We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst staff i've ever seen”
Review of Silver Sands Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach
Ranked #32 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Sabadell, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst staff i've ever seen”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stay at Silver Sands just one night and we have enough!
The reception staff was horrible. The didn't help us with anything. The two girls only spend the time with their haitstyles and checkinh internet.
Rooms very noisy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImmaSbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    42
    39
    11
    28
See reviews for
12
68
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the last minute due to a bogus booking at Seashell Resort Koh Tao. My husband came across Silver Sands by chance.

We had a deluxe family room which had a big bed, a single bed and they put in extra bedding in for our older child. We bought a LILO and threw the bedding ontop of it. The rooms are quite basic but adequate.

The staff were lovely and they organised our washing.

The rooms were cleaned daily. The hotel is in a fab position and it was relatively cheap. We paid around $70 a night for 5 of us.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happydayz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in the hotel rooms by the reception. They are quite new, clean and large enough.
the white curtains are not helpful in keeping out the morning light but the air conditioning works very well and is fundamental!
Wifi doesn't work very well (you have to stand by the SPA center to have enough signal) but overall the hotel is a good value.
Close to the hotel is the SPA center, with prices in line with the average and a good service. Try the 1hour foot massage (300 baht) for a real blissful experience!
We heard that the bungalows were less clean and confortable than the rooms.
No breakfast as they have no reastaurant/bar

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the pool as they are further away from the sea, in a not so nice side street. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

It's a shame. The hotel is only five years old, but lack of love means it feels much older.

It's clear that when built the place was probably quite funky cool and it wouldn't have taken much effort to keep it like that.

The rooms were a bit grubby and smelled damp, half of the lightbulbs were out.

On the upside the location is great and the DJL dive shop over the road is excellent.

The owners need to invest to keep this place from crumbling.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The free accommodation was fully booked for the dive school, so we upgraded and stayed in these. Very nice rooms, inexpensive and just down the road from Fizz (best food in Koh Tao). Perfect :) All done through DJL dive school so never dealt with the staff at the guest house.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culmstock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This was the 3rd place I stayed on Koh Tao and by far the best. Me and 2 other friends wanted a beach bungalow with the basics. Considering this was the cheapest we found, it was also the best. The bungalows are in a great location, surrounded by trees with the sand on your doorstep and the ocean a few steps away.

The bungalows are clean and comfortable inside and it really feels like an authentic beach hut. Even one night when I felt ill, I was very comfortable staying in the room and admittedly watching a bit of CSI. We loved - and spent a lot of time - on the small verandah which had a couple of chairs, a small table, and a hammock. If you want Wi Fi it's simply a question of walking up a few steps into the reception area.

Shops and restaurants are all close and this is a great place to stay on Sairee Beach. Highly Recommended.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We found Koh Tao to be a difficult place to find accommodation if you didn't book in advance. We found this place on our second night in Koh Tao and quite enjoyed it. We paid 1,000 baht for a fan room, double. It wasn't cheap, but this island is a bit more expensive for most places. We were pretty happy here. Room was clean, bed was nice, location is good and people are friendly. Hard to complain with that. The bathroom had a bunch of ants in it, but this isn't that strange in Thailand. We stayed two nights and would have stayed longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#41 of 49 in Koh Tao
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach

Property: Silver Sands Beach
Address: 14/102 Moo 2, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Sands Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Sands Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing