We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning location, lovely people, great value and awesome views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral View Resort Thailand
Ranked #51 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
guildford
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stunning location, lovely people, great value and awesome views!”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

a friend we met in samui said we should stay here, so we reserved a room over the phone. Was very good value for money and some of the huts located higher up had amazing views of the bay and shark island, which you can catch boat trips out to at dusk and watch the sharks feed. The rooms were cleand and comfy, no air-con in our ones but wasnt really needed at time of year! The bar overlooking the sea and bay was lovely and all lit up at night, with happy hour on cocktails! Very chilled place, great for snorkelling and rock climbing walks. The resort truck came picked us up free of charge from boat port, the road itself to the venue is quite trecherous, i would not recommend driving a moped there as there are vertical drops almost and extremely bumpy.. only dooable in a 4x4 ! But reception can arrange taxis at a small cost..loved it !

Room Tip: The huts up higher have better views of the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    65
    50
    26
    21
See reviews for
33
129
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The four of us shared two adjacent 'Mediterranean bungalows' which worked well, although it was quite a long way around to get from one to the other! Basic and only just clean, a bit run-down. Nice beach, but poor snorkelling and low tides made swimming difficult at times. But we did see a couple of sharks! Nice restauarent with great views, marred only by the very smelly dogs which seemed to roam about.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkNosedPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at Coral View for 4 nights in August. If you like a quiet beach, this place is great. Restaurant's view and food were excellent. The staff were super-friendly and very helpful with information. My only complaint is the bed in our room. Uncomfortable! Maybe we were just unlucky with the bed that we got in our room, but it was one of the most uncomfortable beds that I slept on during a month's vacation in Thailand.
A lot of positives, one negative. This is a place where I would like to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, Korea
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The good: staff were friendly, food was really very nice indeed. Bar very chilled and pleasant with a nice view of the beach and out to sea. Great place for a sundowner as the sun sets.

I went diving with the attached diving school but I got the impression that all the actual divers were elsewhere on the island. The diving round here was so-so, but the owner and divemaster were great and couldn't have been more friendly.

The not so good: It's a hassle to get to and from the town as the road is really in terrible condition. So if you have any interest in nightlife or want some variety in where you eat, I would look elsewhere.

The accommodation (I had the "island hut") was fine but not particularly great - I got bitten quite a lot (though this is hardly the resort's fault) and the room was a bit cramped and hot - the fan did not seem to be very effective and it was hot in May/June. Also, quite a walk up the hillside to get to my bungalow, though some were closer to ground level.

Also, the beach is not great - nice to lounge on, not so great to swim.

Overall I see that this place has got some wonderful reviews and if it sounds like the place for you then please don't let me put you off. I can't quite see myself staying here 11 nights, as someone else wrote that they did - but for a few days it was a pleasant spot to relax away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist parts of Koh Tao. But if it's peace and quiet you seek, I'm sure there are dozens of places in Thailand where you could get the same thing with a better beach and accommodation.

Room Tip: Be aware that some of the bungalows are set up in the hillside - hardly a long walk, but makes it in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had an incredible stay. The staff are really excellent and the food wonderful (we like spicy food). It all runs on relaxed Thai time, so don't expect Western timing.

The road in is a nightmare, but that keeps the beach quite exclusive. I only hope that the new concrete road won't come too soon. The huts are soon to get solar water heating. This may make the huts more expensive too. The huts are very basic, but clean. Sheets changed every other day. You can't neat them for value. We had three island huts for 11 nights. And will be back if we can.

The dive centre is excellent. Neil and his staff are outstanding. Equipment is good - no faulty kit at all. They will do their best to take you to the best sites and know the dive sites well.

Paddle out to Shark Island and you will have some excellent skin diving.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Staying at a remote resort is not just about the location, it's the people running the place and the other guests that are important. If you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday on a beach that looks like a dream then look no further than Coral View.

Everyone working at the resort seemed genuinely lovely. Yes, this is a business but Coral View managed to make you feel truly appreciated and wanted there. It's also a very professional set up, not as relaxed as some places but the owners had a wonderful, smiling spirit. The restaurant with great views, the beach bar and the gardens (well kept and gorgeous) all contributed to the sense of Paradise. And the food was the best I tasted in Thailand!

It's not the cheapest resort (a cup of tea was 35 THB, nearly a £1, but then Pad Thai was only 90THB) but one room we stayed in at 1200 THB genuinely felt luxurious compared to other resorts.

The staff's sweet three dogs, the friendly dive school, the incredible snorkelling straight off the beach, the hammocks and the type of customer the resort attracted (polite couples and families) made this one of the best places I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. I'll never forget it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debrahello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed in a luxury room, which was ok but lacked AC and hot water. Location was great to get away from it all but access is difficult so don't plan to go town every day or it will cost you. The man who looked like the owner was very unpleasant although the rest of the staff was helpful. The bar is very nice but the restaurant is better in the next door resort.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#10 of 77 in Koh Tao
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Shark Pool Villas
Cape Shark Pool Villas
#20 of 140 in Koh Tao
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
0.6 mi away
Taatoh Seaview Resort
Taatoh Seaview Resort
#26 of 77 in Koh Tao
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral View Resort Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral View Resort Thailand

Property: Coral View Resort Thailand
Address: Haad Sai Daeng, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral View Resort Thailand 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Coral View Resort Thailand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral View Resort Thailand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing