We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with a stunning view”
Review of Chintakiri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chintakiri Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with a stunning view”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel lying on a hillside with a steep climb up, offers an amazing view, a lovely pool and a really friendly and helpful staff. We were very satisfied with the room, the food in the restaurant was great!

Room Tip: we had the room with ocean view, and were quite satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolai Frost J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    137
    38
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
307
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We loved Chintakiri. Staff were welcoming, friendly and incredibly attentive and the room was ample with a fantastic view, great aircon and very large and comfy bed.

We ate in the hotel a few times and the food was probably the best we had in the local area. Breakfast was varied, tasty and quick, or you could linger all morning and enjoy the scenery ( or the wifi as others did ). Pool was great for a late afternoon dip after the beach.

We got a free pickup and drop off at the port, which we weren't expecting, this was really useful.

All in all I'm so glad we stayed here for a week, even if the climb is a bit steep. For what we paid it was excellent.

If you want some tips on the area, Check out the bars along the beach in the evening (JP resort) for drinks and chill out, and ying yang restaurant for food and cheap cocktails. Explore freedom beach (on foot) and shark bay either by taxi or long boat (we crossed the rocks once, that was enough). Get a taxi to Siaree beach in the evening to watch the sunset and check out Baracuda. Go to koh yang nan.

Chalok ban koh is quiet but nicer than the west coast of the island, there are far fewer touts and tourists and it's really underdeveloped but with enough places to eat and drink to keep you going for a week.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Well if you're looking at Chintakiri you will have seen the photos of the view. It's spectacular!
But to get the view you have to be up high and to get up high you have to walk up the hill and the stairs. This is not the place for you if you have mobility issues but if you're fit and healthy then it's worth the effort.
The staff are all delightful and can't do enough for you. Breakfast is fine - although you need to order from a menu and it appears that you should only order one item you can actually order whatever you want. So if you want both fruit and an omelette just ask for it.
The rooms were a little more rustic than I was expecting but still very nice. It was clean and comfortable but you are in Thailand so don't be surprised by the geckos.
We loved our time at Chintakiri.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at Chintakiri for one night while on Koh Tao. It is a lovely spot far from the hustle of Siaree Beach. Basic but clean and charming this is a lovely little romantic hideaway. For the price we did expect the pavilions to have a little more in the way of offerings but the beds were great and the views were second to none.

Be aware it's quite the hike back to the hotel if you leave for dinner. This end of the island is less developed so your choices are limited. We looked for Heaven Resort for dinner (fantastic reviews) but were unable to find it. Don't rely on the local map as it's quite out of date - just ask a local.

All in all a nice spot on the south end of Koh Tao.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Chintakiri is a nice series of villas hidden high atop a hill on the outskirts of Koh Tao. It's near an area called Chalok Bay, about a 3 mile drive from where the ferry drops you off near Sairee Beach. We made our way to the hotel, and were greeted by a wonderful view of the cove, but more importantly we were not greeted at all by the staff. In fact, the staff was very, very quiet and timid during the entirety of our stay. Even though a ride from the pier was promised us, 7pm was apparently too late for them to pick us up.
As I've said, the villas had beautiful views & the rooms are very clean. The staff takes care of the establishment. There is a nice pool you can swim on while overlooking the beauty of Koh Tao. There is an area for food at the Chintakiri that has some cheap food, in both quality and price. Breakfast is complimentary, but you are forced to choose one of a few canned choices. None of which seem to be a solid breakfast, though.
I'm not sure if the cheap cost is worth the massive hike up the hill and the distance from much in the island, especially with the crazy cost of taxis. I especially know it's not worth the service we received. We tried to use the phone once, only to be told the call wouldn't go through. This was to a toll-free number. When I tried to explain, I was met with confusion. I asked for water at breakfast, and got a funny look from the staff, as if she was bothered that I interrupted her talking with other staff. Another renter came down at night to complain of his room smelling like trash and no a/c, and the staff looked at him puzzled, then blatantly ignored his presence.

I would have chalked it up to language barriers, except when we went to check out, the staff all spoke very clear english to explain to me how to pay my bill and specifics of charges. The puzzled staff that ignored the guest the night earlier even seemed to use british slang.

I wonder if the quality of service has gone down since the other reviews had been posted?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanterre, France
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We crushed here after 24 hours of planes, buses and boats from Europe. The staff was incredibly friendly, welcomed us with a juice, and explained everything.

(Why here ? Because we had to leave in the morning from the Chalok beach (Ang Thong trip by Unseen Tours) and this hotel was very convenient)

First of all : yes, this hotel ils located on a hill. Yes it will be difficult to access with your own motorbike.
But if you come with the free pick-up provided by the hotel from the pier, no problem, they are used to it.
And you have foots ! The only reason you cannot do this 5' walk is that you are disabled... But if you aren't, it's easy ;)

The "room" : we had a deluxe bungalow, the twin one instead the double... I understand that for one night they prefer to give us the twin and keep the double for someone who stays longer... And had no problems to make 1 big bed by putting the twins together....
Huge shower, and enough space in the entrance to put all of your staff.

The pool : little but stunning views, 7 long chairs, umbrellas, and cocktails ;)

The breakfast : unfortunately, used to buffet breakfast, we did not anticipate and had very short time to eat... So we did it very quickly et leave really fast to get our boat.
But the banana pancakes were the best we eat on the island ;)

Chalok bay : did not used the beach, but in 5' you are pretty much where you want...
The have a 7/11 (little supermarket) which provides EVERYTHING !
Massages salons are plenty, as souvenirs boutiques and restaurants.

And the last but not the least, the staff very very smiling and friendly and so kind !

So, for us, this one night was very pleasant, and for now, the best on this island ! Enjoy ;)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Atlantide92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Upon Hull, Great Britain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a lovely little resort with very friendly staff and fantastic views over Chalok Bay. We took two chalets for four days, both were spacious and had an honest/earthy appeal...the accommodation is clean and adequately equipped, the views are fabulous. Yes the pool is small but we liked that, we are early-risers and we're late to bed so whenever we near the pool it was empty but we were out all day. The breakfast was great, it was served swiftly and it was fresh and they catered for our Vegan friend, that always gets credit from us!!! This is not a luxury, boutique resort but it's not trying to be and I feel that sometimes people need to be a little more realistic in their expectations...especially considering the prices these guys charge!!! Yes it is located up a steep hill and there are more steps to climb when you get up there but so are many places on the Island. I challenge the comment about it's location being remote, this resort is right above Chalok Bay and aside from it's lofty location it is right in the thick of it with bars, restaurants, diving schools, laundry services, etc. Of course it's not at Sairee beach...it's at Chalok Bay, why anyone would criticise this place for not being at the other side of the Island is beyond me? If you want a resort at Sairee beach then book a resort at Sairee beach! We loved it, the staff were lovely, the food was good and the menu extensive and the service was attentive. I will agree with one reviewer's complaint (who must have stayed in the chalet we had) that the bathroom did get stuffy after a shower and there was a smell from the toilet on an evening after the place had warmed up during the day but this cleared once the aircon cooled the place down...chalet 1605. Overall we are very happy with this resort, the staff and their restaurant. If you want an authentic, Thai experience then I would recommend the Chintakiri and we will stay here again:)

Room Tip: I would avoid Chalet1605 until they have tackled the plumbing! From reading another review on here t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,486 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
2.3 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.4 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chintakiri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chintakiri Resort

Property: Chintakiri Resort
Address: 19/59-77 Moo 3, Chalok baan kao, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chintakiri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Chintakiri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chintakiri Hotel Koh Tao
Chintakiri Hotel Surat Thani
Chintakiri Resort Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing