We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst managed hotel in a beautiful location” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Buncha Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dusit Buncha Resort
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The worst managed hotel in a beautiful location”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We checked in to stay for 2 nights. The staff spoke very little English, and after some negotiating we arrived at a price. When they asked for prepayment, they added several charges, claiming they did not know how many people we put in each room. Every day I went to reception, each time finding people loudly complaing about service to the hotel. The restaurant was a place to fill your stomach. No more, no less. It puzzles me that a hotel situated in this beautiful location is not better managed. This is definitely the worst managed hotel I have ever stayed in, after 25 years of traveling.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    92
    58
    39
    38
See reviews for
40
165
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

It's at the end of the northwestern road, and it's worth visiting just for the nice coastal view alone.
We stayed for cocktails and the staff was very friendly, the bartender was especially nice and took the time to tell us about the cocktails that were unique to this place, one of which he had created himself. The decor was interesting. The menu looked very good but we had just eaten.
I would certainly consider staying here if we return to Koh Tao.

I can recommend trying the cocktail named Dusit Buncha Dreamer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 813 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were apprehensive about the resort when we read about the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. As my wife and I were traveling with friends, we kept to the itinerary. And were we glad we did!

The resort is located at the end of the road in the remote north-western corner of Koh Tao and overlooking Koh Nangyuan. Designed in a rustic style with lots of wood, it is built around huge boulders and over steep slopes. The resort is an exercise to walk around and certainly, does not need a gym at all! As we were staying in a deluxe sunset villa at the water's edge, it was a short walk (although steep each way) up and down from our villa to the restaurant and adjoining pool. We counted a climb of 69 steps from our villa uphill to the walkway's branch before we walked downhill to the restaurant.

The sunset villa is one of two in the resort. It has 2 outdoor private terraces, with a dining table for 2 and a sun lounger in one, and 2 sun loungers in the other. The air-conditioned bedroom is small but guests are supposed to enjoy the outdoors anyway. The non-airconditioned spacious bathroom has a big shower area. The drain pipe of the wash basin was dripping and there wasn't much space to place toiletries.

As we read about reviews on mosquitoes, we brought along mosquito coils and insect repellent. Although there is a small private beach just in front of both sunset villas, it was rocky and the steps do not extend all the way down to the beach. So, we gave the private beach a miss which was a disappointment as the clear water and rocks were teeming with fishes. Nonetheless, we enjoyed a comfortable stay in our sunset villa.

At the restaurant, the breakfast and other meals were good. Portions were sizable and prices were reasonable. We had all our meals in the resort. Service staff was friendly. Obviously, the resort's owners and management staff had made it a point to improve on previous negative reviews. Throughout our stay, we saw the elderly Thai owners, whether dining in the restaurant or checking the private jetty or doing their inspection rounds. We were pleasantly surprised with their fitness level as they hardly struggled with the steep climbs while we had to catch our breaths.

We did not explore Koh Tao even though we read about the few attractions on the island. There was enough to occupy us at the resort. In the resort grounds, the constant sound of crickets throughout the daytime was a most pleasant reminder of nature. In the evenings, the sunset behind Koh Nangyuan offered a fantastic night show. We had a good and enjoyable rest.

Room Tip: The 2 sunset villas and the larger paradise seaside villa enjoy direct seafront and unobstructed sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeffLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Achern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Try it !!! A great place on earth with very good food. We will come back. Nice location ... nice staff .... nice pool ... very nice view over the sea. Lovely and huge rooms. If you want to relax is Dusit the perfect place.
Ko Tao is always a great trip ...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Hello

Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review us, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at Dusit Buncha and we hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

This resort is not what the pictures present it to be - the place is dirty and everything is busy falling apart and one can clearly see their is no maintenace done regulary. In addition the managing hand envolved seems to be missing - staff not trained properly - and the entire feeling of beieng welcomed is not what you will get here . I generally don't like to critisize , however this place realy doesn't meet up with what they charge - should have known this from the 3 star rating - hope this review can save the next person from going - !!
The other side of the Island is awesome !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntouchNam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi there

We are very sorry that your stay at Dusit Buncha Resort was not satisfactory.

We have reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue you mention above. In addition, we are re-evaluating our inspection processes to ensure these type of issues do not occur in the future.

I am happy to let you know we do now have a maintenance employee on site to help speed up rectification of any problems as well as a number of new staff to welcome you to the resort.

Again, we are terribly sorry that your first experience with Dusit Buncha was not a good one and we do hope you visit us again.

Thank you for your feedback - we do really appreciate it as it helps us to improve and provide a better service to our guests.

Kindest regards

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Maybe its because I was on my honeymoon when I stayed here but I have travelled all over SE Asia.
This was just so quiet peaceful and relaxing, we saw 3 types of room and opted for the detached villa on the seafront. What a view of the Nangyuan Island from anywhere in the room, with our own private beach. The room had everything but you wouldn't find these views anywhere. Bathroom was very big and contained everything you would ever need. Yes its 10 mins drive from the town centre but well worth it. We didn't need the pool we had our own pool on an enormous balcony with our own sun beds and dining area. It beats everywhere else i have stayed in Thailand by a mile. This luxury was at a very affordable rack rate of @6000 baht / night.
I had the time of my life with my new wife and many thanks to the staff for making it such an enjoyable memorable stay, the manager Tony could not have been more polite or helpful !

Room Tip: The beach front was our choice and yes you could hear the boats in the morning which is why many cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bkkmegabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hi there

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We had one of the bungalows on the hill, every time we needed to walk to the pool we need to walk down the hill and stairs, then afterwards back up the hill. My wife and I are quite fit healthy people, so we didn't really mind. Unfit or older people might not appreciate the steep walk, especially if they get a cottage high up the hill.

The rooms were exquisite, we enjoyed the luxury, the bathroom was amazing and we generally had an amazing stay in these rooms. Our bungalow on the hill had a deck in front with deck chairs, what a great idea! We had some friends visit us, when they visited we sat on the deck having drinks.

The pool had a clear view of Nang Yuan island, we watched some great sunsets from inside the pool. The restaurant was also worth a try for any meal, an enjoyable breakfast buffet was included with your meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank feedmymedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Hi There,
Thanks so much for your positive review of our resort, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to hear you were so happy with your room, location and food and would love to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Buncha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Buncha Resort

Property: Dusit Buncha Resort
Address: 31/3 Moo 1, Sairee Rd, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Buncha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully laid out resort makes us the ideal choice for both couples and families. We have a wide variety of accommodation to suit all needs and budgets. Dusit Buncha Resort is the only Resort on Koh Tao that uses a solar cell system for almost all of the bungalows to save electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Dusit Buncha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Buncha Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing