We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Zen Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Buncha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dusit Buncha Resort
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
penang
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Zen Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

The resort is placed at the end of the hilly site of Sairee beach. This is the last resort found there. To walk from the pier, it takes about 1 hour plus. The pickup will be waiting at the pier once you inform them of your arrival schedule.

The staffs at the receptionist were very welcoming and accomodating to our needs. They gave us a free upgrade to the junior suite from superior room, nearer to the beach and less walking distance to the restaurant, because my wife was pregnant.

The rooms were fantastic, huge, clean, open shower and most importantly quiet and creates a zen mood. The sunset can be seen directly from the balcony, which is also facing the Nang Yuan islands.

The restaurant was reasonably priced and acceptable taste. They also have room service.

The pool - facing the sunset and the twin islands, a site to behold during sunset.

They is no need of gym as the cardio workout is done after circling the hotel up and down hill twice..;)

They have complimentary taxi service to Sairee 3 times a day.

Overall, an excellent resort. I would normally give an 8/10, but owing to the hospitality of the crew, i give a 9/10.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drnara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Hi There,

We at Dusit Buncha Resort just wanted to say a big thank you for your review of our complex. We are overjoyed that you were treated so well and the services provided to you here were to your satisfaction.

We would love to see you and your family here again.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    92
    58
    39
    38
See reviews for
40
165
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

First time I stayed at this resort on January 2012, everything was perfect both of staffs and services. Worth to pay and stayed at that period. I came back again and stayed for 8 days. Same place but totally different both of service and quality. Foods taste was sucks!! Staffs at restaurant can't communicate well cuz they are from Myanmar. I am very disappointed about the safety and security of this resort. I booked Paradise Seaside Villa, this room is a private room with the large space in front of the room but there were another guests (in house and outside guests) walked pass my room. No one can handle this situation. I had to call to the reception about this issue but still happened again and again everyday. I called to Hotel Manager who tried so hard to fix the problem but not working at all!!! One day I took a nap in the afternoon when I woke up I found a stranger guy sat in front of my room and turn his face to the sea. I was shocked and called to reception right away. She said she will send someone to look after but no one shown up after 15 minutes passed till that guy walk away by himself. I will not tell anyone to stay at this resort at all and here is worst ever!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GNT36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Hi Alisa

I'm so sorry you encountered problems on your second stay with us here a Dusit Buncha Resort, we would like you to know we have recently employed English speaking staff in order to solve any issues our guests may have. We apologies for the issues you were having with people walking past your room and access to the property is now under review.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We rented a honey moon suite and it was worth the $$$. The sunsets were unbelievable, the room itself was incorporated into a rock... A multimillion dollar architects would dream of building something similar.

The service was attentive and even sent us a hand made scarf that we forgot. All the way to Europe. For free, also including a nice picture frame.

Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, especially during a low season
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hi Denis

Thank you so much for your positive review of our resort, we were glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Dusit Buncha and we hope to see you again soon!

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is an amazing place, deep in the forest! Rooms are not rooms but indipendent houses, with full comfort optionts: bathrooms, terrace, air con, tv, frigerator,etc...
View is one of the best of Thailand, in front of the island of Nang Youang,
the pity is the noise of the boats traffic in front of it!
staff is kind and very available... breakfast is poor but is ok, restaurant is nothing special and usually few people eat there.
If you reserve there be carefull to ask rooms close to the reception, because the other rooms are very far up in the hill and it's very difficult to walk up and down on the "slope". Beach isn't a beach but some sand on a concreate platform... pool is very nice and with great view! To spend a holiday here you have to be very nature lovers, because it's in the forest and is fool of ants, squids and other animals... that sometimes visit your room, but for me was not a problem!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skyros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Good: amazing view over the sea and out to the island. When we got there and found that we had been put in a villa right up the (very steep) mountain, we explained that one of our party had problems with his lungs and so were given a free upgrade to a junior suite, which was closer to the reception. They have a free shuttle into Sairee (10 mins) three times a day, which is handy, although there is no return shuttle service. Overall, the rooms were spacious and the views really lovely.

Bad: The breakfast was thoroughly uninspiring, the worst we've had anywhere in Thailand yet. UHT milk, fake orange juice (complete with fake fleshy bits), overly sweet bread, sweet omelettes, and a fruit selection comprising under-ripe rock melon, watermelon and pineapple if you were lucky (the plate only ever lasted 10 minutes and then there would be a 20 minute wait to have it topped up). 3 out of 4 in our group didn't bother with breakfast on our last morning, preferring to go hungry rather than eat such mediocre fare. In addition, the service (apart from the lovely and helpful reception staff) was uneven. When we asked for a corkscrew on our last night to open a bottle of wine in our room, we were told that this would cost 300 baht for them to open the bottle, which seems excessive. The restaurant food in general was pricey, which one would expect in a resort like this, but its quality was poor and the food was brought out at wildly varying times (the night we ate there for dinner my father received his crab 30mins after the rest of us received our meals). Finally, just a note for families and others who might like to use the 'sandy beach' advertised in signs around the resort - it has been washed away, so the only bathing options involve climbing down a rickety ladder or jumping off rocks into the sea, or onto the sand (about 1m below concrete steps) where the beach used to be. We managed it fine, but it might be tricky for small children or those who are less mobile, and frustrating for those who would like to lie on a beach.

This resort has the potential to be quite fantastic - if the restaurant put more effort into making tasty food and sorted out its breakfast menu, and the hotel management sorted out their signage etc, many of the small problems which frustrated our stay would be resolved. As it is, however, I don't think we'd bother going back to Dusit Buncha - the breakfast alone would keep me away!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We booked a Seaside Villa although we were not quite seaside, only 4 villas are seaside so you need to insist on seaside when booking ask them if there are villas in front of you. They regard 12 villas as seaside. These are tiered up the hillside, we finished up with the 2nd tier which looks over the front seaside villas. We were not detered however as we did get an excellent deal off season.
Pros:
1) Very unique and the rooms are well appointed and spacious. All furniture is very rustic and constructed cleverly with tree branches, the rooms are also very private;
2) Excellent views looking out to the smaller islands off the coast;
3) The location is at the extreme end of the road (Northern End) of Sairee Beach. If you want isolation this is one of the most isolated. So no traffic or rauchous party go-ers although you need to be aware that travel on the island is an issue, if you rely on taxi service to town expect to pay a minimum of 200 baht (in low season) each way but once known you are at Dusit Bancha the drivers will push you for more. Even the nearest basic shop is a taxi ride away.
4) The pool area is lovely although if the resort is full you may be fighting to get into it.
5) The Restaurant is well positioned with a wonderful view although lighting may be a little difficult if you rely on it to see the menu with poor eyesight like me!
6) The resort is on a steep hill so its good cardio-vascular exercise moving around. If you have bad legs or any mobility issues....this is not the place for you.
The Cons:
7)The musical entertainment is a little irritating I found. An asian guy destroying your favorite nostalgic songs completely off key and using a childs casio organ like instrument with beats that just dont cut it. Nice Guy and will anounce your arrival and departure with a delightful smile and best wishes. Reminded me of the eighties dinner dance environment although I seem to recall these mostly Filipino artists were infact quite talented.
8) The food was up and down, we ordered 4 Thai dishes to share and two were wonderful and two were really less than ordinary. After that we investigated restaurants back in town (if you want a good tip, go to Paprika in Mea Haad they did one of the best Duck dishes I ever tasted). Breakfast was a little disappointing compared to other Resort/ Hotels of this ilk. While we were there the restaurant was continually apoligising for errors made by his in-experienced staff. Simply saying they are 'all in training'. This of course was inconsequential as the buffet was mere and the coffee I saw being prepared in 'dripalator' jugs using instant coffee from a 2kg can. We drank tea! Give the grill a miss and settle for continental.
9) In May it can be quite warm and the airconditioner in room was simply too small for the space which I have to say seems ubiqitous throughout most hotel rooms in Thailand! Either they dont want to spend the extra getting a correctly sized air con or their refrigeration mechanics failed trade school. Since you disconect all power when you leave the room you can expect to come back to room that is quite steamy and will take a good hour to get down to temp( It never did get to ideal). Ours ran constantly leaving the doors unlocked when we went out which is a little risky but we put anything of value in the room safe.
10) Transport: Well i mentioned the cab fares earlier so you need to hire a scooter or atv if you want to get around. This is the case everywhere of course although if you suffer from caged animal syndrome you need to learn to ride fast! A dont think a pushbike will do it as the roads are more akin to La Tour mountain stages than sprints! By the way if you choose to ride in Koh Tao 20 is plenty (kilometres per hour that is). We choose two scooters which my partner never quite forgive me for the experience. But hey you have to push them sometimes dont you.
11) The shower/ bathtub is in a heart shape which looks great, but when you want to shower its actually quite awkward as you need to straddle the apex of the heart.

So the Summary:

If you want to get away and read books with a swim during the day this may just be the place for you. It is very romantic so if its each other you want to get into this is also the ideal location.

If you need to get out you may like to investigate accomodation closer to Mae Haad or Sairee Beach. Of course if you dont mind the cost of transport this will not be an issue. May pay to book a cab by phone with reception 30 mins in advance so your not waiting around. Returning will never be a problem just ask a driver for price to north sairee beach before you tell them were your staying.

Or book here for a couple of private days then book somewhere nearer to the action for the other days.

Room Tip: There is only four suites (of 12 suites called 'seaside suites') that are actually seaside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had a perfect stay here, the staff were all very helpful and attentive. The whole resort was spotlessly clean and well run. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the views were amazing. There is a little private sandy beach with crystal clear water. I can't think of anything negative to say about this resort, we will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Room 109 has amazing views and is right on the private beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hi Jemma

Thank you so much for your review of our resort, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Dusit Buncha, and would love to welcome you back here any time.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Buncha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Buncha Resort

Property: Dusit Buncha Resort
Address: 31/3 Moo 1, Sairee Rd, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Buncha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully laid out resort makes us the ideal choice for both couples and families. We have a wide variety of accommodation to suit all needs and budgets. Dusit Buncha Resort is the only Resort on Koh Tao that uses a solar cell system for almost all of the bungalows to save electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your Dusit Buncha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Buncha Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing