We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont judge a book by its cover......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We found this hotel by driving past on our moped- do not be fooled by the grand entrance and the added stars on the board outside, it was horrendous!
The room was big but very very dated, the bed had no quilt or sheet to get under, just a throw over that was thin and uncomfortable. The bathroom had seen better days and i kept my flip flops on while showering!! The windows were just netting and so it was hard to sleep as it was so loud outside.
The pool area was quite nice but the pool was so warm it was like being in a bath.
On the upside if you are a lone traveller there are plenty of bugs and mosquitoes to keep you company!

Room Tip: Do not stay near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank yLucylockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

This resort comprises of a brand new reception and pool area and a lovely restaurant on the beach (which does the most amazing barbeque's). We were pleasently suprised when we arrived at the location.

The accomodation (bungalows) are not quite up to the same standard as the rest of the resort. They are of course perfectly fine and do the job intended and this is the kind of accomodation most travellers expect to see in thailand, especially if travelling on a budget.

We really enjoyed our stay here and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Koh Tao is in my opinion the nicest of the Thai islands, and the least touristy. I would definately recommend this resort to other budget travellers.

The only downside to our stay here (apart from me breaking my ankle...) was the noise at night from nearby clubs,which it made it almost impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lil-grasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed here for 3 weeks in a Pool side Villa. Seashell is located at Sairee Beach. I have through the years stayed at many different places at Sairee beach. Seashell is one of the more nicer places at Sairee if you like a pool, sunbeds and a nice reception. The Villas are nice and clean, BUT it is actually a double villa, 2 different villas/rooms in one building, and the villas are only seperated by a door of wood. So you can hear everything what happens in the other room/villa! And you also have to share the terrace outside the villa, and there are only one table and 2 chairs. But we were lucky, we only had someone living there for 2 nights in the 3 weeks we were there.. The service is nice, the rooms are cleaned every day. But the bed is VERY VERY hard, even for thai standard. We went to the supermarket and bought a picninc blanket to make the bed more soft.
If you want to dive I would recommend Seashell Divers, we have dived many times with them. I took my dive course there some years ago.
Overall Sheashell resort is nice, and maybe we will go back again. We often go to Koh Tao, but mostly we prefer a bungalow right at the beach, with no pool, no sunbeds, but only the look at Sairee beach

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraOkholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Rooms were big but old & the bathroom was shoddy! Good location & the restaurant did a good beach BBQ! The pool was far too hot - should be a cooler temp than outside! Payed a lot & wasn't worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CT_travelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

i ate at their resterant. The potatoe was moldy and black inside. They still asked me to pay full price. Will never go there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepbluea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The staff are fantastic and friendly. The resort is beautiful and the diving is awesome.
It's some where to stay and dive if you're looking for fun friendly dive staff. They are very welcoming and felt like family after my week diving with them.
There are plenty of large dive resorts on Koh Tao but they are factories they don't give the all round service that Seashell does.
I will genuinely miss the staff.
Ignore the reviews of rude staff at seashell you get back what you put in..Enjoy livin the Koh Tao dream xxx

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racheladlard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I've been to Koh Samui and Koh Pha Ngan several times and loved both. Overall I was pretty disappointed with Koh Tao, especially Sairee Beach. Maybe its because i'm not 20 any more sadly. I'm sure its great fun if you are.....But it's pretty noisy, a bit dusty... Probably due to quite a bit of building going on at the moment and the friendly Thai people we've met elsewhere seem to be a bit jaded.

Having looked around several other bungalow resorts, we picked Seashell resort. Its ok, central and has a nice pool. But as with all other places I looked at, its expensive for Thailand. We stayed in a pool villa for 2000 THB a night. The less expensive rooms are even less worth the money. They're definitely pushing it calling it a villa, when its just a bungalow with a shared balcony. These are an OK size and clean though. The bathroom is fine, but ours took about 15 mins to drain the shower. Breakfast is included, and is fine. the nice gardens I read about in a five year old Lonely Planet are now pretty scrappy.

Overall its OK when compared with other places in Sairee Beach.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
697 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £27 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing