We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JC92
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands

Nice stay located directly at the beach.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Aug 2019
I'd wish we stayed here longer! Seashell is one of the resorts at Sairee beach who do well in meeting the guest expectations. First of all I received 2 days before we were travelling to Koh Tao an message if we wanted to use the free transportation from the pier to the hotel. Once arrived everything was already prepared and we were brought to our room.

A nice with garden view, neat bathroom and spacios and clean bedroom. The swimmingpool was just 30 meters away and in 2 minutes you are standing on the beach of sairee with a lot of nice bars and dining spots next to the resort. The resort has a diving shop and school as well so in case you are a diver, you can book at their own divingschool! Be aware that you will hear some noise from the hallway or street as this wall is very thin. On the balcony side we didn't experience any noise.

The swimmingpool is big and clean. They have a big pool for dive practice, a jacuzzi and a large swimmingpool to relax and enjoy. The restaurant serves every morning a basic but nice breakfast and the prices on the menu are affordable. With sunset you can relax in one of the chairs at the veranda of the restaurant. As the resort is located at the city center you can enjoy lots of good restaurants and shops within walking distance.

I would recommend Seashell for their hospitality and location and would definately book this hotel again if I could.
Date of stay: July 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£55
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Pool
Beachfront
View
Tripadvisor
£81
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.2 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£115
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
2.2 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Pool
Pool & beach
Tripadvisor
£37
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cape Shark
Tripadvisor
£175
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel Site
2.3 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £81
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £54
  • Expedia.com
    £65
0.6 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £100
  • Expedia.com
    £120
2.3 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £63
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Beachfront
Restaurant
The Pool at the Koh Tao Beach Club
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £38
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Koh Tao
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
85
142
151
105
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
142
151
105
103
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2019

I chose to have lunch here because of the lovely canvas deck chairs, an unusual sight on Sairee Beach during the day. (Why is that??) Server bloke greeted my friendly with a smile 'Hello' with 'What do you want?' I should have left at that point rather than chalking it up to a language barrier. Same bloke quite interested in photographing bikini-clad ladies on the sand below, I guess for his or his mates' leisurely perusal. Same bloke glued to his phone, no doubt sending said photos to mates, but his English improved tenfold when it came time to pay. Threw my 500 baht on desk, a polite lady came and made my change. I am sorry for her as she was courteous, but Pervert Server ruined the whole place. Doesn't matter how food was, the server photoing bikini ladies for his later pleasure just nasty. Had the topless ladies down the beach been in front of the restaurant I might had gotten a free lunch haha as he undoubtedly would have paid no attention to who came or went...

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank jessicabT1881UM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2019 via mobile

The only positive about our stay was the lovely man who greeted us at the pier to stay with the Seashell Resort.

The room given was not as was advertised. It was old, unfinished and dirty. There was stains on the pillow cases and dirt on the towels alongside yellow stains on another.
Clearly hadn’t been cleaned properly.

There was also only one pool area available to us which was not made clear when booking on the website which advertised another luxurious pool alongside the beach.

When we spoke with receptionist at first they offered to upgrade our room due to the inconvenience but later learned they were just giving us the same room in a different location, even further away.
We then asked if we could pay the difference to upgrade to a pool access room but she said we would just have to pay it all in full and the money we had payed wouldn’t stand.
The lady at reception was rude and told us to just leave if we weren’t happy so she clearly wasn’t bothered if it wasn’t effecting her.

Therefore we checked out as soon as we could the next day and went to a much nicer hotel called the Tarna Align which couldn’t have done anymore for us.

Wouldn’t recommend staying at the seashell unless you stay in a pool access room.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank hchesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2019

Was hesitant over booking this place as one of the last places still avail on booking.com. I did not regret it after my great 8 days stay in July with my family

Free pick up from pier - just email one day before

Check in was ok but you had to leave a 2000 Baht deposit or your passport. I chose the 2000 baht, just don't forget to get it back. You are able to use VISA for the room without the 3% surcharged as advertised. That was good. Also other charges such as scuba course/dives can be charged without additional charge.

We got a family room and these are newer rooms near the back. The room is HUGE and is a 2 bedroom place nicely decorated (contempt/boutiquey) with 1 huge king with canopy and 2 twins. Very comfortable for family of 4. 2 Air conditioners worked flawlessly. The washroom was fine with rain shower and tub. One time huge roach at night in washroom but killed it with a flip flop then plugged up drains with TP after. Its the tropics so no biggy

There is refill of 4 waters every day in room in nice ice cold mini fridge. Nice 2 balconies in room but never used, just to hang clothes. There is a free safe to use too.

Breakfast was amazing - great spread every morning with fried rice, noodles (changing every day), curry chicken (excellent quality and varying every day), rice, omelette, scramble eggs, bacon, pancakes, toasties, and sweet watermelon/pineapple everyday. Water/ice is safe to drink in cylinders. The best was the view in the morning. Beautiful breeze and low tide views of an empty Sairee beach. Not sure but never anyone on beach.

Oh of course you get the friendly dogs always coming for meat handouts. We named one "Breakfast dog" - mixed golden retriever. There is also the resident dog owned by seashell

Our ritual was to go for sunset also around 5-6pm and 15% off drinks so a large Singha is 85 Baht and you can sit there for hrs watching perfect sunset and long boats or just swing on the swing on the beach.

Location is amazing. Right in the heart of the action without all the noise with the exception of The Queens Cabaret show from 10-11:30 which was right behind our building. No biggy. Could not hear the Lotus bars so much.

The resort has rooms/bungalows for various budgets so maybe when you see a poor review it's for the cheaper bungalows. Yes the family room was a bit pricey esp for Thailand but Koh Tao is much more expensive than Thailand. Worth the splurge esp given nice room good air co , convenience and free transfers to and from the pier.

the resorts vegetation/garden is not manicured that well but the pool area is lovely. It's beautiful with jacuzzi and good size pool and a deeper one for Scuba. The water is HOT. There is another pool by the ocean and has cooler water. This is the one we hung out most as you can see the ocean. Both pools were very quiet as it was lower season at the beginning of July. The odd time you have scuba lessons going on at he main pool

My daughter got her padi open water there and it was great. Got additional 10+% off course if staying there. Facilities are good there because lots of pools. I did fun dive with other daughter and younger one and it was very professional.

Never ate dinner there but if food is like breaky it should be fine. But it's never busy at night. Pretty empty. Not sure why.

Overall very happy with this resort. Money well spent esp important after a day of beaching/snorkelling or scuba. Nice to know you go back to nice place. Oh yeah if you have an early dive before buffet opens in morning they will make you a care package with sandwich (good BLT & bottle water - then night before)

We walked to Mae Haad in about 25 min from resort and continued to Sai Nuan Beach which is a gem (another 25 min ). Must dooooo.

The beach in front of resort is not really for swimming or wading. You could during high tide but beach is better near the end towards Mae Haad on Sairee.with less boats and wider sandy area (near AC2 Resort). No biggy as there are lots of other beaches around the island even though it's hiway robbery if you have to take a taxi and aren't comfortable with a scooter

Another day we got a taxi boat - bargained with guy to go to Naun Yuang island and Mango beach for 1100 for the day for 4 of us. Get there before it opens - say 9:30 am and attack the look out point first then hang near Jap garden snorkel. You can shelter from the sun beside boulder instead of paying 150 Bht for chair and sitting beside screaming Chinese tourist

On another day we hired taxi at resort and bargain to 800 baht to go to Tanote Bay for some good snorkeling and good lunch on the beach (round trip)

Note it starts picking up mid July and Aug with Europeans
Clientelle seemed less backpackers but more family/ couples prob due to prices.

Lots to do on this island - 8 days was not enough for us esp if you scuba or like snorkeling.

Room tip: 2nd floor family room
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank namabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2019 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and spacious and we enjoyed the buffet breakfast included in our stay. The location is so central to anything you could need from tourist shops to diving trips, supermarkets, hairdressers ect. The restaurants beside the hotel were also lovely we didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but looked good.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank A996BMcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

We stayed in the new building so this review is not about the cottages which, from the outside looked very small and basic.
It is a nce hotel and ours was alovely room. The hotel has direct beach access.
Rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds, a nice bathroom, good wifi and a reasonably sized balcony.
Breakfast is good and served in the beachfront restaurant. It's a lovely beach.
The hotel is close to the main town with lots of bars and restaurants away from the main road.
Only downside is that you can hear some loud music. We were in a room In the new main building further back in the grounds so the noise was not a real issue but if you have a beachfront room be prepare for late night partying on the beach a few hotels along.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davewebb1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews