We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly resort, excellent location”
Review of Silver Sands Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Sands Beach
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Ko tao is an excellent island to visit in thailand and staying at Silver Sands made the short stay even more enjoyable. The ever reliable manager John was alway on hand for help and even when there were thousands of Swedes looking for a rom and were willing to pay over the odds to stay, he honoured our reservation and even gave us a discount.

The resort is at the north end of Sairee beach but close enough to all the action. A great bar at the beach which was only footsteps away.

I could not recommend more highly.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dansilkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2009

Hotel : Good hotel, new, has air con, was some what sound proofed from the motorbikes roaming the streets day and night
Location : Right in the middle of Sairee Beach. (Sairee Beach OK but not the best on the island)
Problems : Once a day the air con stunk up a treat, asked Mgr to fix and no one seemed to know how to fix. I fixed the problem in the end. (trust me it stank)
Overall : Would stay in the hotel again as it was cheap, clean and had all the mod cons what you would need.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Little2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at Silver Sands in the new hotel that has recently been opened. We intended to stay in one of the bungalows but they were full so we took a room in the hotel instead as we were offered a good discount.

The hotel is only about 6 weeks old and the rooms are clean and modern. The one comment we had about the rooms is that they are a bit dark in the evenings plus there is no mirror in the bedroom, only the bathroom. However, there is air con, a fridge and satellite tv which is a bit of a luxury in an island that is definitely more backpacker focused than luxury holiday maker.

Silver Sands is in a central location with some great restaurants and beach bars on the doorstep. It also has a pool although we didn't use this as the beach is so beautiful there really is no need.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chahol79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Really impressed with this place. The facilities were excellent and the staff really helpful. At one point I had my wallet stolen and the manager in particular was really helpful. Rooms weren't bad either!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDudeIsInTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

After many deliberations on countries, hotels, etc. we decided to go with Koh Tao, Thailand as the weather is lovely during Christmas time and diving is supposed to be decent there. We chose Silver Sands as it was one of the newer resorts on Sairee Beach and they don't require any sketchy deposits I've heard horror stories about in Koh Tao.

Arrived at Mae Head Pier to be greeted by a man waiting with that famous Thai smile we all know and love and were shown off to our hotel in the trucks that seem to be the mode of transport around the island. It's fun sitting on the back of the truck and taking in the sights without a window obstructing one's view.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were immediately shown to our rooms (checking in would be after we were settled which was quite nice after the ferry ride!). Our rooms we found out were finished only two days ago and we were the first guests to sleep in these rooms....what a neat surprise that was! I was aware the hotel was new but not this new! Paul, the hotel manager, came up to the rooms to introduce himself and let us know whatever info we needed he was here to help and check in would happen whenever we decided to venture out to town.

Our rooms at Silver Sands were located a few hundred metres back from the beach but if you want to get a good night's sleep this is definitely worth the two minute walk to Sairee Beach. We slept peacefully every night and didn't hear any music even though bars will go on until 2am or more! None of us were too keen on partying hard though as we were wanting to relax to the max with a bit of diving included.

The rooms we stayed in were the hotel style and were worth every penny! You get a big bed with a flatscreen TV, fridge and plenty of room for clothes. The bathroom is quite interesting with it's stone theme but I never had a problem with mildew smell or slipping on the floors. Never got to try the bathtub but that sucker is deep and could fit more than one ;) Beware of keeping all the lights on while showering as your an open show to the other guests who have views. Hopefully some shades can be installed in the large window facing the other rooms.

Silver Sands is also located in an area that has quite a bit of shops, stores, internet cafes around it but you never feel overwhelmed walking around. The entire atmosphere on the island is relaxed unlike some of the other areas I've been in on Thailand where the parties never stop and you get quite the amusing sideshow of sketchies the morning after. I'd have to say the sketch factor was very low in this area and I never felt unsafe even walking alone on the beach at night.

The thing we were most impressed with was the professionalism and how willing the staff were to go out of your way to make your vacation a great one. I checked out a few other restaurants in other reviews and noticed the service was near horrid in some! Silver Sands Staff always had smiles on their faces and the fact this resort is run by a family gives it that much better of an ambience. Paul, the manager, was always up for a chat and did his best to help you with anything you needed/wanted to make your trip that much more enjoyable. Thank you again for the yoga referral it was such a lovely stretch session with a beautiful ocean background. Silver Sand's Fizz Restaurant is also brand new and will surely be known as a hotspot on Sairee beach for the delicious food, array of drinks (try the mojitos!), and funky tunes that provide a nice soundtrack to a beachy night.

Overall, Koh Tao is unfortunately full of resorts only looking for money and not for that warm-hearted service Thai people are so famous for giving. We were lucky to pick Silver Sands and have a wonderful stay at an up and coming resort that's surely going to be making its mark on Sairee Beach! I would recommend everyone going to Koh Tao that's looking for a classy place to stay with excellent service to check out Silver Sands :)

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kellyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Am besten direkt vor Ort buchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank represend1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank cvdbfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.3 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
2.2 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#32 of 50 in Koh Tao
326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach

Address: 14/102 Moo 2, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £22 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Sands Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Silver Sands Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing