We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. We stayed in the superior garden view room. It's definitely worth while spending a little extra for the better room because ours was beautiful! We'd so much space!! Lovey bathroom!! Best shower in Thailand!!!! Excellent location, right by the beach and close to excellent bars and restaurants. We loved it here!!!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank katy12Irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed at the Seashell Resort three times in the past 4 years.

Last year was disappointing but minimally bearable.

Our decision to stay at the Seashell this year was part based on hope it would be better than last and no little amount of laziness in my final decision to book again.

It took over 3 hours to check in - NOT because we had any problems with paperwork but because there was such a lot of angry - some VERY angry guests. New arrivals returned to Reception because their room was dirty, not as booked. Two were arguing about being overcharged another disagreeing with two loads of credit card charges on one bill.

Our booking was a total mess and in a huddle conference we decided to cancel and find another hotel.

Breaking into the scrum at Reception we informed them as they could not provide the rooms booked and documented we would cancel. NO REFUND was the only answer.

If that is the case my next stop will be at the Police Station with a charge of theft in hand.

15 minutes later we found ourselves checking into the rooms we had booked.

So who actually IS at fault?

The Reception staff only minimally. These are young (inexpensive) staff with little or no training. The natural reserves of Thai politeness and respect for guests was drained by a continual barrage of guest complaints from mostly reasonable transiting to angry people disappointed with a total absence of capable management.

The owner, a very likeable Thai-Chinese lady was in Bangkok, 600 kilometres North and in classic style had abdicated all HER responsibility to her guests.

Again using the cheapest labour, there are almost no Thai staff but plenty of untrained Burmese.

The Seashell Restaurant provides a good "Cafeteria" series of meals, service is not bad if one can disentangle staff. Too frequent repetitions of simple orders because the waiter didn't understand and didn't want to ask again.

Seashell Divers remains the only high quality part of the Hotel's former "Happy Past".

Location.
Seashell is literally Perfectly situated on the Beautiful Sairee Beach.

Shopping is metres from the Seashell, good fun and choice galore.

Koh Tao is studded with the most EXCELLENT Restaurants of all kinds, from just about every nation under the sun - a huge choice lie within strolling distance of the Seashell Resort.

Summary for Seashell.
Very carefully read Reviews before committing your very precious holiday.
No or abdicated management put the guest into 3rd place of importance.
Poorly trained staff.
Reasonable "Cafe" style Restaurant right on the Beach with First rate evening Barbecue.
GREAT Dive Centre, with International quality Dive Masters and facilities.
If you want to learn how to Scuba Dive, get certificated or Upgrade - Seashell Divers will take great care of you.

If you are going to dive let Seashell Divers get you some FREE nights!

Don't write off Seashell - but check first.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stoffel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I am a very frequent visitor to Koh Tao and I have stayed in all types of accommodations of all price ranges. I thought that Seashell was not too bad. Location is great, rooms were comfortable, spacious and the place seems very secure (safety box available). A/C unit broke at one point but it was fixed in a relatively timely manner. Room temperature was good, no mosquito problem, shower temperature was a little cold but when putting everything into perspective, for it's location and value on main beach Sairee, this place is a very convenient place to stay. I paid about 800 baht per night (per head), stayed with two friends for 2 nights. This is a good price for high season, we actually chose this place due to other places being fully booked.

Front desk service lady was absolutely terrible though. Impolite and sarcastic. We also had an early checkout (6am) in the morning and the front desk was closed, so I and a bunch of other (impatient) guests had to cross the front desk to get our deposits. If I was able to enter and get my deposit, it means front desk has very poor security in holding people's deposits/valuables.

For guests who have an early boat the next day, make sure you sort everything out with the front desk because they won't be around early the next morning.

Still giving this place 4 stars because of everything else, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rudy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in the Coconut Village area of the hotel, which disappointingly was across the main road and through some scrubland. The hotel itself seems very disjointed, and it was a nightmare checking into our room. The pool area was lovely, although the pool walls need a good scrub, and it can be a bit annoying having the pool taken up with divers. The breakfast wasn't bad, although be prepared to fight tooth and nail for pancakes with backpackers who don't understand he concept of sharing! The location of the hotel is good, with the bars and restaurants within easy walk, but far enough away that the noise isn't too bad.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Coconut village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Harriettederbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I liked the location and I think that the location is amazing. It is close to the beach and to the main shopping area and restaurants, but still far enough to suffer from too much noise from the bars.
I did not like the quality of the water in the pool and they could do better to keep the water clear and not cloudy. I also did not like the approach of their staff (of course there were exceptions), and in particular, I had really bad experience at the end when I was asked to pay ridiculously high sum of money for allegedly damaged towels. Me and my girlfriend are always thinking a bit eco, so we wanted to save the environment by reusing the towels as also encouraged by the hotel. But during the check out, we were accused of damaging the towels and asked to pay them at a price exceeding the market price 2-3 times. There was no discussion, no possibility to talk to the manager, no possibility to make a complaint and later on even no response to my emails. So, to summarize if you have no problem here, it can be a nice resort, if you do have a problem, it will ruin your holiday

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalibor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was booked for us as part of a group tour we were part of.
Our first impression of the hotel when we arrived was fair, and the rooms at first glance seemed very nice. But when we put our bags down and had a good look around we noticed a lot of dead bugs, bird poo on one of the pillows, and a lot of dust everywhere about the room. We also ended up staying an extra day and were moved to one of the small bungalows which was awful. The whole building moved when we walked around, and when I turned the tap on in the bathroom thousands of ants poured out of the basin. When hotel staff were made aware of this they just blasted our room with fly spray and we had to air the room out for ages before it was comfortable to stay in there. Beds were pretty hard and uncomfortable. 'Buffet' breakfast was also pretty poor. Staff were very hard to communicate with an we had a lot of trouble trying to organise a shuttle to the ferry - when we finally did they took us to the wrong one even though they told us it wasn't.

Pool area was very nice, but that was probably the only thing about the hotel that we actually liked.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the bungalows!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The resort is in a very central. The staff behind the desk are not very organized and so check in took a very long time even though we had pre-booked. I wouldn't stay in Coconut Village again, although slightly cheaper it is not situated in the resort and is in a very unkempt area. The bungalows are clean and exactly what you need, no fuss. The associated divers is fantastic.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Caoife D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £24 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing