We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise getaway”
Review of Ao Muong Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ao Muong Resort
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise getaway”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The resort is very quite. Staffs here are very friendly. Plenty of fish, crabs. We even saw small shark swim under our kayak. The water is so clear. A lot of corals and schooling fish. Best resort if you what to get away from the cities noise. The price is not to high either.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Pasakorn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    5
    5
    13
See reviews for
8
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I am a Thai, and always enjoyed the seaside trips. I have gone to many islands and beaches all over the country. I heard of Koh Tao some times back, but have never been there until now. Four of us chose to stay in this resort because we wanted to get away from the busy corner in Mae Haad Pier area, and heard from those who had been to the resort that it is worth the price. We stayed there from May 3 to 6.

That proved to be right for two reasons. First, the hotel staff are friendly, helpful, attentive and caring. They treated all guests the same whether or not you are Thai or foreigners. They recommended how to enjoy our vacation in style such as renting boat to take us on a one-day tour around the island (which is better than buying a one day tour that you have to follow where the tour operator wants to take you and you're not free to do things at your own pace). They told us they could prepare any Thai dishes that we like. With no hesitation, we asked for southern Thai seafood (because we were now in the south of Thailand). They surprised us by preparing great southern Thai seafood dishes fresh from the sea for our group.

Second, it is a location advantage. From the restaurant, you can enjoy the beautiful scenery of the bay view all day: morning, afternoon and sunset. The resort is well situated in a great location, on the secluded beach with the crystal clear water, and sandy seafloor giving the water a beautiful turquoise hue. I was challenged by the hotel staff that no other beach will offer the best diving sport as the one here in the resort. After we went on a one day tour around the island, and I can attest that this is the same true. This resort has the best diving spot in Koh Tao, with the best and beautiful coral reefs and different species of fish. The next day, I went snorkelling in the morning, afternoon and before sunset. It was wonderful experience. Snorkel gears are provided free of charge at the resort as well.

When I told the hotel staff that I happened to step on coral reefs and got cut on my toe, the hotel staff came to help clean the wound. I have never experienced the great hospitality like this from anywhere or any other hotel staff (even 5 star hotels). On our last dinner at the resort, the hotel manager himself went inside the kitchen to cook for us. We were speechless and feel so wonderful how well we were treated. It is not something that he has to do, but he and the staff are willing to service and do things beyond our expectations. I truly think that this resort is selling HAPPINESS because they want every guest to be HAPPY customers when they check out.

Now if I plan to go on the beach for holidays, Ao Muong Resort will be on top of my mind. I will come back again for sure.

Room Tip: Try to reserve deluxe sea view, or bungalow number 2 or 3 because it is an easy walk from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bcc131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I am Thai and always bored with the way of treating Thai visitor by many of popular resorts.(like a second class and worship foreigner as a God!) But here, wow, staff are so nice, helpful and service you at reasonable price.
Of course, whoever, you will be treated the same and that make you feel good. The location is somewhere extraordinary, i can guarantee. Will come here again very soon. This place is perfect for anyone who need a real relaxation, nice scenes and nature!

Stayed March 2557, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank noppadol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Entering the Mango bay for the first time felt like a dream. All the crew welcomed us warmly and and was making sure we had everything we needed throughout our stay. The food was tasty, and the view spectacular. You should go snorkeling, the masks are rented out for free. The hotel is quietly located on the hillside, and is pretty much cut off from the rest of the island (which to me is part of the charm). If you feel like a little more action, you can always take the free shuttle boat to the cosy little town. The bungalows are nice. They have no credit card terminal on site, so I paid at their office in town. I had an amazing time.

Room Tip: Pick the bungalow. The standard and superior rooms are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jomzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Just finished a 3 night stay here, had a fantastic time! The hotel is about a 30 minute boat ride from the main port so is very secluded. Electricity is only available in the evenings but this just adds to the charm. The food's great, wifi is quick and the service fantastic. The owner is the nicest man you will ever meet and is very hospitable. We did some fantastic trips over 3 days, the highlight was going to shark bay and snorkelling with black tip reef sharks, a must! If you want to get away from the tourist areas and relax this is the place!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank syncmaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

my wife and i just stayed here 27/12/13-2/1/14we had a great time found the staff and owner extremly helpful and friendly the food was great i ate thai and wife said best chicken and chips she had ever had,the bungalows were great very clean and tidy ours had views to the bay.access to the resort was a bit of a trek through jungle only 10 mins but this was only because sea was a bit rough and the boats couldn't run staff carried all our bags down for us so no problems!!.we thought this place was paradise and unusaully for us we will definately return nothing was to much effort for these guys and we were made to feel very welcome thanks jo and all the staff especially manwell the lad behind the bar!!hopefully see you in august dave and claire

Room Tip: try to get sea views if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Im unsure how this place could be rated anything but amazing. The aircon bungalows are amazing, literally hidden away on the cliff edge with stunning views of Mango Bay. One could say it's a bit of a hassle getting here with the boat from Koh Samui to Koh Tao then to the resort BUT we'd say it's worth every single moment! Its basic in terms of no electricity during the day time and stairs to get up, but if you are after a non touristy place then thats exactly what you will get. The transfer here was easy from Koh Tao pier. see their 'getting here' section first as you can really only get here by water. To be in a place with no other resort or tourist and you're own private beach is pretty special. The water is so warm and clear with thousands of fish. Well worth staying a few days. The staff are incredibly helpful and the food is great and well priced considering the fact their restaurant is located over three tiers on the side of the cliff. For the exceptionally low price, great service - its place is a hidden treasure.

Room Tip: Bungalow room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Dusit Buncha Resort
Dusit Buncha Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
335 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thipwimarn Resort
Thipwimarn Resort
#43 of 49 in Koh Tao
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mango Bay Boutique Resort Koh Tao
3.9 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Muong Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Muong Resort

Property: Ao Muong Resort
Address: Bann Ao Muong | Mango Bay, Koh Tao 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ao Muong Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ao Muong Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing