We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, clean and away from the masses” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral View Resort Thailand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coral View Resort Thailand
Ranked #47 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple, clean and away from the masses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Stayed in one of the huts, basic i.e. bed, fan, mosqito net, WC, cold shower (but seriously how important is hot water in this climate). Of course there was the occasional small geckko or spider in the room - but that is normal if you are staying in a simple hut in the midst of nature. Same goes for the fact that whilst its a very quiet resort i.e. no wild parties or loud music nature i.e. crickets and gekkos can be a real noise disturbance (ear pluggs for light sleepers wouldnt be a bad idea)

Resort is well kept, simple but clean and has all you need. Friendly and efficient staff, good restaurant and bar.

I loved the location, a bumpy 15min ride to town, it is remote so if you are into partying this is not your place - if you are looking for a lovely, peaceful, secluded bay with few people - coral view is the place to go. Small and friendly diving school - sooo much better than the huge schools serving the masses on Saree beach....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sensasix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    56
    47
    26
    18
See reviews for
28
120
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

This small resort has one of the best beaches in Koh Tao, which makes it worth a visit. We stayed in one of the bungalows which are simple but nice. We then moved to one of the rooms in the only house. Again simple but nice. For Thai standards it is clean, in good shape and worth a recommendation. It is on the other side of the Island and you can only reach it by Taxi or by scooter/quad. Therefore to get to town/other places on the island it will cost you about 100bht with the hotel taxi (2 x day) or 400 bht with island taxi. There are two restaurants, one belonging to the resort which I cannot recommend but the bar on the beach has a great menu, lovely staff, gourgeous view and an interesting mix of CDs! You can go snorkeling on the beach - clear warm water, enormous range of fish and sharks to look at. Scuba diving course available, but these guys are expensive and rude. Better of to go to Mae Haat and find a Padi school there. All in all worth a visit should you want a quiet week away!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kruse1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Coral View is located in an ideal spot - right on the beach! We stayed in one of the island huts for 700 baht a night. This is a great place if you enjoy "roughing it." The floorboards have spaces in between them, therefore allowing all sorts of critters to crawl up into the room. This is definitely more of a place for backpackers than for the average traveler with a suitcase. The roads to and from the resort are VERY rough, and sandy - NOT good for motorbikes. The resort does not rent motorbikes to its guests, but does offer rides into town every morning and afternoon for 100 baht per person (no return trip offered). The resort's beach is not very large at all, and there is no sand - only pieces of coral and shell, which makes it a bit painful to walk on barefoot. The water, however, is phenomenal! I would recommend this to the average backpacker or flashpacker, who can tolerate sleeping with a mosquito net, no AC, no hot water, and a bevy of critters sharing your accommodations with you on a nightly basis. However, if you are looking for something a little more posh, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rihilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Haad Sai Daeng is a small, quiet and beautiful beach with only two resorts, Coral View and New Heaven. Coral View has some very nice 700 THB wooden bungalows on the hillside - fan, western bathroom and sea view included. They are cleaned every two days. Most of the staff is friendly, especially at the beach bar. The food at the upstairs restaurant is not very impressive - a bit boring, actually. It is perhaps a little better at New Heaven, but here the service is soooooooo slow.

Not much sand to be found at the coral beach, but all sorts of fishes just a few meters off the shore. And if you swim out a little further wearing your snorkeling gear, you will be able to see blacktip reef sharks. Amazing. If you like snorkeling, this is the place for you. For a bit of exploring of the nearby Shark Island and neighbouring beaches, consider renting a kayak (150 THB/hour).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikBendix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

I stayed in an island hut, which was set up into the hillside, with a private balcony overlooking the resort and water (hut # 9)! For 700 baht, it was perfect! The bed was comfy, the fan was more than enough, and the bathroom was clean!

The resort itself, is set into a private cove, with aqua blue water, and tons of exotic fish to swim with! You can rent a snorkel from the front desk for 80 baht a day. The resort is immaculately taken care of, with gorgeous flowers, plants, trees, and clean pathways! The restraurant and bar have everything you could possibly want to eat or drink, and the service is wonderful! I never met an employee who wasn't smiling and welcoming! I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you're looking for a stunning place to stay, away from the mass tourists!

I accidently left my electronic razor in the room, and came back the next day, and they went up to the room and found it! They even gave me a free cup of coffee while I waited for them to check to see if it was still there.

As a side note: I would NOT recommend trying to get here by scooter! There are REALLY steep dirt hills that unless you were using a manual scooter, would be EXTREMELY dangerous! Just book in advance and take the free hotel taxi from the port ! Otherwise, you'll end up paying 500 baht to get there! I'm telling you, the trek over the mountain is intense, even for the taxi trucks!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

..certainly if you like the more quiet places that have charm and have great value. I'll bet Koh Tao has plenty of nice places to stay, but this one is certainly worth it. I stayed in the cheapest cabin (700 baht), simple, pretty clean, excellent views, charm..what else do you need?? Free pickup from the pier, if you want to get back to the pier you have to pay a small amount (i think it was 100 baht).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovered79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Great location with very friendly staff always ready to help. Food was very good with a great selection of Thai and European. Rooms were a bit basic BUT very good value compared with the alternatives. Private beach (cleaned every morning) with coral sands.
Coral View Dive Centre can only be classed as 5 star. Very small groups (sometimes only me) with professional boat crew and Instructors/Divemasters. Very isolated and peaseful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sai Daeng Resort
Sai Daeng Resort
#13 of 73 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Baan Talay Koh Tao
#45 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taatoh Seaview Resort
Taatoh Seaview Resort
#26 of 73 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral View Resort Thailand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral View Resort Thailand

Property: Coral View Resort Thailand
Address: Haad Sai Daeng, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 135 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Coral View Resort Thailand 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral View Resort Thailand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral View Resort Thailand Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing