We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, 5 Star”
Review of The Rocks Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rocks Villas
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fabulous, 5 Star”
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

Wow, we were so happy we chose the Rocks Luxury Villas for our romantic holiday on Koh Tao. The scenery is breathtaking and our villa was prepared perfectly. It was so peaceful and private and the view from the infinity pool took my breath away. The villa felt very spacious and Janine was always available to organise activities and help with great dinner recommendations. Breakfast was served on the balcony daily at any time which was fantastic. We highly recommend the Rocks and hope to return next year.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Hi M & J,

Thank you very much for your great review! We are very happy you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and of course will be looking forward to your next visit :)

All the best,
R & J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    27
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
44
131
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llangybi, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We spent 3 nights at The Rocks in February,2012. The accommodation was very comfortable and spacious. It was a relief to get away from the madding hordes in the bay below and enjoy real peace and quiet and lovely to meet Janine , the owner who was friendly,charming and welcoming. She also welcomed other members of my family, staying at another resort near the sea. Janine loves people and we spent ages chatting with her about her life, interests etc and in turn told her all about ourselves.
If you want somewhere nice and quiet, this is it. It is a steep hike up from the village, on a road that could do with some improvement. If you are staying for more than a few days, you might consider transport. The distance to the main road is not great, but the heat makes it seem longer. The bungalow was equipped with a microwave, kettle and fridge, so theoretically, you could cater for yourself, though this would involve careful planning. Janine does not live on site or cook,but orders in breakfast, which is delivered. This is interesting and something we have not done before although we have travelled a lot. It did work though and the pineapple juice was delicious.
The bungalow was good, but not as well equipped as we expected for the price paid, compared to other places we have stayed, Janine did ask us for feedback before we left. I suggested a can of air freshner in the bathroom as the window did not open. All in all, though, I would thoroughly recommend it as a beautiful place where you can relax and recharge your batteries, but be warned it is some distance from the sea, if that is what you want.

Room Tip: The two bungalows on the front had the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Hi P & C,

Thank you very much for your great review. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and chat to you! Thank you for your pointers about how to improve our villas, I am always eager to hear how to make people's stays more enjoyable. We now have air freshener in all bathrooms :)

I hope you enjoyed your trip to Laos and got home safely. I would love to welcome you with us again sometime.

Best regards,
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 5 nights at The Rocks and it was exactly what we were after. The villa itself was spacious, immaculately clean and very comfortable (which was needed after a hard days diving). The pool was perfect to relax by and watch the sun set on the horizon. The villas are up a hill, nestled amongst the palm trees facing west so in the evening we were treated to a beautiful display as the sun went down, it was paradise.

Janine, who owns and manages The Rocks was the perfect host. She made sure that we had everything that we needed and on arrival gave us recommendations on everything from restaurants to bike hire.

All in all The Rocks and especially Janine as a host contributed to an extremely memorable time in Koh Tao and we will always recommend it to anyone that finds themselves in that part of the world. Thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GavLeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Hi G & M,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! It was lovely to meet you both.

I hope you had a good journey home to Scotland and hope to welcome you with us again sometime :)

Warmest regards from sunny Koh Tao,
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We spent 4 nights at The Rocks in January 2012 and loved every minute of it. Koh Tao itself is a wonderfully small and relaxed island with beautiful beaches and a very chilled out vibe. As a couple visiting we found it the perfect location for some winter sun. There's plenty to do if you want to and the island is a big attraction for divers. However, if you want to spend your days lazing in beachside bars with a beer, it has plenty of options on that front as well. One of the great things about the island was that none of the big hotel chains have reached it yet, it is more beachside villas and still a haven for backpackers. We found everyone extremely friendly and helpful and would have loved to have explored the other side of the island as well as the jungle in the centre, but just did not have sufficient time.

The Rocks Villas are located about a 15-20 minute taxi ride from the ferry terminal. Taxis are cheap and given the state of the roads on Koh Tao, infinitely preferable to trying to ride one of the many mopeds you see around the place. The road up to the Villas itself is extremely steep. Walking down to the beach from the villa is fine, but up again is tough, even though it only takes 10 minutes. However, given that there is a lovely swimming pool to jump into when you get there, it wasn't too bad a walk! We did tend to use a local taxi driver instead each time we wanted to go down to the Sairee beach or the village.

The owner of The Rocks, Janine, bought the land a few years ago with a vision in mind of what she wanted to create and has done an absolutely amazing job. The location of the villas is stunning, the views are incredible and it is very easy to see why she was so taken with the spot. The villas are really well equipped and decorated beautifully. It was extremely hot when we were there, but the aircon, especially in the bedroom, was extremely welcome. I could have spent hours on the balcony just looking at the view, which was breathtaking, but the addition of a hammock made me never want to leave! The swimming pool at The Rocks is wonderful as well, only shared with the guests in the other two Villas, so never crowded with comfortable sun loungers and again, that view!!

From the outset Janine arranged everything very professionally and was excellent at keeping in touch about requirements. A great touch was the offer of a taxi to and from the hotel and ferry terminal as we wouldn't have known where to start if left to our own devices. The mobile phone, given to all guests and pre-loaded with some credit and useful phone numbers (including a local taxi driver) was unexpected but extremely useful.

As part of the package, Janine and her partner Reuben will prepare breakfast for guests each day on their villa balcony or by the pool at their request. The breakfast menu was extensive and delicious and we availed ourselves of this pretty much every day. Both Janine and Reuben were lovely and helpful and very knowledgeable about the island.

We've already decided we'll go back to Koh Tao again, but try and do it justice next time and go for 2 weeks, when we do we will absolutely stay at The Rocks again - loved everything about it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbaggs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi K & D,

Thank you very much for your elaborate review and the gorgeous pictures!

It's very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course we are very much looking forward to see you on your next visit.

Best wishes from the island,
Janine & Reuben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos
Level Contributor
409 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our villa certainly met & even surpassed our expectations. The accomodation was very spacious & the hammock on the balcony was a nice touch & a very nice way to take in the stunning view. The infinity pool & pool area was a lovely place to relax & again take in the beautiful sea view & sunset. Janine & her colleagues were really helpful during our stay & Aggar, who looked after our villa was a really nice guy, who took his duties very seriously. The villa is only a 5min walk to the beach & only a 20min walk to Scuba Junction, which is in the middle of Sairee Beach, where I did my diving. The choice of breakfast brought to your villa was also excellent. We had a really enjoyable stay & are very glad that we did our homework regarding accomodation on Koh Tao. My only negative comment is that the details on the internet should state that the villa is reached by a very steep hill, which some people may find too arduous, especially in the dark. However if you are fit or hire a scooter or car then the Rocks is the place for you, if you want to be a cut above the rest & have your own piece of paradise for a while.
Barry

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Hi B & K,

Thank you very much for the great review!

It was a real pleasure to meet you both and I wish you all the best for the future.

Best regards,
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at The Rocks Villas for 4 days in December 2011 (2 adults and 3 teenagers) and absolutely LOVED it! It's a great spot, about 5-10 minutes walk from the beach, but with fantastic views and a really serene atmosphere. The owners, Janine and Reuben, could not have been more helpful, they are so friendly and quite rightly proud of what they've created. Providing a mobile phone with pre-programmed numbers made everything easy (I have to admit we cheated and got taxis up to the Villa after dark - lazy - but the taxi guy always arrived within a couple of minutes of us calling him so it was too easy really!). Breakfast was lovely, personally delivered to the Villa by Janine. The pool was lovely too... We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if we go back to Koh Tao, and would recommend this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Hi J,

Thank you so much for this great review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us here, and hope you had a great Christmas and New Year. Please extend our best wishes to the family, it was a pleasure to meet you all.

Warm regards,
Janine & Reuben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed at The Rocks Villas in October 2011. It was perfect! Even though there are only 3 villas on this beautiful property perched up above Siaree Beach, we were so lucky to have the place to ourselves. The couples villa was clean and comfortable and the view looking down to the infinity pool (a swim after the steep walk up the driveway...it only takes 5 minutes!...was bliss). We received a very warm welcome from Janine and nothing was too much trouble to ask her about while we were there. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Koh Tao and we'd come back tomorrow!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineTheRocks, Owner at The Rocks Villas, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear B & J,

Thank you so much for this great review, I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us at The Rocks. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I wish you all the best for the future :) and maybe see you again sometime!

Warm regards,
Janine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
2.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Villas

Property: The Rocks Villas
Address: 15/48 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rocks Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks are boutique residences in southern Thailand offering both privacy and personal service. Surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stunning sea views, our four boutique villas and infinity-edge pool combine a feeling of tranquility and relaxation. Under Swiss and British management the Rocks are proud to be the original boutique villas on Koh Tao. Secluded, but still less than 10 minutes walk from the beach, they are the perfect holiday location for romantic couples, families or groups of friends. The Rocks is also a great location for your honeymoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rocks Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing