We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
CheapTickets
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
158
142
115
79
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
158
142
115
79
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews egg station town centre fire show sairee village island pier nee hillside
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The resort is a way away from the main beach. There is no beach there however for most of the year. Scooter rentals in Koh Tao are a tricky business as many try to rip you off, so being far away is not ideal. The resort rooms were nice but up a really steep hill. The service however was appalling, not one single person spoke english of any sort, making it difficult.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drag_Kuruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hi there

Thank you for your feedback - we do really appreciate it as it helps us to improve and provide a better service to our guests.

We have reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue you mention above.

I am happy to confirm that we now provide a free shuttle service to Sairee beach. We have also employed a number of English speaking staff to work at Front of House and in the Restaurant to eliminate any issues that may occur.

We do hope you visit Dusit Buncha again

Kindest regards

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

The gems are the view from the pool area over the sea and Koh Nang Yuan beach and from your house if you are lucky. The sensation of living in a jungle with noises and company (we came to enjoy the 3-4 gekko's in our villa as they eat the ants, although they do make noises at night). And lastly, the ability to snorkel from the resort area.

The finish of the place is concretish and although only 3 years old, it's generally worn from residing in a jungle.
You will feel a bit isolated and it's not the easiest way around if you are after an active holiday. On the other hand Sairee Beach seems pretty struck by main stream turism and there's even a party castle; what a shame. At Dusit you won't notice this at all.
The service is average; we though had a bad experience with booking.com, booking a day in advance and getting a confirmation wasn't enough; the resort wrote us the next morning that they unfortunately didn't have room for us the first night anyways....

We enjoyed the food, although not spectacular and slightly resort priced.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hi There,

Thank you for your review, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (and the geckos). We are sorry about the confusion with booking.com and hope you accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to see you again here at Dusit for some snorkeling and sunset views.

Many Thanks
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We are happy with our choice. Two days before arrival, we wrote email to them for arranging transfer and that’s for free. Once we arrived at the pier ,we couldn’t find them so needed to call and they provide the transfer after 15 minutes. It took about 10 minutes from the pier to the hotel. Our tireness gone after seeing such a stunning view of Ko Nang Yuan ( opposite island ) view with very blue ocean and clear sky. We booked for Superior Villa 5 nights and got upgraded to Deluxe Villa which is quite near to lobby area. The room is quite big enough with thai style decoration. The food is ok with reasonable price. Staff are friendly. Highlight is the snorkel spot just in front of the hotel with plently of fish

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjeet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Hi Ranjeet

Just wanted to say thank you for your review of our resort, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your room and the services provided to you. We would love to see you again in the future for some more snorkeling and hillside sunsets!

Many Thanks
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Hotel property is very beautiful and spread across area. Reaching to this place is a challenge. Hotel is located at extreme north-west of the island. However easy it looks on the map, approach is tiresome - there is a steep (60 degrees angle) long walk from gate to the reception which does not end there. To reach your room from reception is another TASK! All this is even tougher when you are stepping out of the hotel as now you face a steep climb that exhaust you enough to not be able to go around the island. Taxi service provided by hotel is at fixed hours with no flexibility at all. There is no public transport and even if you hire a bike or car the road that leads to hotel is pitch dark at night for over 2 kilometers. Rooms are big and bathrooms are as big as room with no bath tub. We felt they have wasted space to give this a rustic look.

Breakfast was very limited and sausages had house fly. Butter served was past due expiry date (expiry date 6/Nov and we were at restaurant on 19/Nov) and when inquired we were instead advised that it is still good till end of year. Iam adding a picture as proof (funny). Restaurant is officially open till 10PM. When we went to the restaurant at 9PM, we were told that it is shut as chef and staff had left for the day. At 11PM we called reception asking for tea bags (missing in-room pantry), there was no one available to understand what Tea Bags are and apparently there was no one except a guard at reception who did not understand english.

The reason why we choose this hotel was due to proximity to Nangyuan Island. Hotel website also gives "mis-leading" information about availability of Kayak from hotel to Nangyuan. They DO NOT have any kayaking facility. When inquired about Kayak, were advised to rent one from Sairee beach (3-5 kilometers far).

This place is absolutely not for honeymooners, people suffering from any heart, asthama, or any other physical ailments. This is also not handicap friendly hotel. Not advisable for old people and with children. Not at all value for price of THB3000 for a night. There are much better places at Sairee Beach with same price.

Room tip: Please stay close to reception if at all you choose to stay in this hotel
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drifterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were imediately blown away by the beutiful surroundings. That evening we ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was ok, the major letdown being a Thai Elvisimpersonator singing covers very badly... Which was fun for half an hour the first day, not the rest of the meals for the entire stay.
The staff was almost unable to communicate in english, and things that were decided upon like taxis etc were forgotten.
Even nature itself were against us as nightly a choir of extremely loud frogs were making it impossible to sleep for more than a couple of hours... This might be seasonal though.

Overall beutiful hotell very secluded that ultimately was not worth the cost.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nissehellstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Hi There,

Thank you for your review of our resort, we really appreciate all your comments as this will help us improve on our current services. All your comments have been fed back to our resort manager and we would like to let you know that we have recently employed more English speaking staff to aide with bookings and services.

We hope you will visit us again in order for us to show you the improvements we have made to our resort.
Many Thanks
Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews