the water pressure was good, the air-conditioning was fantastic and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. I would recommend staying in this area as it is close to the pier and shops surrounding the pier and it's quiet. It is cheap to go into the town by taxi and enjoy your time there but come back to the quiet of this area. We liked your staff member called Trip, and we hope that he gets his cat back to the island soon.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: get a ground floor or first floor unit as there aren't any lifts.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£38
  • Priceline
    £41
  • Vio.com
    £41
  • Hotels.com
    £46
0.5 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Pool
Beachfront
breakfast in our room
£90
  • Priceline
    £69
  • Agoda.com
    £62
  • Vio.com
    £82
1.5 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
£105
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    £98
  • Agoda.com
    £90
  • Priceline
    £95
1.3 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Free parking
Pool
View
£72
  • Expedia.com
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £71
  • Hotels.com
    £79
1.5 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
£102
  • Hotels.com
    £95
  • Agoda.com
    £76
  • Expedia.com
    £95
1.7 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
£95
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £126
  • Agoda.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
    £126
1.6 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Pool
Cape Shark
£99
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £135
  • Agoda.com
    £86
  • Hotels.com
    £135
1.7 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
£41
  • Expedia.com
    £43
  • Agoda.com
    £33
  • Priceline
    £48
0.1 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool & beach
£52
  • Expedia.com
    £59
  • Agoda.com
    £39
  • Priceline
    £50
1.5 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
£60
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £49
  • Agoda.com
    £45
  • Expedia.com
    £61
2.3 miles from Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Beachfront
Restaurant
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
107
201
121
75
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
201
121
75
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar swimming pool lovely pool standard room ferry port
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2024

I'm glad I chose this location in Koh Tao. The rooms were clean and had everything necessary, in addition to a nice terrace with a nice view of the beach. The hotel pool was particularly nice, and very good for an evening dip. The staff were friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed staying here.

Room tip: The pool is particularly nice to enjoy in the evening - and right by the accommodation.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicdanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Booked two nights. I was placed in a room with leaking AC and a view looking out to a trash hill. The room was up 3 floors and right out the back of the hotel ( 5 min walk to the pool ). I checked booking.com to see if there was upgrades available there was a pool view. I paid 180 for my room and the pool room was 189. I asked reception could u upgrade and pay the difference. She said 2000 bhat which is 50 euro but online it was only 10 euro say so I showed the lady the app and she goes okay 1800 bhat. Very unprofessional to be negotiating a room upgrade when you’re over charging me for a very basic room.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024

Third time at the Montra. i feel they have worked really hard to improve the hotel. The gardens and new deck are lovely as is the new restaurant upstairs. Breakfast staff and manager were so friendly great egg station and pool staff excellent! Our room was very clean and comfortable. Yes shower pressure is not great but not a real problem. Asked for a mattress topper when I booked but had to go and ask at reception as our friends got one but not our room. I would happily stay again its so central to restaurants and shops. Could not fault the staff.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezza621
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful. We had a very nice room which had 2 doors, one entrance near the reception, and a back entrance to the pool area. Food was fantastic and we had the best steak we’ve ever had.. thoroughly recommend the wagyu steak. The man working at the pool bar was fantastic, super friendly.. let us pick the music also. All the staff were wonderful. Beds vertically comfortable. Downside was we had a locked joining door to next door.. so very thin and we could hear everything, it was. Group of 3 men who came in late after 1am being extremely loud, standing outside our door from the back entrance and them being loud in their room that we had to bang on the door to make them quiet.. which worked. There was a hotel cat there and in a huge cat fan. A nice bar about 5 mins walk which was an open mic sports bar called choppers which had live music upstairs and great atmosphere. Really enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aimie2793
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

The hotel is expensive for what it is. The rooms are big and comfortable but you can listen all your neighbors conversations next door, very bad sound isolation. The water pressure is very bad in the shower. The swimming pool would be good if not loud music all the time, impossible to rest/ relax, even asked to turn off several times but was ignored and I was only one at the pool. Food at the hotel restaurant is good but expensive, lots of restaurants around with great choices. Breakfast is ok but nothing special.

Room tip: Hotel is 5 min walking distance from restaurants, massages etc etc Good location , quiet area, right by the sea. Dive shop/ school excellent
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Explore06930614976
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews