We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think I opted to sleep at the bottom of the hill!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chintakiri Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chintakiri Resort
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I think I opted to sleep at the bottom of the hill!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

WOW - found this little gem after having a ride around the island. What a spot and what great staff.

We originally checked in for two nights but ended up staying 5. The pool is amazing with outstanding views over the bay and caused me to consume vast amounts of Singapore Slings!

The staff were amazing and very friendly, to those who said there English wasnt great - how good is your Thai? Upon arrival I asked if they knew where I could get a slight tear in a jumper repaired. She whipped it from me and within minutes it was back in my hands good as new with no charge required.

As per previous reviews, BE WARNED about the hill if you are travelling with older generations as they will struggle. Im an energetic 27 year old and nearly had cardiac arrest by the top after a night on the cocktails!

Couple of tips -

If your staying more than one night, bargain for a better rate, you'll get it!
Dont pay more for the rooms further up the hill, they are exactly the same as all others and the views are no better.
Pay a visit to the High bar FURTHER up the hill - amazing views, very chilled out and an interesting toilet.
Call ahead and you'll get free transfers.
Avoid the full English breakfast.

Great place - Happy Hiking!

oh.............they also have free internet and dvd players to hire...........

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel26smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    131
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
31
295
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

My wife and I are travelling for 9 months after taking some time off from work and we hooked up with some friends in Chintakiri who were staying there, so we didn't actually pick the spot!
Nevertheless, it was a great choice on their behalf: the views from the room or the dining area are sensational!
Mind you though the steep climb isn't mind for everybody, it's a tough one....
This being said, the breakfast was suberb, the restaurant as well, the pool was very nice. Rooms are veery modern.
In the immediate vicinity you have plenty of restaurants as well.
Excellent stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_JoBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed here for four nights, and it was just absolutely fantastic! First of all, the staff is extremely friendly, and service is personal (you are addressed by name). We only had diner there one time, but the food tasted very good. The rooms are very nice and clean, and the view over the bay is stunning. And that's why we absolutely didn't mind the short, steep walk up, after a day on one of the beautifull beaches of the island or a night in one the cosy restaurants or bars down by the beach. Would have liked to stay a bit longer, so maybe we'll return here some day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Really pleased. Excellent clean room, well equipped for Koh Tao.

The staff are SOOOO friendly, really great people.

Food was ok/good, bit expensive though.

Very tidy well kept resort.

The hill is a total nightmare, it really is very hard work!

Good view.

Free Internet.

Hotel organised excellent snorkelling trip.

A good 4* hotel

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owen786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Very flash rooms. Not suited to a family with young kids, there is not much room as the hotel is on the side of a very steep hill. The food was terrible the night we stayed there, but it's a steep walk up and down the hill for young legs to go elsewhere for food. Suited to couples, as long as you're prepared to eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrrrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

we stayed there 5 days ,It is nice resort,quiet,good view,clean and friendly staff .the swimming pool is very beutiful with seaview very romantic place,If you like the beach walk 5 min from resort...we will back there again ..

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbieka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

Enjoyed every aspect. Much better then other resorts/hotels on the island. We looked at a few including Charm Churee and this was cheaper and nicer!

Free internet and wifi a plus!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chintakiri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chintakiri Resort

Property: Chintakiri Resort
Address: 19/59-77 Moo 3, Chalok baan kao, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chintakiri Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Chintakiri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chintakiri Hotel Koh Tao
Chintakiri Hotel Surat Thani
Chintakiri Resort Surat Thani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing