We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rudest staff at reception and abusive restaurant owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rudest staff at reception and abusive restaurant owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Booked for a triple room and was provided with a double without an explanation - the beds were hard and not that comfortable and the toilet did not flush properly.
While trying to use the restaurant coupons the next morning, we handed over the coupon for the wrong day by mistake - rather than ask for the correct coupon, the owners of the restaurant became abusive and started yelling.
We complained to the reception, who talked with the restaurant owner in Thai and then proceeded to blame us for the whole incident. Given the fact that no resolution was forthcoming, we decided to book out and requested a refund for the last two days we had. They provided a refund for one day and requested we leave as soon as possible.
Overall, rude and abusive staff that had no interest in resolving our complaint. Problems with the room and resort from the start.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doogie850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    117
    122
    94
    80
See reviews for
63
167
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

After traveling 6 months Thailand was our holiday from our holiday. We wanted to stay somewhere with nice rooms which this hotel had, although they did charge almost twice the price of nearby hotels. The politeness of the staff was as erratic as the wakeup time of the builders on the worksite next door. The staff seemed more interested in watching the lobby television than assisting with queries or with our luggage to our room. To ensure our stay was more pleasant we avoided reception area and any interaction with the staff. The woman on reception seemed particularly put out to provide any help. The pool felt like a senior school biological project and desperately needed more chlorine.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Tel Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

It's the first time I write a negative review. But this hotel is the worst I have stayed in Thailand. I have stayed in more than 10 hotel in the island of Thailand. Sea shell has a poor staff, bad service, bad food, every thing looks old and with poor maintenance.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idodo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
154 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

This review is for the accommodation at Seashell Resort. They also have a pretty good restaurant and a dive center with a very friendly and professional crew which I can recommend to divers even if you choose to stay elsewhere.

We stayed in the newer bungalows next to the pool area. The room itself was small but had A/C, a fan, a daybed and cable TV. The biggest problem with the room was the windows which covered the whole wall and if you did not want to expose your private life to all passing you need to draw the curtains and for us this meant they stayed drawn for the whole week we stayed there. Another problem was house keeping who insisted on cleaning the bathroom by showering the whole room with water (yes, even the toilet paper was wet afterwards) and then leaving the bathroom door open for it to dry. Since the bathroom was mandi style (open air) mosquitoes got in.

The pool area was very nice and the beach is just across the road. Breakfast was included in our rate and was served just across the road at the beach restaurant. It was OK. The staff was helpful and also helped us with ferry tickets. They have a safe where you can keep your valuables but it costs money. Wifi internet was also available at a fee. Since we were diving with their dive center they discounted our rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedishMagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

Wooden shed for 950 baht a night and the most non responsive and surly staff (apart from one older lady who covered reception whilst misery guts was at lunch) Keeping passport, broken fan, I could go on and on. A test of endurance

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BangkokRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

The rooms of the resort are overpriced like many places on koh tao, we payed 850 baths/night for a small and old wooded bungalow (no TV, no fridge, no AC).

Good location in the heart of Koh tao, and really nice salted swimming pool. Free in-room wifi and every where in the resort.

The staff at the reception is not really friendly (hard to receive a smile from them), our bungalow never been cleaned during our staying.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triptotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed at the beach side bungalow for 3 nights. very basic. Lots of bugs and mosquitos in the room. At night, you can hear motorbike driving by and party noise that will drive you crazy. We couldn't sleep at all due to the noise and mosquito. I even sprayed every inch of my body w/ the insect repellent, don't work! The pool is nice, but it's used by divers at day time. We only use it in the late afternoon. Beach is close to a smelly sewage river and didn't look clean to us. Breakfast is basic and same menu everyday. Overall, we paid about $84/night, which is a bit expensive w/ only 2 star motel quality.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.1 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Property: Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing