We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ao muong resort best stay going back!!!!”
Review of Ao Muong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ao Muong Resort
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 6 January 2014

my wife and i just stayed here 27/12/13-2/1/14we had a great time found the staff and owner extremly helpful and friendly the food was great i ate thai and wife said best chicken and chips she had ever had,the bungalows were great very clean and tidy ours had views to the bay.access to the resort was a bit of a trek through jungle only 10 mins but this was only because sea was a bit rough and the boats couldn't run staff carried all our bags down for us so no problems!!.we thought this place was paradise and unusaully for us we will definately return nothing was to much effort for these guys and we were made to feel very welcome thanks jo and all the staff especially manwell the lad behind the bar!!hopefully see you in august dave and claire

Room Tip: try to get sea views if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Im unsure how this place could be rated anything but amazing. The aircon bungalows are amazing, literally hidden away on the cliff edge with stunning views of Mango Bay. One could say it's a bit of a hassle getting here with the boat from Koh Samui to Koh Tao then to the resort BUT we'd say it's worth every single moment! Its basic in terms of no electricity during the day time and stairs to get up, but if you are after a non touristy place then thats exactly what you will get. The transfer here was easy from Koh Tao pier. see their 'getting here' section first as you can really only get here by water. To be in a place with no other resort or tourist and you're own private beach is pretty special. The water is so warm and clear with thousands of fish. Well worth staying a few days. The staff are incredibly helpful and the food is great and well priced considering the fact their restaurant is located over three tiers on the side of the cliff. For the exceptionally low price, great service - its place is a hidden treasure.

Room Tip: Bungalow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I came with 3 kids for 3 nights and finding the place was a nightmare. Do only take taxi boat as taxi cars would dump you in the jumble with a 15 min walk with luggage - not recomende even if you like adventure :-) the hotel boat goes when it goes despite schedule timings, so if you plan to be on time avoid the hotel boat. For the rest, the hotel view is fantastic, the staff very friendly and the rooms are ok. Having said that, for the price it is asking you can get way better experience for your money. I did not check trip advisor when I book and I regret it.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Benoit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We spent a week in Koh Tao and visited Ao Muong Resort/the restaurant during our snorkelling tour. The experience was one of the worst ever: upon arrival we were given the menu and ordered lemon juice without ice first and subsequently some main dishes. What was served as lemon juice was crashed iced with a bit of lemon. As we mentioned that our request was the juice without ice, the glasses were exchanged, however it was still water with A Lemon in it. The food was not too bad so all in all we thought it was adequate (we are rather easy going in general). However, when it came to paying the bill and we handed the money, suddenly we were told that the menu we had in hand before was not the right one and we were presented with a new one, where prices were much higher. In fact, old prices were still there, but crossed out. A bit confused, we paid the new amount, but we asked the waiter what caused the sudden change. She (poor girl) had no explanation, but pointed towards the manager who was standing to the right of the counter. As we kindly asked him what the the reason for the higher price was, he told us to (litterally) get out of his restaurant and chased us out the door! As we were leaving, he was still screaming that this was his place and if we don't like it we can go! We were absolutely shocked by this behaviour especially that, although quite suprised, we asked in a friendly manner (the Thais are always so friendly and forthcoming). We complained to the local tourist office and were told that there had been complaints before, simpy because the restaurant is the one of two in te Mango bay, thus having a semi-monopole there. All in all, it was our worst experience in Thailand ever and our recommendation is, if you are planning to eat there or your boat guide takes you there (this is a typical stop on a snorkel tour) - don't!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Melope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We chosen this because of the diving site, unfortunately, because of the weather, we could not do any diving, sea was so rough and visibility was less than one meter, to go to this hotel you need to take boat taxi and no one is willing to take us because the sea was so rough, we trek down to the mountain and jungle to get to this hotel, at 6am- 6pm. NO ELECTRICITY therefore my husband could not shave, no tv, no hot water and too dark to see the bloody toilet.
This hotel is not fully finished yet, workers are still building some building on site and breakfast is rubbish. only several selection.
On our way to the dining room, we were greeted with a huge 5 foot snake on the path way.. never will I have a jungle hotel,. not worth the money I have paid for,

Room Tip: go somewhere else, where you can access the main road or civilization. If you want to go out at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 30cjsimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,300 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
355 reviews
3 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
971 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beach Club by Haadtien
Beach Club by Haadtien
#20 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Muong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Muong Resort

Address: Bann Ao Muong | Mango Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £49 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ao Muong Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ao Muong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing