We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral View Resort Thailand
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$27
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
94
67
51
28
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
67
51
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshark islandexotic fishquiet beachbeach barno air conbeautiful baydive shopbeach frontrent a scooterpad thaibahtpierhutdivingparadisehammocksko
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed in an island hut, which was set up into the hillside, with a private balcony overlooking the resort and water (hut # 9)! For 700 baht, it was perfect! The bed was comfy, the fan was more than enough, and the bathroom was clean!

The resort itself, is set into a private cove, with aqua blue water, and tons of exotic fish to swim with! You can rent a snorkel from the front desk for 80 baht a day. The resort is immaculately taken care of, with gorgeous flowers, plants, trees, and clean pathways! The restraurant and bar have everything you could possibly want to eat or drink, and the service is wonderful! I never met an employee who wasn't smiling and welcoming! I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you're looking for a stunning place to stay, away from the mass tourists!

I accidently left my electronic razor in the room, and came back the next day, and they went up to the room and found it! They even gave me a free cup of coffee while I waited for them to check to see if it was still there.

As a side note: I would NOT recommend trying to get here by scooter! There are REALLY steep dirt hills that unless you were using a manual scooter, would be EXTREMELY dangerous! Just book in advance and take the free hotel taxi from the port ! Otherwise, you'll end up paying 500 baht to get there! I'm telling you, the trek over the mountain is intense, even for the taxi trucks!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

..certainly if you like the more quiet places that have charm and have great value. I'll bet Koh Tao has plenty of nice places to stay, but this one is certainly worth it. I stayed in the cheapest cabin (700 baht), simple, pretty clean, excellent views, charm..what else do you need?? Free pickup from the pier, if you want to get back to the pier you have to pay a small amount (i think it was 100 baht).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovered79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Great location with very friendly staff always ready to help. Food was very good with a great selection of Thai and European. Rooms were a bit basic BUT very good value compared with the alternatives. Private beach (cleaned every morning) with coral sands.
Coral View Dive Centre can only be classed as 5 star. Very small groups (sometimes only me) with professional boat crew and Instructors/Divemasters. Very isolated and peaseful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We booked a six night stay at The Coral View resort based on great Trip Advisor reviews… unfortunately, we made the mistake of booking the top end rooms which made our stay feel like a waste of money.

It seems like this place is a great bargain if you manage to snag one of the cheap bungalows, but otherwise, save your money and stay somewhere else.

We ended up paying 1200 baht (about 40 $USD) for a poorly furnished fan room with no privacy; we could hear every whisper and nighttime sound coming from our neighbours because with no AC, we had to leave the windows open; our supposed second story ocean view was blocked by a massive plant and at every possible angle the management appeared to be cutting corners. Having already spent a month in Thailand and very used to the Thai hotel/bungalow standards, we have the following complaints about this place include:

- no amenities to justify the increased cost of the upper level rooms
- no A/C and noisy old fans
- no beach towels provided
- no hot water (which is only common in Thailand for rooms costing under 400 baht)
- no breakfast included, and breakfast in this secluded resort had poor service (we had to write our order down on the waiters pad) and was overpriced
- resort activities such as snorkeling and kayaking were all rather expensive rentals. No activities are included in room price.
- free wireless internet was spotty at best and using their machines at 3 baht/min is very expensive for the area
- they only make up rooms and deliver fresh water every 2 days. We had to buy drinking water for the second day of our stay. The only place this has every happened, and we stay at lots of places that cost $20 USD per night or less.
- while the transfer to the hotel is free, it will cost you at least 100 baht per person to leave the hotel, which you probably will do very quickly (we left after two nights, instead of the 6 we originally booked).
- small little ants and flies are everywhere, even in the rooms and restaurant.
- the beach is full of coral, so if you don't get one of the few lounge chairs in the morning (which are pretty nasty considering they don't provide any beach towels), there is nowhere to spend time comfortably on the beach.

This place is at a great but extremely secluded location. If you do stay here, check out the restaurant at the neighbouring resort for breakfasts. Going into town is very expensive. At half the price, we probably would have been happy… but what was supposed to be a little treat ended up being a big disappointment.

Stick with the cheap rooms or go somewhere else!
Cheers

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed in the cheapest bungalow (700 baht) and we were quite happy about it because it was much nicer and rustic than the 'villas' which I thought were a bit run-down. No aircon but the fan was sufficient. When we arrived after 15min bumping ride I thought: what a beautiful spot. It is truly secluded and private, the beach is nice and also the restaurant was good. However we preferred the New Heaven restaurant a bit further up the beach.
Rides to town cost but I disliked the party atmosphere in Mae Hat anyway. But if your up to party, Coral View is quite off.
There is only little to do except snorkeling, walking is almost impossible because the streets are incredibly steep - good for some workout
All in all a very nice relaxing stay, be prepared that some Germans put their towels on the benches at the beach at 7am and get back to sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankyFrankson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews