We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but nothing great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This resort has a great location between the main road and the beach and the rooms and reception look fantastic, but they let themselves down on too many fronts for me to recommend it. For starters our triple garden view room had a definite "drain" smell which didn't disappear for the duration of our stay. The shower also sprayed all over the place resulting in a permanently wet bathroom. The gardens, path and pool area are all unkempt which lets the whole resort down. No free wifi in rooms so you have to go to reception to use wifi or pay to use one of their computers. The restaurant across the road on the beach is where you have breakfast - its a buffet with quite a wide selection (western style, fruit, thai food) but EVERYTHING was cold and tasteless - oh and runs out towards 9.30am! Suggest you get there super early if you want anything vaguely warm or fresh. In fact the only day we enjoyed breakfast was the day we went diving and missed the buffet - they allowed us to use our breakfast coupon later on in the day and got freshly cooked fried rice and a cup of decent (and hot!) coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Had a lovely room with a nice 4 poster, very clean and in a fantastic location about 2 mins from the beach!
Recommend lotus bar, turn right as you leave the hotel and it's down a road on you left, really cool place with live music on the beach.
Can't fault the place at all and the staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Seashells has a good dive school, but otherwise it is a really bad place to stay on Koh Tao. We wouldnt normally comment on tripadvisor (giving most places the benefit of the doubt), but feel pretty strongly about this place. To put it simply, the staff are terrible. They resent any question, particulary any request for new towels or to sort out the bed bugs in your bed. Most of the time we would turn up to reception without any form of acknowlegdment. You will ask for something (such as clean towels) after waiting for 24 hours, and they will stare at you like you are crazy. The restaurant staff dont seem to be able to listen (they delivered every order late and got most things wrong as well). I know it is pretty damning to give a bad tipadvisor review, but I feel very strongly about this place. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Please do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel has a nice position right next to the beach and the whole place is pretty good-looking. But looks can be deceiving as we all know. Nothing seems to work at this place. The Internet is down about 90% of the time, the showers sprinkle water in all directions and floor boards are loose here and there causing people to step on nails with their bare feet around the pool. Outside our so-called "villa" (really an apartment) there is a family staying in a house - it may be management or the hotel's owner. Their house is a mess with pots, pans and trash ouside the house and it smells of something like a combination of rotten fruit and manure outside our door.
But the biggest problem with this place is the service from reception. It is non-existant. Housekeeping comes seemingly when they feel like it. They barely manage to give a beach towel. They don't smile and seem annoyed by the fact that their hotel has guests that may occasionally ask for something. Koh Tao has much nicer alternatives.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonJefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed in Koh Tao for 2 nights at Seashell Resort in a poolside villa, we couldn't fault it.
The hotel is in a great location and on the beach, close to bars, restaurants. cafes. It is approx a 10 min drive from the pier.
The villa itself was spacious, clean and modern with aircon and a balcony. The pool was large and had lots of sunbeds, beach towels were available at reception if you wanted them - 60baht per towel for a day.
Free wifi is available but only in the reception lobby.
Breakfast was served in the open air restaurant over looking the beach. The buffet was simple but good - included eggs, toast, fruit, yoghurt, rice, tea, coffee, juice
I would recommend and stay here again

Room Tip: Pool side villas are worth paying for - very close to the beach, the pool, and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VLH_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent 3 nights here, the place itself is nice (nature, flowers surrounding you).
We had the pool bungalow, and the room itself was nice and clean!. problems: The resort is located just on the main beach, unfortunatly during the night you may have big problems on sleeping because of the LOUD sound coming from disco parties (if you would like to sleep, you may stay at the two ends of the beach or on the resorts located in the hills). Breakfast is very poor but may be enjoyed right on the beach. Staff: they just don't care about you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberto s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at Sea Shell Resort as part of my Partner doing her diving course through the dive school operated by the Resort (which she was impressed with!). So it would be fair to say in the first instance the accommodation was technically free (included within the fee for the dive course). I must make it clear that this review is based solely upon the accommodation - not the Dive school.

We stayed in one of the bungalows on the resort itself, so we were reasonably close to reception, pool and restaurant over the pathway/scooter-dodge alley (they have more bungalows across the main road - further away from the beach). The bungalow was in pretty poor state of repair, with parcel tape being used at some of the joins between wall and ceiling. The main room was small and was about the same size as the bathroom, which had a cold shower. We had some uninvited guests (cockroaches) every night during our stay (4 nights). Cockroaches disturbed our sleep, with me waking up one night to find one in between me and my partner on the bed! Now I accept that roaches are going to be in these sorts of places, but so many in such a short stay??

The first two nights of our stay were relatively peaceful (other than the roaches), but then people started arriving from Koh Phangan after the full moon party and we started to realise exactly how paper thin the walls to the bungalow were - you could hear literally everything.

There did appear to be some nice, modern rooms available - but these seemed expensive (approx 2500 baht from memory).

Resort is in a decent location, staff were ok, but not overly friendly.

Overall, okish resort (but I don't think it's worth the prices they charge), but the bungalow we had was not in good shape and, given the choice, I would return. Certainly would have been annoyed if we'd have paid the 1000 baht per night that these bungalows usually go for!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#25 of 50 in Koh Tao
368 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £29 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing