We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is poor and dirty. The rooms are small and smells bad, and pool is tiny.
When we said we wanted to leave, they lied to us about their refund policy and said they can't fefund our money at all.
Only after a long argument and after talking to the maneger, they admitted they could let us go with a one night fine.
We left the hotel the same day.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Einatfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We liked this hotel. We paid a bit more to get a pool side villa (which was not actually pool side) which was clean and had good ac and the swimming pool was big and clear.

Staff were very nice, friendly and helpful.

The resturant was next to construction so breakfast wasn't so pleasant as you couldnt hear yourself think.

Great location and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna0000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Took a diving course with seashell, which allowed us to stay in the resort for 1220b per night in an ac room.. This meant a 20% discount. The cheap rooms were 250 per night (fan) and for free (fan, up the hill).

We contour own bungalow. The interior is a bit worn, but it seemed clean. We found it strange that we dis not have sheets, but only some kind of blanket. However, this seemed clean. They cleaned the room daily, but only if you ask and give them the keys. Makes you feel safew but it is also annoying. Towels were then changed as well.

The swimming pool was nice, as were the pool towels. The breakfast, which was included for us, is also very extensive.

All in all: it is a decent accommodation, albeit a bit worn. Don't expect a resort)(although it is resort prices). Breakfast and pool are fine!

T

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DutchJAWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The location was terrific. It's on Sairee Beach, within walking distance of all necessary bars and restaurants.At the same time it's still possible to stay here in peace and quiet undisturbed by the nightlife noise. One of our two-person rooms also got upgraded to a spacious three-person room (although we don't know if this was deliberate or not), which was nice.

The english proficiencies of the staff were not the best and at times we struggled to understand each other.They could also have been a bit more cheerful. There were some construction work going on next to the restaurant area which was disturbing during breakfast and lunch times. There was also no information regarding this so we were a bit bothered by it. Bathroom had some ants and one cockroach in it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon Oddvar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

We came to the seashell after a bad experience at another hotel. They found us a great room, quiet, walking distance from everything, but without a million people singing outside our window. The room is good, has a little balcony, and hot water (which is rare on Koh tao). After we were settled, we had a change of plans and needed to check out early. The staff were able to help and provided us with support in organizing an early taxi to the pier. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank epalpebrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Arrived at the hotel and we were told we weren't staying in the resort but in a part just outside, that wasn't an issue, we were brought to our room around a 10 minute walk from reception, the room was terrible parts of the wooden wall held together with duck tape, the sink was hanging off the wall, the bathroom floor was covered in dirt and wen we went to turn on the shower to wash it away brown water came out of the shower head. We decided to have a walk around town and see what was on offer and checked out a hostel and 2 other places selling the same type of huts, all 3 had a higher standard and half the price so we went back to reception and asked to move room as we weren't happy. The first thing the receptionist said you have to read fine print and il be honest I think she thought we wanted to move because of the location being 10 minute walk away from the main resort but we explained everything that was wrong with the room she then rolled her eyes sighed and said ok pick a room and handed us a list with rooms, I noticed it had prices beside each room, I asked do you want me to pay more she said yes I said no as it's hardly fair I pay more when all we wanted was the same room but not falling apart, she then muttered something in Thai which I can only guess was an insult then again rolled her eyes turned to another worker and handed him a key, we were brought to another hut the same type just nothing wrong this time, there is sooooooooo many more better places to stay for a fraction of the price. We had a look around and there are some great rooms in the resort but these are the higher end ones so if you want nice then pay 2/3 times more. Reception staff need retrained, good thing great location

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Whilst it is clear to all who enjoy their stay at the Seashell Resort in Koh Tao, that the owners are spending a lot of time and creativity in upgrading the Restaurants, the Dive Centre and the peripheral environs, most of us hope that a bit will be left over to upgrade the accommodation.

Koh Tao is expensive because most of the building material has to come from the mainland. It is interesting that the beach hotels would mostly receive a generous 3 star labelling - but charge a 5 star city rate.

Seashell Resort.
Rooms - not bad but not more than this.
Garden. Lovely in patches.
Amenities - good but not more.
Cost. Yes, many different room specifications - but generally - pretty old and run down.

Reception Staff - always polite to us but on observation pretty indifferent or downright rude to guests.
This is such a pity for a country where hospitality and politeness is natural.

Why do we use Seashell year after year?

Would I recommend it to YOU?

I am afraid so - the whole island is populated with 2 or 3 star hotels like this.

As Conrad Hilton said, Location, Location, Location.
Location for sure. Dive boat taxis on the beach - though this is turning into some sort of mafia. An excellent path at the beach side of the hotel which connects with superb restaurants (Barracuda) and shops.

Price wise - for Koh Tao - yes it is good.

Will we go back? Yes, but will keep an eye out for better hotel at same high price.

Room Tip: For individuals, couples - ask to see the rooms first. For families definitely ask to see the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoffel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £29 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing