We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant secluded gem ”
Review of The Rocks Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rocks Villas
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a brilliant time here. After a complementary pick up from pier and a short drive we met Janine the owner. She is lovely and showed is round our gorgeous villa- number 3. Nice bathroom, air conditioned room, spacious living room and lovely balcony with hammock and amazing views into jungle and sea. They provide you with a local mobile and loads of info about area and things to do. Chloe the general manager took cafe of us and she is really sweet. She brought us a delicious breakfast every morning and was also on hand for any advice .Really lovely infinity pool below and we never saw anyone else round it so it was our own for our stay! The Rocks is In a brilliant location only a short walk to Sairee beach which is lovely and the town, loads of shops, bars, restaurants. Being a couple in our mid 20s it was perfect- close to all the action to have fun but a gorgeous hideaway spot which was v quiet and v romantic. Would definitely return!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hatz182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for The Rocks Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful location, paradise! Far enough away from the main beach that its very peaceful, but still walking distance to all the action. Chloe very helpful and friendly. Wish we could have stayed longer. We hired a scooter which got us around the Island (and up the steep hill without having to walk it!)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah0089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed in one of the luxury villas for a week with a friend!

Amazing view, spacious and luxurious with everything you could ever ask for.
Relaxed and private area with a brand new infinity pool, just wanted to exchange my male friend with a "girlfriend"!!!

This place made me want to move back to koh Tao :)

Thank you for a great stay!!!

Anders

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed for week, breat taking wiev from balcony of hole bay ,amazing sunset. Cool litle pool to chill and and moust confy beds .
Top of that super friendly staff made us feel so realaxed wasnt thinking home once during my stay.

Easy to recommed this place to enyone simple and perfectly cosy ,just what u want on holiday.

Thanks again.
Japa

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannenurmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I booked to stay here over Christmas, As I had been to Thailand before I was I charge of where to stay and accommodation
After hours of hunting I came across this. For the price it was amazing. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the view was incredible. The location was ideal for us, as myself and my 2 sisters are young adults so wanted to be close to sairee beach, but not too close that we could get away to a lovely tranquil and quite place for my parents. Howeve they ended up partying with as every night!
The staff were so accommodating!Nthey were really lovely and the service was great.
Also breakfast was amazing!
We loved that we had the freedom of our own appartment,equipped with living room and kitchen, yet we had hotel facilities like room service and breakfast on out balcony. Also their resident taxi driver was lovely!

This is a perfect place for couples and families of all ages, I would highly recommend and have already to many friends of mine.

The only thing we had an issue with was that we were a family of 5 and the blow up bed was quite small, however staff did everything they could to make it more comfortable. Had their been a fold up bed or futon this would have been much better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Staying at the Rocks is likely to be the highlight of your time in Koh Tao. Chloe and Toni were great hosts and maintain the place to a T. The villa we stayed in came with a nice flatscreen with all the good cable TV channels (this was during the British Open so it was important) in the living room area (with a comfortable deep seated couch) and a mini-kitchen with everything you'd need (toaster, dishes, utensils, fridge). Most appliances were Samsung and appeared relatively new. There is AC in the bedroom but just two fans in the living/kitchen area which was no problem at all. The hammock outside is a great place to relax and having breakfast brought and served in the patio area was fantastic. The breakfast menu will not disappoint and it was extremely convenient to be given a cellphone to text your breakfast choice on the evening before (obviously, you can use it to call for delivery and take advantage of the numbers already programmed in). Provision of separate pool towels was useful. Short (about 10 minute) walk down to Sairee Beach - there is a flashlight provided if you choose to walk back at night, or you can call Mr. Sut for a 200 baht ride back, or just take whatever taxi back for 300-350 baht (they'll get you like that). The pier where you come in from (and where many dive shops are located) is a little further away and not walking distance. Each villa also comes equipped with a pocket wifi thing free of charge. Really absolutely no complaints - although I did find it a little strange that there were full bottles of shampoo and conditioner...but no soap.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyakaFaithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Staying at the Rocks right now after originally booking TreeTop Sanctuary (which was a nightmare when we showed up). The accommodations are first rate five star, the pictures on tripadvisor do it no justice. Chloe is the general manager and has taken perfect care of us since our arrival two nights ago. The air conditioning is perfect (we are from Texas) and the property is immaculate. Each morning your breakfast is made to order and delivered to your bungalow (included in the price) so you can sit on the beautiful patio, enjoy the breeze and beautiful view while you start your day. A local cell is provided and Chloe actually answers when you call with a question or request. The beds are actual beds and are quite comfortable. The wifi works great and there are numerous cable channels should you want to watch tv (which I don't recommend since this place is glorious and you should not waste time in front of the tv). The walk to and from town is not as bad as others have mentioned--I'm 46 and not in super shape and its totally doable, just a little steep. The pool feels like your own private pool and has comfortable lounge chairs and is perfect to cool off after your day and before bed.

If you are thinking of booking and are looking for a truly luxurious and hassle free stay, this is your place!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriceSutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,249 reviews
2.8 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Villas

Address: 15/48 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £82 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rocks Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocks are boutique residences in southern Thailand offering both privacy and personal service. Surrounded by lush tropical jungle and stunning sea views, our four boutique villas and infinity-edge pool combine a feeling of tranquility and relaxation. Under Swiss and British management the Rocks are proud to be the original boutique villas on Koh Tao. Secluded, but still less than 10 minutes walk from the beach, they are the perfect holiday location for romantic couples, families or groups of friends. The Rocks is also a great location for your honeymoon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rocks Luxury Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing