We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort Excellent Diving” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral View Resort Thailand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coral View Resort Thailand
Ranked #50 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Resort Excellent Diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights from the 19th March 2012. We did choose a basic hut (# 4) and found it extremely comfortable. The fan was adequate at night and although we spent most of the days, on early starts, diving, we felt refreshed each morning. The resort staff were very friendly and the Dive shop was a very professional 5* outfit run by Dive Masters Neil and Alan. We had 2 dives each day and were whisked off to different dive sites around the island by the fast longtail boat. We are both very glad we chose this resort, yes its secluded but thats what we wanted. No large groups of divers, just nice relaxed dives with that personal touch. We visited the overpriced Sai Ree beach area one afternoon ( its only 100 Baht each way by resort 4 Wheel Drive ) to pick up some essentials and have a Pizza. Its so overcrowded and congested
Overall the resort is clean and keenly priced and away from the hustle and bustle of Sai Ree beach. It felt like we were in Thailand, not an overcrowded Austrailian or European beach resort.
A first class experience.

Room Tip: Hut 4 is lower on the hillside with nice sea breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themadscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    56
    47
    26
    18
See reviews for
28
120
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Away from the busy scene in Haad Sai Ree, this beach has comfortable basic bungalows. No ac, no hot water. No shopping. Only sandy beach and very good shallow water protected coral reef snorkeling. The food was ok. The people running it were nice.

The dive shop had a dedicated instructor, nice equipment and a longtail dive boat. Small groups only.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaiwanJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Although you may initially feel like you have discovered an exclusive paradise, you will soon realize that you are a captive on an overpriced slice of beach. We paid a deposit on a week's stay here, but within an hour of arriving became aware that not only is it difficult and expensive to travel into town, but you are beholden to the one restaurant that charges about 50% more than all of the other places in town. Despite the fact that we reserved two oceanfront "villas", the staff gave us one oceanfront room and one out of the way second story box. The advertised amenities including satellite TV with video are nowhere to be found; the bathroom has raw electrical cords coming out of the wall above the shower heads; no hot water (not that you would want any as the rooms are unbearably hot); The linens on the beds were soiled and I question whether they were in fact clean. The massages were priced at nearly double what they are anywhere else in Thailand. The rooms were also terribly overpriced compared with other available accommodation in Sairee Beach or Mae Haad where you have numerous options for dining and nightlife. Then you are hit with an unadvertised 4% surcharge to use your credit card.

Upon arrival, we notified the reception that we did not want a refund, but that we would be unable to spend a week there. We asked if we could stay for 2 nights and apply our overpriced food to the previously paid deposit. We were lead to believe this was an acceptable option until it came time to check out and the "madame" refused to accept the overpayment of the deposit toward the food bill. Since we were prisoners on her land, we had no other option than to pay the additional fee, thus losing over half of our deposit. Interestingly, they do not publish any cancellation policy on their website, but just wait to make things up as they go along. The final straw came when we requested a taxi to leave and she quoted us a price that the taxi driver then refused as he said it was too little to drive us all the way into town.

The view is amazing and was the saving grace for the 2 nights we felt forced to stay, however, the beach is comprised of very sharp coral shards that hurt your feet to walk on. In addition, the beach chairs were never swept off or tended to and debris remained piled up along the one or two beachside tables for the duration of our stay. More troubling was the fact that we were traveling with three children and when I informed the hotel staff of a broken bottle protruding from the sand they did not lift a finger to clean it up and I had to get a bucket to remove the very sharp glass from the beach.

All in all this was the worst travel experience we have had in three months of travel.

Room Tip: Beachside Family Villa is the best bet if you cannot find any other place to stay on the island of K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

bern
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed at Coral View for 6 nights in January . The best valued accommodation is the bungalows on stilts , however its a shame that there is no balcony and that cleaning is only done every 2nd day due to `staff shortages `. Should you be able to afford it the bungalows on the other side of the resort do have balconys.
The gardens of the resort are lush and looked after well however there is a distinct difference in care around the beach. Very tired lounge chairs lay every morning where they were left with no attempts to clean or tidy. Broken chairs lay where they broke and even though the resort was informed nothing was done.
The bay is beautiful to look at but the beach is very sharp coral which should only be walked on with shoes , the same goes for swimming.In our opinion the beach is not very sutable for children.
Another let down is the numbers of visitors to the resort on a daily basis , this could present a security problem and a shortage of lounge chairs.You can be reading a book quietly when 3 or 4 motorcycles turn up with the obvious noise , then the visitors will come , stand right in front of you creating more noise.
The resturant and beach bar are adequate with a typical Thai menu.
The dive guy on site is really nice and although we didn`t dive we had reports that he was good...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aspirebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

a friend we met in samui said we should stay here, so we reserved a room over the phone. Was very good value for money and some of the huts located higher up had amazing views of the bay and shark island, which you can catch boat trips out to at dusk and watch the sharks feed. The rooms were cleand and comfy, no air-con in our ones but wasnt really needed at time of year! The bar overlooking the sea and bay was lovely and all lit up at night, with happy hour on cocktails! Very chilled place, great for snorkelling and rock climbing walks. The resort truck came picked us up free of charge from boat port, the road itself to the venue is quite trecherous, i would not recommend driving a moped there as there are vertical drops almost and extremely bumpy.. only dooable in a 4x4 ! But reception can arrange taxis at a small cost..loved it !

Room Tip: The huts up higher have better views of the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The four of us shared two adjacent 'Mediterranean bungalows' which worked well, although it was quite a long way around to get from one to the other! Basic and only just clean, a bit run-down. Nice beach, but poor snorkelling and low tides made swimming difficult at times. But we did see a couple of sharks! Nice restauarent with great views, marred only by the very smelly dogs which seemed to roam about.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkNosedPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at Coral View for 4 nights in August. If you like a quiet beach, this place is great. Restaurant's view and food were excellent. The staff were super-friendly and very helpful with information. My only complaint is the bed in our room. Uncomfortable! Maybe we were just unlucky with the bed that we got in our room, but it was one of the most uncomfortable beds that I slept on during a month's vacation in Thailand.
A lot of positives, one negative. This is a place where I would like to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#14 of 73 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Baan Talay Koh Tao
#46 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taatoh Seaview Resort
Taatoh Seaview Resort
#26 of 73 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral View Resort Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral View Resort Thailand

Property: Coral View Resort Thailand
Address: Haad Sai Daeng, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral View Resort Thailand 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral View Resort Thailand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral View Resort Thailand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing