We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coral View Resort Thailand
Ranked #47 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Breda
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming place”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Koh Tao is a charming island, and we enjoyed our few days there. Coral View is also a nice spot, with decent cabins. the beach is excellent for snorkeling, but not ideal for swimming. The smaller cabins have no porch to sit outside and enjoy the view, and can be very hot and sticky, thanks to the tiny fan hanging high above the mosquito net. Staff were helpful, but did not go out of their way for anything, unlike Thailand some years ago.

We left for Koh Phangan and really enjoyed it there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunjooadvani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    65
    48
    26
    20
See reviews for
32
127
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We hae been to coral view about 4 times, and usually go with friends so we book four rooms. we love the location - we have children and since the coral view is isolated from the bustle of koh tao we dont worry about them. The staff are very friendly and take time to keep an eye out for the kids. We like the rooms in the building closest to the sea - although they are not air conditioned you can get a good breeze. The dive operation connected to this resort is good as well - a small operation so you are out on a long tail boat not with a boat of 50 lemmings all jumping off and on like robots. the food is decent and happy hour is a great time to meet the few other people at the resort. the last time we were at this resort the owner said he was going to renovate, so i wonder what it is like now and if the prices have gone up. BTW you can often see black tip sharks in the shallows early in the morning. good snorkelling all around and some nice walks up to the top of the hilll and around to other beaches.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The beach in the pictures are true, it's a lovely sight. But, this is not a silken walking beach. rocks and coral make "strolling" unlikely. This beach like several on this island are not what you would call swimmable as the coral and rocks are numerous.

Beachside rooms are quiet basic, certainly not luxury. They are in an 8 unit building sitting sideways to the beach. Not the best setup. Hillside bungalows, which we did not look at may be better.

Ladies at front desk were friendly and helpful. Their taxi service driver definitely needs an "attitude adjustment". He displays the classic "oh more tourists attitude".

Their food was quiet good and mostly a fair price, except for breakfast.

Although we enjoyed our four night stay we probably would not return to this island or this resort. We have been to ALL of Thailand's beaches, just FYI!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank financecounselor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Coral View is in a gorgeous setting- amazing views and a semi-private beach.

Pros
-far from the main beach, so nice and quiet at night
-beautiful bungalows
-happy hour
-snorkeling is phenomenal. I would go back to this beach for the snorkeling alone!
-very very relaxing

Cons
-far from the main beach. If you want to go, they send a taxi in twice daily.
-the bed was just so-so
-our bungalow was a huge hike up very very tall steps... not fun in the dark or the sweltering heat
-miscommunication about the dive pricing...

I would go back again if I were alone for 2-3 days, or with someone that I really like spending 24 hours a day with.

Note: the restaurant next door has terrible service but excellent food.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms near the beach. The standalone bungalows are more private, but a pain to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathtray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

The good

You will be almost totally alone compared to other places. Minimal kids. At least when we were there.

Bar is kind of cool

There is coral that you can snorkel through with good visibility.

Nice view. Super blue water compared to Chalok Bay

Great restaraunt down the beach

The Bad
You're totally stuck there and they know it so everything is more expensive. Not cool

The first day I got in the water there was trash EVEYWHERE. The next day it was gone. Really soured the first day. Not the resorts fault but really sucked


I could go on but I would not stay here again





You are stuck.


Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank patrickinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights from the 19th March 2012. We did choose a basic hut (# 4) and found it extremely comfortable. The fan was adequate at night and although we spent most of the days, on early starts, diving, we felt refreshed each morning. The resort staff were very friendly and the Dive shop was a very professional 5* outfit run by Dive Masters Neil and Alan. We had 2 dives each day and were whisked off to different dive sites around the island by the fast longtail boat. We are both very glad we chose this resort, yes its secluded but thats what we wanted. No large groups of divers, just nice relaxed dives with that personal touch. We visited the overpriced Sai Ree beach area one afternoon ( its only 100 Baht each way by resort 4 Wheel Drive ) to pick up some essentials and have a Pizza. Its so overcrowded and congested
Overall the resort is clean and keenly priced and away from the hustle and bustle of Sai Ree beach. It felt like we were in Thailand, not an overcrowded Austrailian or European beach resort.
A first class experience.

Room Tip: Hut 4 is lower on the hillside with nice sea breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themadscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Away from the busy scene in Haad Sai Ree, this beach has comfortable basic bungalows. No ac, no hot water. No shopping. Only sandy beach and very good shallow water protected coral reef snorkeling. The food was ok. The people running it were nice.

The dive shop had a dedicated instructor, nice equipment and a longtail dive boat. Small groups only.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaiwanJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#11 of 77 in Koh Tao
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Shark Pool Villas
Cape Shark Pool Villas
#25 of 139 in Koh Tao
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
PD Resort
PD Resort
#23 of 77 in Koh Tao
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taatoh Seaview Resort
Taatoh Seaview Resort
#28 of 77 in Koh Tao
49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
#36 of 139 in Koh Tao
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral View Resort Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral View Resort Thailand

Property: Coral View Resort Thailand
Address: Haad Sai Daeng, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral View Resort Thailand 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral View Resort Thailand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral View Resort Thailand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing