We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coral View Resort Thailand
Ranked #45 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed in the cheapest bungalow (700 baht) and we were quite happy about it because it was much nicer and rustic than the 'villas' which I thought were a bit run-down. No aircon but the fan was sufficient. When we arrived after 15min bumping ride I thought: what a beautiful spot. It is truly secluded and private, the beach is nice and also the restaurant was good. However we preferred the New Heaven restaurant a bit further up the beach.
Rides to town cost but I disliked the party atmosphere in Mae Hat anyway. But if your up to party, Coral View is quite off.
There is only little to do except snorkeling, walking is almost impossible because the streets are incredibly steep - good for some workout
All in all a very nice relaxing stay, be prepared that some Germans put their towels on the benches at the beach at 7am and get back to sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankyFrankson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed here in July and had mixed feelings about our stay. The bay was beautiful, the food okay (though the restaurant of the adjacent hotel is better), and there is a lovely cocktail bar.
We took their snorkelling trip as well. The trip was okay, on a long tail boat with only 6 other guests. But I was a bit disappointed about the lack of care for the coral and the marine life from the guides and the other guests. Other guests were touching the coral and the guides were feeding the fish along with some other guests (even though on the door of our hut there was a sign asking not to feed the fish).
The hut is basic, but good enough if you don't want a lot of comfort. If you take a hut you should be aware of the fact that you most probably will have some companions. We had three large gecko's in our room. Other guests had cockroaches and a big spider. I didn't mind but I can imagine some people will. The hotel promises free pickup, which is true, but they only drive twice a day from the boat pier tot the hotel. We arrived three hours before the pickup left, called the hotel, but they just let us wait. That was a bit of a letdown. Staff wasn't very friendly either.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBelgium17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Big up for the crew & owner. We had a wonderful honeymoon. Great view, nice place, peaceful and quiet beach and great food at reasonable prices.

We booked a "Mediteranean Villa" and think one should better choose the little bungalows, because the last night we had a nerve-wrecking couple on the other side of the wall. (On this quiet and peaceful place they knew nothing better to do, then watching dvd's pretty loud.)

You just shouldn't be to afraid of cold showers and animals. I nearly stepped on a frog, saw a few spiders and a hundred of gekkos (of which you should be glad, they eat at least some of the mosquitos) and (the only thing bad) killed two cockroaches in 4 days in the bathroom and saw much more outside the bungalow.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This resort is brilliant. There are a variety of rooms so you can choose the standard of accommodation that suits you. We stayed in the cheapest rooms and they were fantastic. Lovely view, great service, right on the beach, 2 restaurants, a bar, water activities at your door step, transport to and from the ferry. Staff were great, particularly receptionist and dive instructor. We would definitely go back here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

wow! what an awesome place! i was originally booked in for 4 nights and ended up staying for 11... if that gives you a bit of an idea. Rooms are simple but clean.you are about 15 mins by 4wd from town its easy to get to and from day or night.Its great beach is not at all crowded with some fantastic snorkling to be had. what really made my stay was the staff... stand out favs were Yui from reception who even took me for lunch and showed me around town and Onn on from the bar... all staff were spot on though.Cant wait to return in fact ive already booked in for my next stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grom_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Coral View Resort for 7 days and we honestly wished we could have stayed longer. The staff, especially ON and DAENG were amazing, friendly and couldn't do enough to make your stay the more special (especially the dried watermelon seeds - Ask DAENG).
If you are looking for pure luxury then you have come to the wrong resort. What you will get for your money is a rather decent room, large bed, great service, excellent food, and some of the best dive sites on offer in Thailand. If diving is not your thing, then there is excellent coral just a very short swim out from the beach or you could get up early and snorkel with some friendly black tip sharks. I couldn't recommend this place enough, great for relaxation, excellent views, complementary pick up from the pier etc...... We will definitely be returning to the Coral View Resort!!!! and have already recommended it to our friends. See you guys next year.....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKH2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Coral view was definitely our most favourite place throughout the whole of Thailand.the food was amazing good. It was really well priced, and also lovely and quiet and friendly. The staff were the loveliest people ! The manager was lovely, and so were the girls who worked there who took us out and were so much fun! I don't know about some of the bad reviews here, but I can certainly say that it exceeded all our expectations. A truly lovely place.
The only downside might be how far it is from Sairee, but to be honest, I loved how private the Coral Bay was. The views were absolutely breathtaking. It's also not really that far and there are taxi's leaving from the hotel which are reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howidere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#71 of 153 in Koh Tao
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#8 of 79 in Koh Tao
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
PD Resort
PD Resort
#24 of 79 in Koh Tao
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taatoh Seaview Resort
Taatoh Seaview Resort
#28 of 79 in Koh Tao
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral View Resort Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral View Resort Thailand

Address: Haad Sai Daeng, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £34 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral View Resort Thailand 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Coral View Resort Thailand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral View Resort Thailand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing