We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awful meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
2 reviews
“awful meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

i ate at their resterant. The potatoe was moldy and black inside. They still asked me to pay full price. Will never go there again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepbluea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    117
    122
    94
    80
See reviews for
63
167
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The staff are fantastic and friendly. The resort is beautiful and the diving is awesome.
It's some where to stay and dive if you're looking for fun friendly dive staff. They are very welcoming and felt like family after my week diving with them.
There are plenty of large dive resorts on Koh Tao but they are factories they don't give the all round service that Seashell does.
I will genuinely miss the staff.
Ignore the reviews of rude staff at seashell you get back what you put in..Enjoy livin the Koh Tao dream xxx

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racheladlard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

I've been to Koh Samui and Koh Pha Ngan several times and loved both. Overall I was pretty disappointed with Koh Tao, especially Sairee Beach. Maybe its because i'm not 20 any more sadly. I'm sure its great fun if you are.....But it's pretty noisy, a bit dusty... Probably due to quite a bit of building going on at the moment and the friendly Thai people we've met elsewhere seem to be a bit jaded.

Having looked around several other bungalow resorts, we picked Seashell resort. Its ok, central and has a nice pool. But as with all other places I looked at, its expensive for Thailand. We stayed in a pool villa for 2000 THB a night. The less expensive rooms are even less worth the money. They're definitely pushing it calling it a villa, when its just a bungalow with a shared balcony. These are an OK size and clean though. The bathroom is fine, but ours took about 15 mins to drain the shower. Breakfast is included, and is fine. the nice gardens I read about in a five year old Lonely Planet are now pretty scrappy.

Overall its OK when compared with other places in Sairee Beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

New york
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

You can do so much better for your money - or a lot less even then you can here. The place certainly looks nice from the outside and the rooms are decent sized, but that's about the upside of this place. Even in the new rooms the construction is terrible. Doors don't sit flush and don't have skirts to keep out the local wildlife which mainly consists of swarms of mosquitoes, which then congregate in your bedroom at night. That would be fine if this so called "resort" would actually put mosquito nets over the four poster beds as there are clearly meant to be.

And while that's the worst of it, there are plenty of other reasons not to be happy here. Bitter, surly staff, chipped and dirty furniture. Sheets that were sandy before we had even used the beds, lack of toiletries, primitive bathrooms (with showers only even in the deluxe rooms) which seems to have bugs breeding in the wooden floors and lack of towels. They provided a grand total of two bath sheets, and no smaller towels at all for our family of three.

There are no phones in the rooms so you can't call and ask for things, nor is there a safe in the room - so they post big signs taking no responsibility for things being stolen from your room and then have the audacity to charge you - per use to use the hotel safe.

The grounds are pretty but poorly maintained. trash was not once cleaned up from the paths or lawns during my entire visit (yes I know that it shouldn't have been there in the first place, but the staff should clean the ground if it is dirty) and a dead frog which was sitting near the stairs of my unit clearly on the path was not removed, just left there to rot.

There is no shade whatsoever at poolside so the pool not surprisingly is very hot (hotter certainly than the dribble of water you'll get out out of your shower head) and not terribly comfortable or enjoyable to swim in, but at least it was clean. The children's pool was deplorable on arrival with a oily scum sitting on the water with an assortment of leaves and other natural debris. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time.

I probably would have overlooked a lot of this if the staff had at least been friendly and the hotel didn't do their best to instill a sense of fear about leaving your belongings in your room (which certainly didn't add to the comfort level of having your room cleaned by their staff), but this place made me feel like I was nothing more than a wallet to these people.

Oh, and you have to pay for Internet in the rooms.

The one bright spot here is the dive shop which seems to maintain pretty good standards and where the staff, all foreigners, are delighted to help you train to be a good diver. It was the only friendly spot that I found at Seashell "resort."

You'll be much happier elsewhere - we were.

Room Tip: If you must stay here book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doc_JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockholm
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We did not like the personnel here at all. We asked for some extra sheets, since the bed did not have a sheet covering the filthy blanket the bed was equipped with. We did not get any extra sheets because the room service staff had left for the day...

Very expensive in our opinion and not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac0bt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

Seashell Hotel is not good! It is overpriced, the service is bad and there is no reason to stay here when there are many, many better options.

Honestly, nothing was good about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Booked for a triple room and was provided with a double without an explanation - the beds were hard and not that comfortable and the toilet did not flush properly.
While trying to use the restaurant coupons the next morning, we handed over the coupon for the wrong day by mistake - rather than ask for the correct coupon, the owners of the restaurant became abusive and started yelling.
We complained to the reception, who talked with the restaurant owner in Thai and then proceeded to blame us for the whole incident. Given the fact that no resolution was forthcoming, we decided to book out and requested a refund for the last two days we had. They provided a refund for one day and requested we leave as soon as possible.
Overall, rude and abusive staff that had no interest in resolving our complaint. Problems with the room and resort from the start.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogie850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.1 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Property: Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing