We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected - pictures are deceiving !! Not a very pleasant experience for the price we payed !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dusit Buncha Resort
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected - pictures are deceiving !! Not a very pleasant experience for the price we payed !!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

This resort is not what the pictures present it to be - the place is dirty and everything is busy falling apart and one can clearly see their is no maintenace done regulary. In addition the managing hand envolved seems to be missing - staff not trained properly - and the entire feeling of beieng welcomed is not what you will get here . I generally don't like to critisize , however this place realy doesn't meet up with what they charge - should have known this from the 3 star rating - hope this review can save the next person from going - !!
The other side of the Island is awesome !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntouchNam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi there

We are very sorry that your stay at Dusit Buncha Resort was not satisfactory.

We have reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue you mention above. In addition, we are re-evaluating our inspection processes to ensure these type of issues do not occur in the future.

I am happy to let you know we do now have a maintenance employee on site to help speed up rectification of any problems as well as a number of new staff to welcome you to the resort.

Again, we are terribly sorry that your first experience with Dusit Buncha was not a good one and we do hope you visit us again.

Thank you for your feedback - we do really appreciate it as it helps us to improve and provide a better service to our guests.

Kindest regards

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    97
    62
    39
    42
See reviews for
41
174
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Maybe its because I was on my honeymoon when I stayed here but I have travelled all over SE Asia.
This was just so quiet peaceful and relaxing, we saw 3 types of room and opted for the detached villa on the seafront. What a view of the Nangyuan Island from anywhere in the room, with our own private beach. The room had everything but you wouldn't find these views anywhere. Bathroom was very big and contained everything you would ever need. Yes its 10 mins drive from the town centre but well worth it. We didn't need the pool we had our own pool on an enormous balcony with our own sun beds and dining area. It beats everywhere else i have stayed in Thailand by a mile. This luxury was at a very affordable rack rate of @6000 baht / night.
I had the time of my life with my new wife and many thanks to the staff for making it such an enjoyable memorable stay, the manager Tony could not have been more polite or helpful !

Room Tip: The beach front was our choice and yes you could hear the boats in the morning which is why many cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkkmegabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi there

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had one of the bungalows on the hill, every time we needed to walk to the pool we need to walk down the hill and stairs, then afterwards back up the hill. My wife and I are quite fit healthy people, so we didn't really mind. Unfit or older people might not appreciate the steep walk, especially if they get a cottage high up the hill.

The rooms were exquisite, we enjoyed the luxury, the bathroom was amazing and we generally had an amazing stay in these rooms. Our bungalow on the hill had a deck in front with deck chairs, what a great idea! We had some friends visit us, when they visited we sat on the deck having drinks.

The pool had a clear view of Nang Yuan island, we watched some great sunsets from inside the pool. The restaurant was also worth a try for any meal, an enjoyable breakfast buffet was included with your meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank feedmymedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Hi There,
Thanks so much for your positive review of our resort, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to hear you were so happy with your room, location and food and would love to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We visited this hotel whilst in Koh Tao Thursday luchtime 17-01-13 with a view to staying here, so we walked in the reception to which we were hardly greeted ,oh not a good start, so we walked down to the Restaurant which had a great Sea front location we thought ok lets see what this is like?
We sat at our table for nearly 20 mins trying to catch one of the 3 waiters attention who were chatting with each other
we were the only people sat there so we were starting to get frustrated.
After a further 10 mins we got up and walked out i voiced my opinion to the waiters who began to laugh at me!!
What a joke of a place!! take my advice give it a miss as there is a great resort next door called the Aminjirah well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adele and Phili... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Hi Adele & Phillip,

I'm so sorry your visit to Dusit Buncha Resort was not satisfactory and would like to let you know that we have recently employeed more front of house staff to greet guests and more restaurant staff in order to make your dining experience more pleasurable. We would love to see you again in the future in order to make up for your previous experience with us.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The resort is a way away from the main beach. There is no beach there however for most of the year. Scooter rentals in Koh Tao are a tricky business as many try to rip you off, so being far away is not ideal. The resort rooms were nice but up a really steep hill. The service however was appalling, not one single person spoke english of any sort, making it difficult.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drag_Kuruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Hi there

Thank you for your feedback - we do really appreciate it as it helps us to improve and provide a better service to our guests.

We have reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue you mention above.

I am happy to confirm that we now provide a free shuttle service to Sairee beach. We have also employed a number of English speaking staff to work at Front of House and in the Restaurant to eliminate any issues that may occur.

We do hope you visit Dusit Buncha again

Kindest regards

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

The gems are the view from the pool area over the sea and Koh Nang Yuan beach and from your house if you are lucky. The sensation of living in a jungle with noises and company (we came to enjoy the 3-4 gekko's in our villa as they eat the ants, although they do make noises at night). And lastly, the ability to snorkel from the resort area.

The finish of the place is concretish and although only 3 years old, it's generally worn from residing in a jungle.
You will feel a bit isolated and it's not the easiest way around if you are after an active holiday. On the other hand Sairee Beach seems pretty struck by main stream turism and there's even a party castle; what a shame. At Dusit you won't notice this at all.
The service is average; we though had a bad experience with booking.com, booking a day in advance and getting a confirmation wasn't enough; the resort wrote us the next morning that they unfortunately didn't have room for us the first night anyways....

We enjoyed the food, although not spectacular and slightly resort priced.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (and the geckos). We are sorry about the confusion with booking.com and hope you accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to see you again here at Dusit for some snorkeling and sunset views.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We are happy with our choice. Two days before arrival, we wrote email to them for arranging transfer and that’s for free. Once we arrived at the pier ,we couldn’t find them so needed to call and they provide the transfer after 15 minutes. It took about 10 minutes from the pier to the hotel. Our tireness gone after seeing such a stunning view of Ko Nang Yuan ( opposite island ) view with very blue ocean and clear sky. We booked for Superior Villa 5 nights and got upgraded to Deluxe Villa which is quite near to lobby area. The room is quite big enough with thai style decoration. The food is ok with reasonable price. Staff are friendly. Highlight is the snorkel spot just in front of the hotel with plently of fish

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjeet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hi Ranjeet

Just wanted to say thank you for your review of our resort, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your room and the services provided to you. We would love to see you again in the future for some more snorkeling and hillside sunsets!

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,218 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
221 reviews
3.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
2.2 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
942 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Buncha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Buncha Resort

Property: Dusit Buncha Resort
Address: 31/3 Moo 1, Sairee Rd, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Buncha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully laid out resort makes us the ideal choice for both couples and families. We have a wide variety of accommodation to suit all needs and budgets. Dusit Buncha Resort is the only Resort on Koh Tao that uses a solar cell system for almost all of the bungalows to save electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Buncha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Buncha Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing