We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haadtien Beach Resort(Koh Tao)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
66
127
132
99
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
127
132
99
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach sidenice roomdiving courseaccommodationislanddivefrogsnightlifeinstructor
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Rooms were big but old & the bathroom was shoddy! Good location & the restaurant did a good beach BBQ! The pool was far too hot - should be a cooler temp than outside! Payed a lot & wasn't worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CT_travelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

i ate at their resterant. The potatoe was moldy and black inside. They still asked me to pay full price. Will never go there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepbluea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The staff are fantastic and friendly. The resort is beautiful and the diving is awesome.
It's some where to stay and dive if you're looking for fun friendly dive staff. They are very welcoming and felt like family after my week diving with them.
There are plenty of large dive resorts on Koh Tao but they are factories they don't give the all round service that Seashell does.
I will genuinely miss the staff.
Ignore the reviews of rude staff at seashell you get back what you put in..Enjoy livin the Koh Tao dream xxx

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racheladlard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I've been to Koh Samui and Koh Pha Ngan several times and loved both. Overall I was pretty disappointed with Koh Tao, especially Sairee Beach. Maybe its because i'm not 20 any more sadly. I'm sure its great fun if you are.....But it's pretty noisy, a bit dusty... Probably due to quite a bit of building going on at the moment and the friendly Thai people we've met elsewhere seem to be a bit jaded.

Having looked around several other bungalow resorts, we picked Seashell resort. Its ok, central and has a nice pool. But as with all other places I looked at, its expensive for Thailand. We stayed in a pool villa for 2000 THB a night. The less expensive rooms are even less worth the money. They're definitely pushing it calling it a villa, when its just a bungalow with a shared balcony. These are an OK size and clean though. The bathroom is fine, but ours took about 15 mins to drain the shower. Breakfast is included, and is fine. the nice gardens I read about in a five year old Lonely Planet are now pretty scrappy.

Overall its OK when compared with other places in Sairee Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

You can do so much better for your money - or a lot less even then you can here. The place certainly looks nice from the outside and the rooms are decent sized, but that's about the upside of this place. Even in the new rooms the construction is terrible. Doors don't sit flush and don't have skirts to keep out the local wildlife which mainly consists of swarms of mosquitoes, which then congregate in your bedroom at night. That would be fine if this so called "resort" would actually put mosquito nets over the four poster beds as there are clearly meant to be.

And while that's the worst of it, there are plenty of other reasons not to be happy here. Bitter, surly staff, chipped and dirty furniture. Sheets that were sandy before we had even used the beds, lack of toiletries, primitive bathrooms (with showers only even in the deluxe rooms) which seems to have bugs breeding in the wooden floors and lack of towels. They provided a grand total of two bath sheets, and no smaller towels at all for our family of three.

There are no phones in the rooms so you can't call and ask for things, nor is there a safe in the room - so they post big signs taking no responsibility for things being stolen from your room and then have the audacity to charge you - per use to use the hotel safe.

The grounds are pretty but poorly maintained. trash was not once cleaned up from the paths or lawns during my entire visit (yes I know that it shouldn't have been there in the first place, but the staff should clean the ground if it is dirty) and a dead frog which was sitting near the stairs of my unit clearly on the path was not removed, just left there to rot.

There is no shade whatsoever at poolside so the pool not surprisingly is very hot (hotter certainly than the dribble of water you'll get out out of your shower head) and not terribly comfortable or enjoyable to swim in, but at least it was clean. The children's pool was deplorable on arrival with a oily scum sitting on the water with an assortment of leaves and other natural debris. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time.

I probably would have overlooked a lot of this if the staff had at least been friendly and the hotel didn't do their best to instill a sense of fear about leaving your belongings in your room (which certainly didn't add to the comfort level of having your room cleaned by their staff), but this place made me feel like I was nothing more than a wallet to these people.

Oh, and you have to pay for Internet in the rooms.

The one bright spot here is the dive shop which seems to maintain pretty good standards and where the staff, all foreigners, are delighted to help you train to be a good diver. It was the only friendly spot that I found at Seashell "resort."

You'll be much happier elsewhere - we were.

Room Tip: If you must stay here book online.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doc_JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews